We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with great service”
Review of Hotel Gurupriya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gurupriya
Ranked #35 of 78 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I stayed in hotel Gurupriya for two days from 31/12/12 to 2/01/13 and what i felt that this is one of the best budget hotel i ever stayed anywhere in india...very clean and very good room service. hotel staffs are very supportive and decent. kodaikanal itself a very good place and staying in gurupriya made my vacation more memorable. good for staying with family or friends both.

Room Tip: rooms at first floor are good to stay. very good view of city from there
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikhil848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Gurupriya
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2013

I booked the hotel thinking it will be better since it somehow had a north indian name. The reviews also looked ok.
Pros:
Good Parking Place
Cons:
The staff is very unfriendly
They want to charge you for everything that they do. If you need your room cleaned pay. Otherwise there is no person available to clean
Want your car washed, Shell out INR 200.
No hot water for most of the day
Electricity will not be turned on and as soon as the clock struck 1.00am if the power goes there is no backup provided. If you ask for power, they will politely tell you that it will come in 10 min and then again a reminder is required and then again.
We reached this place in the night as we were driving. We were tried so decided to order from Hotel itself. We came to know that they dont have a restaurant and will get it from outside. Since it was cold we were expecting to eat something hot and then sleep. To our amazement, food was served cold in plates and they didnt even bother to cover.

The chapathis (Roti) were more or less hard as stones. We requested for Water and he filled the jug in the room. When we saw, we had two roaches floating in it. We called and asked and were told that it is RO water and is very clean.

Since the staff didnt want the hassle to clean at 7.00pm they offered us an upgrade of room. Next morning, at 7.00am we were asked to vacate the room. We had booked for three nights in this hotel. We made it a point not to eat again here. Hot water was supplied only for 1 hour that too from 7-8am. If you wake late or need water after that, then call and pay.

Worst hotel stay I ever had in my life. We were travelling with a small baby, so was surprised on how casual they were about cleanliness and all.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank errich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Bad cots and beds. No heaters. Dirty flooring. Dirty bathrooms.
Dirty curtains. 100% waste of money.
I booked for two days but the two days were very horribly we spent there. No workers to clean the floor. I asked to clean the floor 5 times but at last they told that there are no workers to clean.

I suggest you to don't choose this hotel unless there are no hotels available in Kodaikanal. If you booked this hotel in the worst case, please carry a room freshener and phenyl bottle and toilet cleaning brush.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vishwa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

The room is so cold that any fabric of any description is damp. There's no heater of any description, we did ask for one but were told that because of the 'electricity problem' we were not allowed a heater. Instead we were offered extra blankets to keep us warm in our notably damp hard mattressed bed. They did not materialise.
One of the many reasons we booked the hotel in advance is the free WI-FI which worked ironically long enough to write this review despite being non-existant up to this point.
The TV, which is of course is not the reason we travel to wonderful places, has about 100 channels, all of which are of such low visual quality it's pointless and the TV itself is level to the pillows so watching it in bed would leave you feeling slightly injured in the neck.
It should be mentioned that there is hot water and I did hear wild wolves howling at 2 am and that it's away from ALL local attractions meaning you have to walk a bit and therefore see more of the town.

If you're reading this you're probably contemplating spending 2-3000 rupees on booking... Be warned, it's not worth more than 1000. If I'd paid 1000 I'd have rated a lot higher. You just get charged more for the pleasure of being able to book ahead. Get into town and ask about there are better deals out there.


  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shmikes_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Hi,

I have in this hotel on 22.10.2012,it was really a memorable movement for us,the staffs are very friendly,and takes care of both in day and nite,it was nice hotel to stay with family and good for newly married couples who they come for honey moon bcoz its very much safety and secure,the service and the care they take is amazing,the food service and preperation was excellent,hot water facility on 24hours fast room service,clean and tidy house keeping service,really it values your money for the stay

And we had a tour with cstours and travels and the same was recommented by the staff of the hotel,really the travels service is most lovable and the people who takes us for the trip they guide us very much and takes care of each and everythinng,its really a secure to have this kind of travel agency for your trip in the forest area for our safety,the drivers where very friendly and takes care of the couples and make the couples and family to reach the hotel safely,you can contact them before you reach Kodaikanal they will make you the safety and secure traveling

Room Tip: All the rooms are located in good looking sides
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josephChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I stayed there in super deluxe room on July 2 & 3 with my family. Rooms are clean and spacious. Room service and food taste are good. I suggest they can start a small restaurant inside. Staff's are friendly. Hotel is suitable for friends and family. Don't expect high, definitely you will enjoy the stay.
Note: There is a small shop near by in hotel Royal, don't buy anything there. He is a "cheat".

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raviamrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I booked this hotel based on reviews from TripAdvisor and was very clear that its gonna be a bit far off from the town and all about the basic amenities there. Yes, its about 1.5 - 2 Km from town and considering the steep terrains, one has to avail the taxi facilities of the hotel. I booked for the standard room but was offered a Deluxe room for 400/- extra on check-in. I didnt find any difference between these two rooms except the hall was a furlong bigger. There were lots of ants in the beds and the most annoying part was the files. While inquired, 'was told it was the fruits season and nothing could be done about it. These flies spoiled our sleep. The TV in our room was positioned in such an awkward manner that when i lie in the bed it would be behind the head (but not all rooms are like this... on the last day of my stay, almost all rooms were empty and when looked, i noticed there were other deluxe rooms which were really good). I was a sheer victim in this case. The water in the bathrooms were bit yellow/ brownish color and was very embarrassing. Even the buckets and mugs provided were not so clean.
They dont have a restaurant and deliver food to room from the minimum list of menu which is pretty ordinary. We alternatively choose to dine @ the restaurant in 'Kodai International' hotel which is in the next doors of Gurupriya. Food was really good here...
The best thing about this place is the people there. They were really courteous and ready to help any time. The manager Mr. Siva was really helpful.
The other staff in this hotel often come to the room and ask for money (of course the accommodation/ transportation charges) while Siva never asks for it. In fact Siva can get you better deals if you choose to hand it over to him personally.
The sight seeing arrangements, vehicle arrangements everything were spot on. In fact Siva helped me with taxis after i reached Munnar from Kodaikanal.
WiFi connectivity was also available but the reception was pathetic in my room. I stayed in the so called Deluxe room (# 207) which is probably a pathetic room.
You can definitely choose this hotel when:
(1) you cannot afford a luxury accommodation
(2) you want to ensure you dont get an awful experience
To sum up, its a decent budget hotel to stay which can guarantee you pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suresh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Spring Valley
Hotel Spring Valley
#40 of 78 in Kodaikanal
142 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#25 of 78 in Kodaikanal
205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Paradise Inn
Hotel Grand Paradise Inn
#66 of 78 in Kodaikanal
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Treebo Altius Nest
Treebo Altius Nest
#8 of 78 in Kodaikanal
324 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Apple Valley
Hotel Apple Valley
#23 of 78 in Kodaikanal
193 reviews
1.3 mi away
United-21 Resort, Kodaikanal
United-21 Resort, Kodaikanal
#55 of 78 in Kodaikanal
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gurupriya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gurupriya

Address: No 17/328 - 3 Laws Ghat Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 78 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range: £8 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Gurupriya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Gurupriya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing