We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificient views of the valley”
Review of Coakers Walk

Coakers Walk
Book In Advance
More Info
US$640.00*
and up
3-Night Private Tour of Kodaikanal from Madurai
Ranked #2 of 37 things to do in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chennai
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magnificient views of the valley”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

A scenic walkway, cut on the sides of a hill, providing terrific views of the valley. Takes about 10 minutes to walk across. There are a couple of Telescope Observatories too. Buy a pack of steamed-groundnut from one of the many shops selling it and take a walk across this very affordable walkway (Rs. 3 for entrance), enjoying the magnificient views that are on offer.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank karthiksampath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    294
    114
    15
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lets walk !!!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Do visit in the morning or in the evening. One of the best maintained attractions in Kodaikanal. Well paved walk with all facilities. Food hawkers will ensure that you get variety of street food.
You can enjoy the scenic beauty throughout. A place to chill, relax and walk along with your beloved.

A must visit for all ..........

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ananda_Sarkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A walk you'll never forget”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

After a saturday night deep sleep in the kodai hills, we drove towards coakers walk in the fresh sunday morning. Luckily, it was less crowded. When the valleys of suicide point and Guna caves were filled with high dense clouds, this valley beside our walk was very clear and a big treat to our eyes. Wish to cross it with my wife(future :P) when it drizzles and the path is almost zero crowded. :)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank PathsDreamt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coimbatore
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“walkers paradise II”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

for those love a relaxed walk,this is the place.but if the place is crowded and noisy,feel yourself unlucky,and quit the place.this place is loosing its charm by "development activities" of the KMC

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sivaglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Short and sweet”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

One of the best maintained attractions in Kodaikanal. Well paved walk with all facilities. Food hawkers will ensure that you get variety of street food. I noticed that the locals seemed to be very tourist friendly. I didn't find proce haggling anywhere and perhaps the only place in India where I heart thank you, please and welcome from almost every local I interacted with. Even a pay for use toilet issues a receipt !!!( near Pillar rock attraction)

There is a nominal entry fee for Coakers walk and one enters the walk from one side and can exit from the other or one can walk back.

I strongly reccomend that one keeps about 2 hours for this attraction and carries a good camera as there are some breathtaking views of the valley below

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anuraj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coakers Walk also viewed

Kodaikanal, Dindigul District
Kodaikanal, Dindigul District
 
Kodaikanal, Dindigul District
Kodaikanal, Dindigul District
 

Been to Coakers Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing