We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant place to stay”
Review of Hotel Stony Croft

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kodaikanal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Stony Croft
Ranked #30 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant place to stay”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Hotel Stonycroft has nice rooms, located close to the Kodai lake (10 minutes walk), has greenery around and comes at a reasonable cost.
I stayed with my family (wife & kid) and we enjoyed the breakfast every day which is quite fresh & hot. The rooms and reasonably big and clean. The staff is courteous and make sure you are attended well.
The owner of the property lives in the same compound and so will make sure you are heard if something is not upto the mark.
Woody's restaurant is next door and a nice 3 minutes walk will take you there where you can enjoy food in a calm environment located in a 200 year old british building with nice garden.
We throroughly enjoyed our stay at Stonykroft so would recommend to anybody who are looking for a relaxed stay at Kodai.

Room Tip: We booked and stayed beginning of April so anywhere we went there was not much crowd. I believe sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajesh_ramanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    8
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We went to Hotel Stony Croft in March 2013, The Stay here was very pleasant...
Owner of this hotel is from Sourashtra community...
He spoke to us in a friendly manner...

* This Hotel is situated very center of the Kodaikannal main town. . .
* We can reach the lake very easily from this hotel...
* This Hotel have very good parking facility...
* Lot of flower are in the gardens of this Hotel...
* Hot Water was available round the clock (24 hours)
* We can order food in this hotel
* Children play area is well maintained
* * * * *

Overall a very good experience...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajkumar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trivandrum
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

My friend was travelling to kodaikanal and needed a hotel to stay for two nights, so I called these guys and they gave me a telephone confirmation on booking on the same day and was asked to contact a person named JP/jaypal who is supposed to be the manager of this hotel. I had clearly asked them if they needed any payment through credit card but they said that since it is on the same day they did not need it. But after reaching kodaikanal when he called up Mr. Jaypal he was making all kinds of excuses and was asking to call another number (which kept on ringing but no answer). My friend was with his family and as it was night had to go through a lot of tension because of this. Be careful when dealing with these people.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank funnyidea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kodaikanal hotels

namakkal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We were sure about the place as we had already stayed there 5 years back. The service was good & the place was well maintained. As we went with our 2 children, we took the suite (which had a living room with two bed-rooms, both with attached bathrooms) which was quite spacious. It's a great place for people who would like to walk as it is close to the lake.
With a rich quality but not of much variety, the food was hot & delicious. Children had a wonderful time in the open area & garden.
The problem was with the hot water as the geyser wouldn't work in the generator. But overall it was a home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arunaNamakkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

likes:
good maintained
excellent room service
hot for a suit
nice gardening
quiet night life
can stay with nearly 10-15 members in room
nice restaurant

dislikes:
not enough parking spot
no lake view
no playing grounds

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chandru21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2010

very near to lake and it has one bed with small kitchan...very nice to stay there for small family.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aravindan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.8 mi away
Kodai Sunshine Hotel
Kodai Sunshine Hotel
#34 of 76 in Kodaikanal
61 reviews
0.5 mi away
RT Hill View
RT Hill View
#29 of 76 in Kodaikanal
65 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilltop Towers
Hilltop Towers
#14 of 76 in Kodaikanal
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Woodlands Resort
Woodlands Resort
#64 of 76 in Kodaikanal
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treebo Altius Nest
Treebo Altius Nest
#10 of 76 in Kodaikanal
298 reviews
1.7 mi away
TLV Resorts
TLV Resorts
#24 of 76 in Kodaikanal
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stony Croft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stony Croft

Property: Hotel Stony Croft
Address: Convent Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing