We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Money minded.”
Review of Raahat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Raahat Inn
Ranked #12 of 114 Kodaikanal B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We booked a few room through the travel agents in Chennai. At the first glance it must be a good hotel. Though from the front part it is very clean. entering in the front office is also very clean. It did not take long to check in the hotel. I thought of having a shower, then the front office / receptionist told me that only at 6.30 pm you will get hot water. But the water is not that hot.
There is not heating system in the room., When I asked for the heating system, they just told me that there is none.
Even the floor is very cold. You can't walk barefooted, as the temperature is cold in the surroundings.Later at 8,30 pm there is no more hot water in the pipe. Only cold water is available.
There is no restaurants attached to the hotel. So nearby no restaurants serves you tea in the night. I asked the receptionis to buy tea for me, and he did.
To the standard it is very expensive as no heating system is provided. If you ask me : do you want to stay one more time in a cold weather , : then my answer is better for to go to Amsterdam or, to Paris. .

Room Tip: Enquire first, do they have a heater or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Santhira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

very comfy beds with warm blankets; cold room but warm in bed; very noisy other guests who were outside in the corridor shouting all night (large groups of young guys stay here); hot water only in morning but didn't work in our room! Good Wifi connection in reception.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Their sight seeing service is also very good and extensive and accommodative,They do not have restaurant but the type of rooms are ideal for different groups.

The rooms are clean. Value for money. Jaffer / Arif the hotel manager is a kind and polite man, who arranged us a Cab for us to view the sight seeing places in kodaikanal and various permissions.

The hotel is 1.5 Kms away from lake and you need to walk for 20 minutes if you don't have a vehicle. Taxi to the lake is available at Rs. 100 per way from the hotel. The only thing about the Hotel is there is nearby restaurant AL-BAIQ which have good Non-Veg dishes and fast service, but since we were Vegetarians there, no use as such, the rate of food is too costly. Average Budget Hotel with good rooms and bath.

Room Tip: show the preference of rooms on hill view, else you will have to bear the wall view rooms. since the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naveen_c82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I had visited from 14-08-2013 to 17-08-2013, I would give my feedback on this as below

Positive:
1) Very nice service
2) Polite approach by service and hotel staff.
3) clean

negative:
1) Location is odd a bit/ Far w.r.to evening hang-outs.
2) Furniture was not in good condition(especially bed)
3) Influence / disturbance of under-construction works.
4) No intercom in some room.
5) No internal pantry or hotel, hence don't think of food service from this hotel.
6) the only food facility(Hotel Al-Baiq) very costly.

Room Tip: If you are travelling here, then please consider the hill view rooms at level 1 & 2 . otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naveenkumar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The hotel is not far from bus stand or lake and within walkingt distance (may be 15 minutes). They do not have restaurant but the type of rooms are ideal for different groups. The service is excellent and the reception very courteous and helpful. Their sight seeing service is also very good and extensive and accommodative. An ideal place to relax in Kodaikanal.

Room Tip: Take family cottage if you are going with family where you get a duplex type cottage with 4 beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tsk0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I liked the hotel very much. I went there with my friend and we enjoyed very much. The rooms are spacious and clean. Very comfortable. There is no fan or A/C, as the place is very cool. They have a good restaurant just outside of the hotel. The food was very good there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sumit_29_Dutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Overall room was good, i opted for club suite room, hotel does not have a restaurant, but all eateries are quiet near. Hot water was available only in the morning 6 to 10. Room service guy always waiting for tips. while vacating many people in the restaurant, who we never seen until then will ask tips.....

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.7 mi away
Treebo Altius Nest
Treebo Altius Nest
#9 of 82 in Kodaikanal
342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#27 of 82 in Kodaikanal
208 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Home Resort
Holiday Home Resort
#13 of 82 in Kodaikanal
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Palace
Hotel Grand Palace
#25 of 82 in Kodaikanal
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gurupriya
Hotel Gurupriya
#40 of 82 in Kodaikanal
93 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sterling Kodai Lake
Sterling Kodai Lake
#10 of 82 in Kodaikanal
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raahat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raahat Inn

Address: Laws Ghat Rd, Kodaikanal 625101, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Kodaikanal
Price Range: £12 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Raahat Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Raahat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing