We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is worst hotel i ever stayed. One night stay costed me 5300. But the hotel managemnt has birds cage next to the room. Birds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zest @ Coakers Villa
Ranked #43 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
1 review
“This is worst hotel i ever stayed. One night stay costed me 5300. But the hotel managemnt has birds cage next to the room. Birds”
Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

This is worst hotel i ever stayed. One night stay costed me 5300. But the hotel managemnt has birds cage next to the room. Birds bothered me through out the night. Front desk guy was a chef. He smelled strong food odor. Over all stay completly unsatisfied.
Need to shift to nearest hotel next day morning. I dont advise anyone to stay in this hotel unless you are cursed with their membership.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip_masterz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    11
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

This property is very nicely done, the rooms and its view is great. Recommend you to stay at the first floor rooms for long uninterrupted view of the valley.
The only negative is its 500 Meters of uphill walk from the resort to coakers walk - can be considered as good walk :-) Food is slightly expensive, but thats fine.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are better then ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinesh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

we had a wonderful stay at zest @Coakers villa. The rooms are nice and cozy, the staff very friendly and most of the rooms have a great view.
A few things could be improved for example there are frequent power cuts and the backup is not turned on all the time. I can understand this as providing backup for ten hours of power cut does not seem possible. However they should atleast provide emergency lights in the room, if you happen to wake up during a power cut and need to use the bathroom you are left with no choice but use your cell phone or lighter for light.
If you are visiting the resort for the first time,you might end up asking for directions as i did not notice any signboards to the resort.
The staff claims they do not provide room service, though there is a room service menu available in the room. However they were kind enough to provide room service when I insisted. The management should consider providing regular room service if they want regular members to recommend their resort.
Now the worst part of all. There is no bar attached to the resort that too for a cold place like kodai.

Overall it was a great experience staying at zest coakers villa, kodai.


  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hifle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
183 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I stayed in Zest during January 2012 for 3 days with my family. It's a great place to stay. Excellent customer service and fantastic food. Great location. One of the most quiet place to stay in Kodai. The kids had plenty of fun thanks to the games and other attractions.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jude V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at Zest for 6 days during the last week of Xmas. The staff are incredibly warm and helpful. The resort manager and the head chef took extra care and went the extra mile to make sure that both our anniversary and trip were memorable. This place is worth a visit again. It has a panaromic view. The rooms are well maintained. Our room opened up into the valley and we could see the clouds and the mist take turns to cover the mountains while. The staff arranged activities and kept us entertained when we were constrained to the resort due to heavy mist. The new year party was a hit where the young and old shaked a leg. The food is reasonably priced .. dont miss the chocolate mouse and the plum pudding. The resort is a stones throw from Coakers Walk, The market and Bryant Park. A visit to Berijam is a must. Ask the Resort staff to arrange a picnic for you to make it more memorable. The only area of opportunity is there is no running hot water. But the bottom line... visit Zest to experience the 'Indian Hospitality'. The manager coordinated our entire trip beautifully , he was in constant touch right from when we started our trip until we returned home. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: Ask for room 1101 /1102... These rooms have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jafIbrahim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Reached Zest 'Danish Villa' at 12.15pm. This place is on the road next to St.Stephen's Church opposite the Collector's Office, close to St. Hilda's School. An old 179 year old Villa on 2.33 acres of land where a Danish family resided and with the Mahindras since 1947, it was as recently as 10 years ago refurbished to accomodate 15 rooms and a small kids play area. This is apparently the place wher...e Anand Mahindra stayed while studying at the Lawrence School, Lovedale and it was apparently his idea to convert it into a boutique resort. The view from the resort is breathtaking aand though it is barely a kilometer or so from the bustling Charing Cross, it is extremely quiet and serene. Rooms are done in earthy wood and are warm and cosy. Beds on raised wooden platforms add to the warmth. Modern toilets along with other amenities like LCD TV, DVD player, a tea/coffee maker make the stay a comfortable one. Though a few more lights in the rooms will make them brighter and less somber. Esp as the skies were so grey and laden with moisture and rains were imminent. Went out to sit and admire the sweeping views of the blue hills. The angry skies erupted shortly and we were driven in to a warm bed with heater on. Slept like babies! Woke up at 5, had a hot cuppa, changed and ventured out into the freshly washed outdoors which gleamed, had some hot buns at a bakery and bought some caps to cover our ears, at Charing Cross, went driving around, admiring and enjoying the cold breeze. Temperature was 12deg and falling! Returned home for a simple meal while Toshu went to the restaurant to enjoy a full buffet, which was a major peeve for Ranga and me, as we eat very sparingly and a buffet meal priced at Rs.450/- + tax pp is wasted on us and the resort was not serving any a la carte which was silly as they had a full occupancy and am sure they would have had takersSee More

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunshinecheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I travelled with my family, for a 2 night stay at coaker's villa at Kodaikanal. A real unwinding experience. The rooms we got were really spacious with a sitting area and a seperate bedroom. The Panaromic view was amazing, , with puffs of clouds like a painting.. The service too was very good, The small restaurant did whisk out some really delicious food. they have a small lounge area for family activites. Its a walking distance to the lake, where you can engage in cycling, boating or horse riding. Good roads also add to a pleasant driving experience.

Room Tip: A couple, or family with a young kid can go for log house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shalz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Resort
Woodlands Resort
#64 of 76 in Kodaikanal
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Retreat
Villa Retreat
#1 of 76 in Kodaikanal
1,123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Club Mahindra Coaker's Villa
Club Mahindra Coaker's Villa
#20 of 76 in Kodaikanal
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
RT Hill View
RT Hill View
#29 of 76 in Kodaikanal
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#4 of 76 in Kodaikanal
655 reviews
2.0 mi away
United-21 Resort, Kodaikanal
United-21 Resort, Kodaikanal
#50 of 76 in Kodaikanal
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zest @ Coakers Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zest @ Coakers Villa

Property: Zest @ Coakers Villa
Address: Noyce Road, Kodaikanal 624103, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Zest @ Coakers Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Zest @ Coakers Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing