We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel - Stinky Carpet and Room”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kodaikanal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Valley View Inn
Ranked #48 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel - Stinky Carpet and Room”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Please do a favor to yourself and dont stay in this worst HOTEL ever and if you dont believe me check the pictures attaced. We had the worst experience at the hotel, the manager and Velan at the reception had treated us very badly and didnt oblige with our request of changing the bedsheets and towels. It was used towels that they gave us and didnt do anything about it ,inspite of requesting several times, had to check out the second day itself as it was difficult to breathe. They didnt even care and changed our rooms niether refunded our amount.
WORST HOTEL EVER IN MY LIFE

Room Tip: worthless rooms with stinky bedsheets and towers
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Afshan1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    31
    19
    7
    11
See reviews for
41
23
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights during May 2012. Please set your expectations low, and you'll not be very disappointed.

It was a family visit to Kodai. Booked the hotel through Cleartrip based on the reviews that were not very bad about the hotel, per se. There is a major disconnect between Cleartrip details and the actuals in the hotel. We booked "Super Deluxe room" paying around Rs.1000 more than the usual "Deluxe room". Once we checked in, we learnt from the manager that there is no such differentiation (all the rooms are the same !!!). Cleartrip is to be blamed for false information.

There's no internet.

Not much space to roam around (no gardens, etc.)

Access road is terrible.

Staff is very cordial. One will find them trying their best to make your stay comfortable. Even during the peak time, we were relocated to the better available room. Although the first day stay was disaster, the remaining days were relatively comfortable.

Please choose this hotel only when you run out of choice with star hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor "valley view" rooms. Rooms on the ground floor face walls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vinaykz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

The road connecting bus stand to this hotel is not user freindly & a family will feel exhuasted by the time you reach reception. Road is good for driving but lot of city garbage with very bad smell all along. Hope at least all the hotels in this area should have come together to make it clean.

Rest all like food, cleanliness inside are all OK.

Try some other hotel if you cann't avoid usage of this road, what I mean if you have car this may not matter.

Govind

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pratham2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Hello Dude,

Welcome to kodaikanal...!

For couple's- (Married/Unmarried) who plan to visit kodai kanal this summer i wud share few points hope that would make your trip unforgettable..!

Many Question's will be running in ur mind..? Lets have unveil it...

1.How to ahead to Kodai.?

Till Kodai Road you have many trains- from there you have to catch a bus to " Vathala kundu " 40 mins drive.
People may bug you for call taxi for 1500 bugs but its complete waste.. just hold your patience you will get many busses..

From vathala kundu starting from 8 Am You have buses flying to Kodai kanal

2. Where to stay.?

We have many good resort- my suggestion for you to choose

1.Valley view - Break fast and Dinner are complementry
2.Kodai resort
3.Rich win

3. How to roam there..?

Approach Kodai resort there you have travel desk, Take a seperate cab for 1000 Rs and they will guide you the places - its worth to go in it..
Cover those places enjoy it

Second day go to Lake- Take cycling and roam arround that would be fun...

Don't be a prey for the guide who will be on their toe to easily cheat.. be carefull.

Hope the comment is more than enough for your pleasant Trip


I stayed in Valley view:- About them:-

Nice clean room
Worth for money
They charge around 2700 Bugs
Break fast and Dinners were complementry
Complete hot water available
Rooms were descent and enough for good romance
Near bus stand so it is in the hot place
** I wud say , best in class service- humble and helpfull**
Just call to service - room boys shall knock your door in minutes..

So great hotel to stay..
Have a great time..!

See you all in next trip..!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Rockzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My review is based on previous comments that helped me choosing this hotel.
My analysis supports & against some reviews given earlier by others..

Mr X wrote: He didnot find an auto for lcoal transport
My Analysis: Autos are not designed for hill roads so dont expect them in hill stations

My Y wrote: Walk to the hotel is terrific (one ll understand only after visiting the place)
My analysis: There is a good motorable/ walkable road to the hotel. The road you are talkning about is a short-cut staircase route used by localites.

Mr Q wrote: Broken sink
My analysis: Not true across the hotel. U may be the unlucky one.

Mr B wrote: Bath room was brightest place, Bedroom was like a bar with low lights
My analysis: I ll term it as bedroom ambience which creates ambience for honeymooners (Kodai is famous for). There are bedlights for reading at bed for those business travellers

Room Tip: Request for Vally Facing rooms in advance booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Satty_KodaiReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mysuru (Mysore), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

worth of paying money, near to bus stand and city for shopping r travel disk. good food and services.its pure veg hotel. rooms r clean. hotel have package trip. if you need you can book it, it is safe.......

Room Tip: few rooms having view point of mountain and city area you can select the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank vinsuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Location - 3 star (difficult to locate, though close to bus stand)
Food - 3 star (serves only VEG food). Try to go for the food + stay plan
Rooms - 3 star (good, clean and cheerful)
Staff - 4 star (helpful and courteous)
Housekeeping - 2 star (good, could be better)
Laundry - Not availed
Overall a very good place to stay if you can get a stay + food combo.

The hotel is located close to the bus stand but not too far away. Not easy to locate unless you ask for directions, it is on a side road (if you can call other road a main road!)

The staff of the hotel are very co-operative (helped me find the hotel past midnight).
Hot water is not available round the clock, so you have to manage your bath / wash accordingly. The food is better than average but nothing extraordinary. Cost is bit on the higher side, so try to go for stay+food combo plan. That way you can save on some cost. Room service is ok (not more than 10 mins). Rooms are clean, linen is clean. The closets are useful. Was staying in a deluxe room, didnt have refrigerator or fan (not sure if required in winter but in summer may be.)

Breakfast (and dinner if you are in stay + food plan) are at fixed times. So ensure that you get your breakfast before you leave in the morning and be in time for dinner. Dinner is stopped after 9:30pm. No alcoholic drinks are allowed in the hotel rooms, but if you want to, you can seek permission (family guests are usually allowed, single, group may not).

Reception is manned 24 hours. Room service available on demand. Water (hot) is not available throughout the day.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shuvro_ind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.9 mi away
La Flora Highland Paradise Resort
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Stay
Hotel Pleasant Stay
#44 of 76 in Kodaikanal
84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Apple Valley
Hotel Apple Valley
#25 of 76 in Kodaikanal
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Richwin Hotels
Richwin Hotels
#12 of 76 in Kodaikanal
225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilltop Towers
Hilltop Towers
#14 of 76 in Kodaikanal
224 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kodai Sunshine Hotel
Kodai Sunshine Hotel
#33 of 76 in Kodaikanal
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valley View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valley View Inn

Property: Hotel Valley View Inn
Address: 8/59 Post Office Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Valley View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing