We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“budget hotel”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Hotel
Ranked #27 of 84 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2013

i went to kodai of 6 members of my family ,i booked three rooms of deluxe type the rooms were nice enough to stay , we were in kodai for three days . the hotel provided complimentary breakfast .in the hotel parking is in huge size , the staffs were kindly with us

Room Tip: deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bhatran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

we went to kodai and stayed here for two days in this hotel , we loved the atmosphere of the hotel ,the rooms were nice , the food in the restaurant was served good , we went to sight seeing with the help of the hotel travel desk , it is a homely hotel to stay with family

Room Tip: family rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rp a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I have gone with my family(5 persons). I have booked this hotel from goibibo. I have booked 2 rooms and already paid for an extra bed as one room is for 2 adults. After reaching there, the manager was asking to pay for extra guest but we told him we already paid. After looking 5 times on the paper he agreed. Then we asked to put extra bed in the room So he provided a mattress and a blanket which was of towel size. It was night time, so there was no support from Goibibo folks. Rooms were stingy,suffocated and smelling as if they are not opened from years.
No towels and soap are provided on the first day, after complaing on goibibo they provided soaps and towels. Moreover, the telephone was not working in both the rooms. Everytime we need to go to reception if we need anything. There was too much to say. But what to do our trip is already spoiled. I don't know how it comes among top 10 hotels in kodaikanal on trip advisor. Also in Goibibo list it seems to be verified. Fake...

Room Tip: There are 3-4 hotels nearby. Mostly, we had food at Kodai International hotel. It was a good hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rnarang89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

we were confirmed our booking of this hotel by phone , we were of two couples we felt staying in this hotel was very safe , the rates of food, rooms was in our budget . we enjoyed here for two days and then we went to ooty .

Room Tip: royal deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harsini30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

With our friends we stayed in this royal hotel in this month august , we arrived at night we had fire camp with food we enjoyed it , the food was delicious and it was service neatly , the rooms were enough to stay on three sharing , the staffs were very adjustable with us .

Room Tip: rooms on the parking side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shivas_ram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I would suggest people to avoid this hotel for the sheer rude behavior of their staff.

I had called up this hotel on the morning of 10th August for a booking the same day. The lady on the other side confirmed and booked one superior deluxe room. I had received a SMS confirmation also with the hotel address and directions to reach. Little did we know the kind of surprise awaiting us when we reached there post a late lunch. The guy in the reception informs us that there are no rooms available and there is no booking done in my name. Even after showing him the confirmation SMS he stuck to his claim. Then after much argue he called up another guy and made me speak to him. The guy on the phone was much worse and rude. He even had the audacity to disconnect the phone on my face.

We were in-fact very glad that that we did not get to stay there. With the kind of experience faced in the reception, god knows what would have lied ahead...

In short I would recommend anyone to avoid this hotel at any cost. I still wonder in disbelief on all the positive reviews that I read about this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RamaniG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madhuKodaikanal, Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Dear sir,
Sorry For the inconvenience.
I couldn't accept your statement. Without any payment from you, how can we book a room for you.
You would have enquired for a room, they would have said, we will message you the address and direction, if we have the availability, we can provide it or else we cant.
Because without payment, no one will book a room in any hotel unless they were a regular guest.
And in this confusion, you have misbehaved with our staffs.
If you want to book a room on same day, how can we do it without any payment.
Try to understand our situation also.
Once again, I feel sorry for what had happened.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Book this hotel if you are on a sightseeing trip and want to use the hotel only for sleeping and freshen up. The bed, bathroom was clean and that was more than sufficient for me as for the most of the day,i was outside. The staff hospitality is quite good and people are generous. Hot water runs for only 2 hrs and its a problem, but thats the case with most of the hotels in kodai. The restr on the basement was ok ok types and we used it for breakfast which was tasty. There can be few things which the hotel guys can do.. 1. provide a coffee maker as the nights are quite cold in kodai. 2. Better tv sets as the ones provided are quite old ones 3. Although the cleaning and everything was done as soon as we pointed out, we would have appreciated had the cleaning been done before we moved in.

For those who have their own vehicles, its good as it provides a huge parking space. Else, if you are not very keen on walking or not willing to explore the place on foot, you might find it difficult to walk uphill towards the town everytime you plan to move out of the hotel

All in all, a good stay if you are not willing to spend on hotel stay

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YusufZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gurupriya
Hotel Gurupriya
#39 of 84 in Kodaikanal
93 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel JC Grand
Hotel JC Grand
#62 of 84 in Kodaikanal
21 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Spring Valley
Hotel Spring Valley
#42 of 84 in Kodaikanal
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Flora Highland Paradise Resort
0.9 mi away
Hotel Grand Palace
Hotel Grand Palace
#25 of 84 in Kodaikanal
173 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilltop Towers
Hilltop Towers
#12 of 84 in Kodaikanal
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: 6/328 2c | Opp. High School, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 84 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range: £12 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing