We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel stay was really very good”
Review of Hotel Gurupriya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gurupriya
Ranked #41 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Theni, India
1 review
“Hotel stay was really very good”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

i stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, booked our stay through cleartrip, we got extraordinary discount for cleartrip thanks to cleartrip.... as for as hotel is concerned say is really very good, but food there was only few options... morning they have only idly, dosa taste is not bad, and for night you get only chapatti, porotta and fried rice, gravy we have to order seperatly.. night dinner was good... actually before bokking through cleartrip i mad a call to the hotel and asked for the tariff they said for executive Rs.1000 + tax for off season itself then i checked through Clear trip , trip advice and found cleartrip is the best we paid Rs.1795 for three nights ...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Premkumar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurupriya, Owner at Hotel Gurupriya, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Hello Premkumar R,

Thanks for your review and we look forward to serve you again.

Regards,
Senthilkumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    37
    23
    6
    7
See reviews for
44
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trivandrum
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The place was a OK kind of place but this is a costly one when we compare the facilities in offer. Location wise it was OK and easy to locate. Also dont go for food from this hotel as it is very highly overpriced. Normal chappatis which we make at home come at a whopping price of 15 Rs per piece, you can very well get cheaper and better food outside and nearby to this place itself.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Raju G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurupriya, Owner at Hotel Gurupriya, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Hello Raju,

Thanks for your review. As we strive to serve better within budget, sometimes things are out of our hands. We are maintaining the minimal charges to make sure the affordability of budget travelers. I understand your concern but in today's scenario the production cost is sky rocketing, for example the commercial gas cylinder price is approx Rs.1800. I'm not sure why I'm stating this here....may be I want our budget guests to understand?.....No may be not! they are well aware of today's price list. Thanks for your understanding.

Regards,
Owner, Hotel Gurupriya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Booked the hotel by phone and there was no problem getting to the hotel. Nice budget hotel, you get more than what you asked for. The rooms are good and spacious. But you cannot enjoy the outside view from the room. The make shift restaurant on terrace, is kind of ok... especially if you don't feel like going out. But the staff do suggest some good hotels to eat.. tried some of them.. awesome.
The sites are also close to tourist spot, 1.5 km from the hotel.
Overall kodaikanal people are very friendly..

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mandar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurupriya, Owner at Hotel Gurupriya, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Hello Mandar R,

Thanks for your review. We look forward to serve you better in the future. Please suggest us to your friends and family.

Thanks & regards,
Owner, Hotel Gurupriya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights(standard room) in the month of December. Nice hotel to stay with family, friendly staff. Food is avg. Budget hotel with good service. You can easily find out the hotel location, just 2 mins walk from main road.

Pros:
Good service
24 hrs hot water
Easy accessible from main road
Rooms are very clean

Cons:
Road to reach hotel in rainy season is bit difficult.

I recommend this hotel for its GOOD CUSTOMER SUPPORT.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SivaSyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurupriya, Owner at Hotel Gurupriya, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Hello SivaSyam,

Thanks for your review. We look forward to server you in the near future. Please suggest us to your friends and family.

Thanks & regards,
Owner, Hotel Gurupriya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiruppur
Level Contributor
164 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

It's a Nice Hotel, But definitely not a very good One. It is located at a Nice place - it means u can access to all important places in Kodai within 10 minutes from this place. Price is surely high for the standards. You can surely check with other hotels in the same price range before booking. But definitely you can enjoy a nice stay. There is no problem with the hotel, but surely price is high for the ambiance provided.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank relaxtripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visakhapatnam, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I had a pleasant 3 day stay with my family. The hotel is reasonably priced, well maintained and located near to Zion School. Although some of the workers were on leave yet the service was exemplary thanks to Mr.Perumal (receptionist) who was constantly on the move fulfilling multiple tasks/requests of the customers with a smiling face. Hats off to him! The caretaker Mr. Siva is polite & very obliging always trying to satisfy the customers’ requirements to the fullest. He arranged our pick up, sight-seeing & dropping in the hotels Toyota Innova vehicle driven by Mr. Murali, a courteous safe driver. The hotel boasts of a simple roof-top restaurant serving veg & non-veg food which was delicious & feels like home made preparation; you can also order food by room service. Steaming hot water is readily available between 0600-0900hrs, at other times it is available on demand but you have to wait for 15 to 20 minutes for the water to get heated. The only drawback is the tiny patch of road from the hotel to the main road which gets water clogged during heavy rains but it can be over looked if you travel by a vehicle. In short, we had no hassles as everything was available at the hotel including free WiFi network 24X7. Good hotel - reasonable prices - committed to customer service. Obviously a 'CUSTOMERS DELIGHT!'

Room Tip: Rooms located below the centralized water heater gets hot water faster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_Y888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurupriya, Owner at Hotel Gurupriya, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Hello Peter,

Thanks for your review. We look forward to server you in the near future. Please suggest us to your friends and family.

Thanks & regards,
Owner, Hotel Gurupriya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SIVAKASI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We spent 2 days in a Triple Beded Deluxe Room on a rainy Aug second weekend session in this Hotel. The hotel is easy accessable from the Zion Schol Stop/corner from the main road.
Just few meters before the Kodai International. But at the rain time the narrow and pothole full road to the hotel was ruinful and it was tolerable since distance is few metres only. The exterior of the hotel shows built on recent years and attractive.
Our booked Room looks spacious, neat, attractive,wooden floored(but felt chillness) and groomed with CTV,Baboo Sofa, 2 cushioned chairs and a Small Dining Table, Large wall mounted mirror.
Enough space for car parking and was easier. There was Wi-fi network available on
either of the floors which is very useful for net user like me. 24 hour hot water too.

From the time of log-in I was badly in need of help of them coz of my car problem. Reservation incharge Mr.Charls (with whom i communicated for room booking and concession)
arranged a car meachanic there within 40 Mins. Otherwise we would been to rely on call taxis through out our trip. (its a diff.story that the mechanic minted much money than expected)
Their commitment to customer service started like this. The Room service (for us mostly required for hot water only) was reasonably good for us with acceptable delay some times.
There was only one guy(Mr.Rajesh) to attend room services, who tried to serve at his best. I even saw the Receptionist (Mr.Permual) committed on food delivery to room once which clearly indicates
their commitment to customer service regardess of their position.

Hotel's simple Roof top Restaurent provides good quality food at very reasonable rates in morning and evening. Eventhough they have limited south indian menu items for break fast (Bread,Idli,Dosai varieties only, not even Vada,poori, pongal...)
they were Very good in taste n quality and reasonably cheaper too (30 for set of 3 idlis, Dosa varieties for 30,35,50). We had Dinnere once with Parotta, chicken sidish and was Ok.
The women servants there helped us to eat outside meals(lunch) on their roof top.

During our complete 3 day spent on hotel, everybody there attended us politely, pleasantly. During Check-out, receiption guy Perumal gave lot of grace time and accepted balance bill payment through mobile banking.
This is our 4th Kodaikanal visit since marriage and we stayed diff.hotels around lake. For a change i booked this hotel which is few kms away from lake which did not disappoint us rather gave a sweet memorable stay.
At walkable distance from hotel you an find small tea shops, reastaurents(for parotta,briyani) and a mess for homely non-veg meals(kamraj mess)


And not but the least, no hotel in this area(zion school) has such spacious, attractive, feature riched and neat at this tariff. I used to look in n around hotels wherever we stay during my tea time walk. Even at our off-season stay period they run Gen-set during power failures
meanwhile nearby hotels not.


To summarise: This hotel is worth an every buck we paid. MORE VALUE FOR MONEY. VERY GOOD CUSTOMER SUPPORT. People are Totally committed to Guest Service.

Room Tip: You may look for other available rooms for more space , interiors, & furnishings as each rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k_malarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#25 of 76 in Kodaikanal
201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Spring Valley
Hotel Spring Valley
#40 of 76 in Kodaikanal
141 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Palace
Hotel Grand Palace
#23 of 76 in Kodaikanal
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
United-21 Resort, Kodaikanal
United-21 Resort, Kodaikanal
#50 of 76 in Kodaikanal
120 reviews
0.8 mi away
Richwin Hotels
Richwin Hotels
#12 of 76 in Kodaikanal
225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Apple Valley
Hotel Apple Valley
#21 of 76 in Kodaikanal
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gurupriya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gurupriya

Property: Hotel Gurupriya
Address: No 17/328 - 3 Laws Ghat Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Gurupriya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Gurupriya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing