We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Hotel.”
Review of Hotel Gurupriya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Gurupriya
Ranked #40 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel.”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Me and my wife stayed here for a night and this is a decent low budget hotel. The staffs are courteous and one particular staff named Perumal was always there for help. He arranged the room real quick, food, sightseeing etc. The only problem I had while booking the hotel was, the room rate for this hotel was shown different in different travel websites, and also different in their own website. So I was not sure which one is the right price, and went ahead in choosing the lowest price offer.

He have a small restaurant and the food is really tasty and was very quick when ordered. I recommend to get them ordered to room instead of going to the restaurant. Very limited menu, but whatever they had was awesome south Indian food. Do not miss it.

This hotel is about 15 minutes’ walk from the Kodai Lake/Bus stand. We walked back to the hotel after the sightseeing from the lake.

I also chose their forest tour package which was done in a minibus and was arranged quite well. The driver was a nice and friendly chap and never made us boring or frightened.
This is not a posh kind of hotel or not at an attractive place. This is decent enough for a low budget price and quite safe for family stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balenoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurupriya, Owner at Hotel Gurupriya, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thanks for your great review. The rates were different due to not proper update with some of the OTAs, but still we respect our clients and accepted them even with the lowest rate, which has not been updated by the OTAs. Hope you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    37
    23
    6
    7
See reviews for
44
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The property is good and also prompt service at the hotel. I stayed for three days and value of property isn't expensive might be because it is off the season. Need to check how much they will charge for the Deluxe/Executive rooms during Season (Summar).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Lakshmi Prabhak... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, India
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2014

It was a pleasant stay in Hotel Gurupriya, All the hotel staffs where friendly,The room was neat and clean, it’s a good hotel to stay with Family.
The only problem I faced is the transport , hotel is less then 2 km from main bus stand but the taxi is charged 100/- and there is no auto rickshaw facility in Kodaikanal. There are town buses available to reach the hotel, but It will be difficult if you don’t know the local Language to communicate. So I ended up paying more for Taxi. If you are traveling with own transport then it will be good.
Over all I had a good stay in Hotel Gurupriya ,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Aravind S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurupriya, Owner at Hotel Gurupriya, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Hello Arvind,

Thanks for your review. The rates charged for the van is nothing to do with us. This is the actual going rate fixed by the taxi association and we have no control over them. Thanks for your understanding.

Regards,
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The staff behavior is simply excellent, very polite and understanding, I booked an executive room but was given superior room due to non-availability of executive rooms, and later even when executive rooms was available we were allowed to stay in the superior room. room had a balcony and nice view, room was clean and comfortable. Only set back was unavailability of hot water for 24hours, hot water is there only till 11 am. Also there is lot of noise of a truck or buss constantly from the nearby road. But for the price you pay to stay in the hotel its worth it. The staff and food is simply excellent. Overall I would say Excellent :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Kodai T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed at hotel Gurupriya in Kodaikanal in September, 2013 for 3 days. It was an wonderful stay. We booked a Non-AC double bedroom through Yatra and were really delighted to see the room when we arrived in there. The room was large enough and decently furnished to meet all our needs. Bed sheets and towels were of class - I grade and clean. Bathroom was extra large and very clean. Hot water was available on request even at 11 AM. Room service was also good.
Only drawback of the hotel is that its at a little distance from the Kodai Lake. But one can either walk or take a local bus (takes only 2 mins) to reach the lake and surrounding attractions (Kodai Lake, Bryant Park and Coaker's Walk are just next to each other). Also, there was no view from the rooms at ground floor. But anyway, you will get to see all of Kodaikanal once you book a one day package.

I feel that we got much more compared to the price that we paid. I will recommend this hotel for budget travelers looking for a decent stay.

Room Tip: There are very few shops around the hotel. Shop whatever you need from the markets around Kodai Lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhubandarshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurupriya, Owner at Hotel Gurupriya, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Hello Bhubandarshi,

Thanks for your review comments, we look forward to serve you again.

Regards,
Owner, Hotel Gurupriya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

First things first, this hotel is quite some distance away from the main attractions Kodai has on offer. It is quite hidden from the main road and us with google maps had no issue searching for the place. We had booked a basic room but on reaching there, we learnt that all the basic rooms were filled. And we were given a deluxe room, so I'm not exactly complaining. We were told they have their own "hotel" on the rooftop with a "view" but all we saw on the terrace were a few plastic chairs and the view of surrounding hotels. The Deluxe room though was good. On the last day, we were given a basic room, and since we spent only a few hours there, I won't comment on that. The batroom/toilets were clean, hot water availability was an issue, and the food was certainly meh.
To sum it all up, I do believe there are better hotels for the price.

P.S: No Wi-fi in basic rooms(ground floor) even though they advertise they have wi-fi

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srinaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurupriya, Owner at Hotel Gurupriya, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Hello Srinaith,

Thanks for your review. As we certainly drive to serve our customers better under the budget category there are few things we couldn't avoid. We understand that the food is little bit of monotonous, as we only offer the basic foods listed in our menu. If we go more on the menu that increase the cost for the food and the budget travelers were unable to order it or started complaining about the increase in cost. So we decided to keep to the basics and to serve our budget customers. The Wifi....as you know how things work in the mountainous regions with BSNL. We give this as a complimentary services to our guest. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Regards,
Owner, Hotel Gurupriya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Spring Valley
Hotel Spring Valley
#41 of 76 in Kodaikanal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Carnival Resort
The Carnival Resort
#18 of 76 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
1.3 mi away
United-21 Resort, Kodaikanal
United-21 Resort, Kodaikanal
#50 of 76 in Kodaikanal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Palace
Hotel Grand Palace
#22 of 76 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Apple Valley
Hotel Apple Valley
#23 of 76 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kodai Sunshine Hotel
Kodai Sunshine Hotel
#33 of 76 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gurupriya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gurupriya

Property: Hotel Gurupriya
Address: No 17/328 - 3 Laws Ghat Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Gurupriya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Gurupriya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing