We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room facilities”
Review of Astoria Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kodaikanal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #39 of 78 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Restaurent is good and the food taste also ok
but room facilities are poor
cleaning is not proper.
its on the roadside and opp to busstand so its really good as location wise.
cokkers walk is near and bryant park also near
hot water facility is poor

Room Tip: romms on road side is good
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nagappankathirvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Astoria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2013

It was nice experience stayed for 03 nights and enjoyed a lot, staff were very helpfula nd treated us well.Very polite staff and helped al the time.Rooms are small but our room view u very nice that to un higher floor.Enjoyed all seasons of Kodai in these 03 nights stay.It is located just next to the main bus stand where we can catch pleanty of transport facilities.

Will be back after an year......Kudoos

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orchid_nair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Budget hotel in Kodai near to taxi n bus stand with vegetarian retaurant and good room service with plenty of young vacationers in holiday season advance booking is a must due to proximity to market which is walkable distance and food n snacks available for round the clock good rooms n reasonable rates within budget and no hidden charges.ask for deluxe room n book in advance

Room Tip: dont go for higher floors in winter
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiritK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

The hotel is located just opposite the central bus stand in Kodaikanal.The three main attractions of Kodai , namely the popular , large lake,the Bryant park and the Ccoaker's walk could be reached by a leisurely walk. The shopping centres ,the market and the hospital too are nearby.The rooms are well maintained, clean and comfortable.Service is prompt and satisfactory The main attraction of this hotel is the attached vegetarian restaurant, serving delicious s vegetarian food, mostly south indian fare and a few north indian dishes. the ever crowded restaurant is clean and hygienic and attracts all the tourists who visit kodai as well as those who stay in other hotels and resorts ..

Room Tip: since there is no lift, the elderly to prefer rooms in the the first floor.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nilaseventy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Hotel staff is not cooperative. Bad room service. Rooms are small. When we ordered for dinner, the guy who took the order neither understood English or Hindi.
They are not bothered about their guests. The toilet and room was very small and also not cleaned properly

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arnav2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We arrived in Kodi rather late and decided to go for the Hotel Astoria as it's just around the corner from the bus station. The room looked more than ok for the price and the guy at the reception was rather friendly. So far so good.
Tired as we were from the long bus ride we fell asleep instantly, not for long though. The bed was full of bugs and we woke up in the middle of the night to an already blood stained sheet, full of bugs crawling all over the bed! There must have been a nest somewhere! We were covered in bites ond none of us wanted to even stay anywhere near the bed.
When we went downstairs to check with the staff there was no one around and we had to wait until almost seven in the morning before someone came. We were then given a new room and decided to give it another try, as we didn't get much sleep the night before and just wanted to rest! The room was ok and we stayed for another night.
Next morning upon checking out we asked for at least a discount for the first night as the room we were given was full of bedbugs and we barely got to sleep. This is when the manager or who ever was at the reception got really unpleasant. At first he ignored our request, then started yelling at us and telling us there was no problem since they gave us another room for the second night. He fully charged us for both nights and asked us to leave without further discussion.

Room Tip: I'd rather not go for room 102… 106 seemed better though
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank el_pacino1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We stayed in Astoria for more than 2.5 days. The hotel is situates near coaker's walk, bryant park. The rooms were very neat and tidy. The room service is also awesome. We got pure veg food in the hotel located in the first floor. The food rates were normal, also the quality of the food was very nice.It was really worth staying there. We strongly suggest to stay there...Best wishes Astoria....

Room Tip: Facing near Bustand has a good view.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank palani k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#24 of 78 in Kodaikanal
205 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Palace
Hotel Grand Palace
#25 of 78 in Kodaikanal
168 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Wood Palace
Hotel Wood Palace
#46 of 78 in Kodaikanal
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Richwin Hotels
Richwin Hotels
#12 of 78 in Kodaikanal
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilltop Towers
Hilltop Towers
#14 of 78 in Kodaikanal
234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel JC Grand
Hotel JC Grand
#62 of 78 in Kodaikanal
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Address: Anna Salai, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 78 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range: £12 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing