We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“country side location and excellent staff always at your service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort Palace
Ranked #5 of 17 Chittaurgarh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 March 2012

every city of raj. same chtour garh also haveing his own history.we stay three dayswe feel the atmosphare like home.all the staffbehave like a family.this period for us a un forgetablemovements..we again thankful forall the staff of hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rathour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed 3 days at the Bassi Fort in October 2011. We drove in from Kanpur via Shivpuri and Kota through one of the nicest highways (except the part around Kota, where a massive bridge is under construction and you need to take a detour through the city) that I have experienced. The traffic density is very low, the highway is huge and the drive is simply divine.Bassi fort is rather difficult to locate as there are no signs on the highway. It is close to the highway but the approach is through a very narrow alley inside the Bassi village. The fort is not large and amenities are shoddy. Though all rooms do have air-conditioning and basic amenities that you expect, we had to change rooms twice as something or the other was not working. Electrical wiring and plumbing are especially primitive. The hotel is under-staffed and though it was not crowded at the time we went, the staff seemed stretched. On the positive side, the owners live in the same premises and are attentive to your complaints. The food served in the hotel is excellent authentic local fare. The fort has a detached air about it and I managed to while away hours in the courtyard doing nothing. You can climb up the uninhabited hills behind the property and the views from the top are wonderful.
They are constructing a swimming pool and bar behind the hotel. At the time we visited, the pool was almost complete.
Of course, the place to visit from Bassi is Chittorgarh, which is a larger town than we had imagined. But we also enjoyed a short (but difficult) drive to Nagri village which is the ancient Madhyamika that was a flourishing town in the Mauryan times and was beseiged by the Greeks. Not much exists now and unless you are a history buff you may not find the difficult drive (my GPS did not have the place correctly marked) worth it. However, if you are, do try to visit at least the temple which is being used since many thousand years. On the whole, it is an interesting property in a part of rajasthan that is not teeming with tourists and manages to retain most of its charms.

Room Tip: Check the toilets, air conditioning and the electrical switches before you choose a room. They allow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sumit_Basu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Hotel is in Bassi and not in Chittorgarh as many links seem to indicate. Bassi is about 20 km away from Chittorgarh, direction Kota. In Bassi the driver need to watch out for the signs of the hotel carefully. It is difficult to find.
The Hotel is not in the old palace. It is a newer development on the side. Rooms are very colorful and bathrooms are typical Indian Standard.
Personnel has all intentions to deliver the best service as possible. But the possibilities are limited.
Food was good Indian standard.
It is a good hotel compared to all others in the area. Second only to Fort Bijaipur.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Some are bigger than others but that does not make a big difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToBoWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

During March 2011 we had a business trip to one of Cement Factories at Chittaurgarh. We were a group of four including a foreigner. It was the first time for any of us to Visit Chittaurgarh so weren't really aware of the hotels in the city or nearby. Also the office Admin couldn't help much as Chittor is not place which is visited by many from my company.
After doing some Google search we found this place as it is marketed by ITC Welcome group.
Overall it located around 40kms from the Chittaurgarh (our work location) and is on a foothill in Bassi Village.
As you enter Bassi village, it is a typical village scene in India and for a moment you where we have landed up? But As you enter the hotel premises, you get a better feeling.
This hotel is an old family palace, a part of which is converted in to a hotel. People stay in other parts of the palace and structures are may be having their last breaths,
However the part which is been converted into the hotel is kind of refurbished. The reception, staff were very courteous. Now coming to the rooms, if you are looking at an experience of staying in a 200 year old property, it is not the full experience. As the old(actually 200 year old) part of the rooms are just the living area and the actual bedrooms are an extension of the old structure which is built recently with RCC walls and slab. The owners have tried hard to give the newly constructed rooms a heritage feeling with wide windows or 'Jharokas' and have painted the rooms in traditional Rajasthani culture.
Overall the rooms are quite big the cleanliness is above expectations.
Most amazing part of the stay was the food which is served in an open air garden.
The food quality was really good for dinner as well for breakfast. One of the important points is they serve alcohol til late night which infact is bonus in Rajasthan where you find it tough to get alcohol post 8pm.
The owner of the property is a retired defense professional and if you are lucky enough, you will have a drink together listening to the owner and history of the palace.
We stayed for three nights and due to our work schedules could not spend much time in the hotel but once we returned before 6pm to the hotel and were welcomed by a bunch of peacocks in the garden and this was an unforgettable experience. Let alone the foreigner with us, we being born and brought up in urban areas, it is delightful sight to walk into your home and are welcomed by such beatiful birds in their natural habitat.

Overall, the hotel really nice and value for money and would like to surely return to this hotel with friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask for Ratan Mahal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rohan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Situated in the village Bassi , this small palace hotel is just at the foot of the hill where the fort stands. Its main attraction is ofcourse its old-world charm , we were excited to get the garland -tilak welcome and the tasty jaljeerah welcome drink.
The room and the entire courtyard displayed real rajasthani culture with different paintings and old model furnitures. The room was big and very neatly kept. Our food was prepared fresh and simple and tasted excellent .Both veg and non-veg food were served.Though unlike in big hotels,we did not get a menu with a long list -to choose from, we thoroughly enjoyed the authentic taste as well as freshness of dal, different veg fries and chicken curry.
We had the supper served outdoor which was again a very pleasant experience. When we got up in the morning we could hear a call from a peacock and my son was thrilled to seethe beautiful one- so near on the terrace.
As we had taken our car ,travelling to chittorgarh and the sightseeing in bassi village was not a problem. There is an old temple and a pond with steps built all around it in bassi village itself.Bassi is famous for painted wooden toys which portrays ramayana and other epics on them.
The service was good .The entire atmosphere was one of serene beauty & peace and help you to relax and experience a travelling back to a different era , though for a shortwhile.

Room Tip: Our room was on the very front side with a long verandah on the ground floor.It was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bpal71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

I stayed here out of season and more or less had the place to myself. The palace is lovely and the rooms, thoough a bit dark are traditionally decoratedand very atmospheric. Food is excellent and traditional but I would reccomend insisting on eating on the veranda or terrace as the dining room is gloomy and hot!

I have to say, the hospitality I expereinced here was some of the best I have ever had in India. I got chatting to one of the family who own the palace and ended up being taken on a personal tour of the village with its temples and the Gaitor (burial ground) of the ruling family.

I couldn't have wished for more! And I paid less than 3000INR for two days.

Room Tip: I cant imagine there is a truly bad room, they all seem to be quite dark, but that was a blessing in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yorkie1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

This is perhaps late to write. We visited Rajasthan, India in Sep-Oct 2009 and stayed for 1 night at this palace turned hotel partially. The owners still live in their quarters on upper floors.The amenities here are very basis - there is TV though. The staff was cooperative and the food served was quite authentic. It is far away from the town and one must have a vehicle for convinience. There is a small market to cater to the locals. We had an evening tea with the owner couple and had a good time, one of whom was also the villiage head at municipal level, then. Overall it was OK but one must not expect a lot from the place or the hotel. Good for a little adventure.

Room Tip: Choose the room which is at the leftmost corner as you enter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sight-Seers-IND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittaurgarh
15.7 mi away
Fort Begu
Fort Begu
#1 of 11 in Chittaurgarh
157 reviews
9.1 mi away
Justa Lake Nahargarh Palace, Chittorgarh Resort
14.4 mi away
Hotel Amrit Manthan
Hotel Amrit Manthan
#4 of 11 in Chittaurgarh
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
RnB Chittorgarh
RnB Chittorgarh
#2 of 11 in Chittaurgarh
140 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Elegance Resort
The Elegance Resort
#3 of 11 in Chittaurgarh
44 reviews
24.6 mi away
Ranbanka Heritage Resort
Ranbanka Heritage Resort
#1 of 5 in Bhilwara
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort Palace

Address: P.O. Bassi, Chittaurgarh 312 022, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Chittorgarh District > Chittaurgarh
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Chittaurgarh
Price Range: £26 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unfolding the History of Chittorgarh: Chittorgarh is a city in Rajasthan which is located on the banks of river Gambhiri and Berach. The district was bifurcated and a new district namely Pratap Garh was created with certain portion taken from Udaipur district in the newly created district of Pratap Garh.This city of Chittorgarh is the epitome of pride, romance and spirit, for people of Chittor who always chose death before surrendering against anyone.WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort is the epitome of the glorious history of the Chundawat clan. It was built way back in in the 16th century by Thakur Jaimal of the Sisodia dynasty, cousin of Maharana Pratap who is a distinct part of the history, founder of the Bassi principality. The 16th century WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort is just a fleeting distance of 25 km from Chittorgarh. It is amidst the hills of the Vindhyachal ranges and makes a perfect break and an embrace of Hritage India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bassi Fort Palace Chittaurgarh
WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort Palace Rajasthan, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing