We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but needs a serious facelift”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kodaikanal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
GreenLands Youth Hostel & International Tourist Home
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location but needs a serious facelift”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Arguably, this place has the best location in Kodaikanal. A truly beautiful spot and the original stone building is lovely. That said, the owner is not putting money into upkeep and you might want to give it a pass. Kodaikanal can be quite cool/cold, and we froze at night! A small heater would have made a huge difference to take the edge off the damp, cold conditions. One day there was no water, and on two of our four days we had no hot water. The staff were friendly, which was a plus. The food quality for breakfast is sub standard by Indian standards. The walk to town was always pleasant (costs 10 rupees each way). PS. My wife would rate this place as terrible but the views are superb.
Chris Hughes Canada

Room Tip: We stayed in the stone building, a better choice than the dorms by far. Negotiate price. Ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisCarmen5556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenlandskodai, Owner at GreenLands Youth Hostel & International Tourist Home, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Greetings from Greenlands!

Firstly we are extremely sorry for the inconvenience you and your wife had experienced during your stay at our hotel. We were facing certain water issues at the time of your stay. We will definitely take this review into consideration and ensure the needed steps to be taken.

Thank you for your review. Looking forward to your visit again!

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    29
    9
    7
    5
See reviews for
15
18
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

The USP of this place is the absolutely stunning views of the valley and plains it offers from every room. Basic acco to "luxury" acco - everyone gets a stunning view over the valley. Sweet! It beats the view from Coaker's Walk. Do not expect any luxuries - the place does not promise them anyway. Reasonably priced given how every other half decent place in Kodai charges 4K or higher. The best thing to do is to sit on the balcony with a cup of tea - they have excellent tea by the way! If you are the trekking type, just dump your bag into the basic room and dive in. Meals can be ordered at extra cost and are quite alright. Again, expect nothing fancy.
We stayed there for three days. We were charged 600 rupees a night for the basic room and 1400 a night for a so-called 'deluxe' room. It's just that the deluxe rooms are a little more spacious, have a covered balcony and are warmer. The 600 rupees rooms offer the best views of the stars, in case that interests you. Other parts are quite light polluted.
It is well worth it to wake up at 4 AM and brave the November cold to look at the sky. Not sure if the skies are as clear in the other seasons.

Room Tip: Every room has a view - ask to look before you settle for any particular room. If you are unlucky yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anitachris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenlandskodai, Owner at GreenLands Youth Hostel & International Tourist Home, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Greetings from Greenlands!

We are glad you enjoyed your stay here at Kodaikanal. In regard to your stay at our hotel, we are happy to know that you cherished your stay to your comfort. Luxury is an option that we can provide at a high level, but that would make us lose our authenticity of the concept we run our hotel on. With that said, we would definitely be having certain changes in terms of room amenities to ensure our customer's stay is more comfortable. Happy to hear that Kodaikanal brings about a smile to all our valued Guests.

Thank you for your review. Looking forward to your visit again!

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pondicherry
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

I used to stay every year with my family,thus place is one of the amazing place truely for relaxing during our holidays.All tension disappear.freshes our mind.Truely nature during the day light and glittering pearls of lights of the down town during the night pleasant atmosphere.The staffs are really helpful and do our needful on request.keep it up

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmyassine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenlandskodai, Owner at GreenLands Youth Hostel & International Tourist Home, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear sir
Thank you for this positive and helpful review. We are very glad to hear that your stay was very peace and enjoyable. Looking forward to your visit again.

Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

I did my engineering from a college in Kodaikanal and this place has always been very close to my heart.
I checked into this hostel with 2 of my other friends and I was amazed to see such a beautiful view right outside of your room.
It's one place in Kodaikanal with probably the best view.
Rooms are ordinary and are built in old cottage style and has got a fire place in it.
As I said, it's a Hostel and not a Hotel so I didn't expect much in terms of hospitality and service.
The room was clean until you are some super hygienic guy.
We stayed there for 2 days and one night.
The view outside of the room was amazing I went outside.
Since it's a hostel and not a hotel there are timings for everything.... hot water was available till 11:00 am.
Room service was also available till a specific time in the night. But, we didn't have dinner here since we were partying :D and ordered Pizza from Domino's at 10:30 pm.
Breakfast was fine.
It's not a place where you would be ripped off. The room rent is not much and it's reasonable.
If you are going with your friends, it's the best place.
Best time to visit: March.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sourabh824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenlandskodai, Owner at GreenLands Youth Hostel & International Tourist Home, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Greetings from Greenlands!

Glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at our place. Just a point to mention. Apart from running it as a hostel, we also cater to all kinds of tourists. So we hope that your next visit would be with your family to experience our hospitality.

Thank you for your valuable feedback. Looking forward to your visit again!

Warm Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

I would definitely recommend this place if you're travelling to kodaikanal in a group. This is a beautiful cottage located right next to Coaker's Walk, Kodaikanal. They have double occupancy rooms as well as dormitories. If you're on a budget trip, yet you want to stay at a great place, this is the one..!! Food is good and the service is excellent. Do remember to book your "Camp Fire" slot in advance, as it is the most sought after place in the town..!!

Room Tip: The view from the double occupancy rooms are breathtaking..!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pandukal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenlandskodai, Owner at GreenLands Youth Hostel & International Tourist Home, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Greetings from Greenlands!

We are glad to know your stay was a wonderful experience. Looking forward to your next visit again!

Thank you for the valuable feedback.

Warm Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Fantastic place to stay and enjoy the view and very good service provided by the staff. If you are looking for luxury, this is not exactly the place to stay but if you are the one who would want to stay in a place where you can enjoy the magnificent beauty of nature and with a small budget, then this surely is the place.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajeethvrao13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenlandskodai, Owner at GreenLands Youth Hostel & International Tourist Home, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Greetings from Greenlands!

Glad to know your stay was a comfortable one at our hotel. Looking forward to your next visit again!

Thank you for the valuable feedback.

Warm Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

I would NOT recommend this place. Of our entire trip, our night there will remain etched as the worst of all of them.

We showed up in the afternoon and asked if they had any rooms: only the two "luxury" ones, with terrace and showers. After visiting both, we decided to "splurge" on the hot water and chimney one (not that we planned to use the latter, for fear of alighting the synthetic carpet, though it probably turned fire-proof overtime from the layers of dirt. However, for 300 rupees (!) note that you can buy firewood from the front desk. Other than that, one of the "managers", aptly named Prince, tried to have us book a seat on a minibus, which upon later investigation was obviously a rip-off. Also I asked to use the phone, they said it didn't work then looked at me quite embarrassed when it rang...)

Back to the room: we had to pay upfront the "unegociable" 1000 rupees.
After money was handed, we learnt that hot water was actually available only between 8 and 10am. The next day, during this timeframe, there was no hot water anyway. When I went to ask the watchman what could be done, he said "ah, you may be too late, because at 9 there will be no electricity (for the water heater)". So (moutain) cold the water stayed.
Note that there are no amenities in the bathroom (no toilet paper, soap or towels)
The room was very dirty, the sheets stained but seemed washed(ish). We slept in our clothes all the same, because it was so cold. They provide 3 thin blankets, 2 of which don't cover the bed (the sheets were also too small). Also, the door and windows do not shut properly which explains the drafts.
The fact is that, dirt and cold notwithstanding, we did not sleep a wink because there was a gang fight all night long on and around the terrace of the room between howling dogs and monkeys!!! Can't hold Greenlands responsible for this one... or can we? Please???

It's a terrible shame, because with a little investment and some goodwill, this place could be really nice. Having said that, unless you're trecking, I see no reason why you'd want to set foot in Kodaikanal in the first place...

Room Tip: Choose any room, just not in this hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ornot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.4 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#4 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal
0.4 mi away
Richwin Hotels
Richwin Hotels
#11 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Gurupriya
Hotel Gurupriya
#40 of 75 in Kodaikanal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Carlton
The Carlton
#7 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GreenLands Youth Hostel & International Tourist Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GreenLands Youth Hostel & International Tourist Home

Property: GreenLands Youth Hostel & International Tourist Home
Address: Coakers Walk | St. Mary's road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 126 Speciality Lodging in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the beautiful cloudy surroundings of Kodaikanal where Greenland's is situated at the most spectacular spot of the Kodai hills with the breathtaking panoramic view of the valley and plains to the extent of 50Km. Make your holiday the happiest and the most memorable one while you are in Kodaikanal. We provide all modern facilities at a reasonable tariff. Dormitories, Deluxe rooms and super deluxe rooms where families and students can stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing