We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a wonderful stay..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fern Creek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fern Creek
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“Had a wonderful stay..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Three days experience in Fern creek resort was awesome. They prove that customer is king and serve their best. Hospitality at its best. The total environment and staying in tent gives you soothing feeling. We usually compromise food if we go out but here in this resort I found the best food and literally enjoyed it. They made customer specific food, arranged a surprise candle light dinner for us. The Kodaikanal city is beautiful do not miss cycling at Kodai lake and collecting pine seeds in pine forests if you are interested in decorating.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deshpande_avinash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    83
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
171
202
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pondicherry, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

An awesome get-away for couples and small families. The place is surrounded with the beauty of God's creation and the tweets of birdies are music to the ears. The cozy tent /cottage setting brought in a feel of adventure in the comfort of a luxury abode. The folks there make you feel at home and their hospitality cannot be easily forgotten. The food needs a special mention - Fresh and homely.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at the Fern creek hotel for 3 nights in the month of June 2014. We had an amazing time at this hotel. The staff at this hotel are so helpful and considerate. Customer is God seems to be their motto. They are available 24/7. They will guide you with everything that you need.
The rooms are big and kept clean. The heater in the room is excellent. I absolutely loved their bathroom. It was big and neat.

The food is simple and delicious. The chef Ajithe is a wonderful cook. He would ask us every morning at breakfast what we would like to have for lunch and make that item. Once when we went for sight-seeing they even asked us if we would like our lunch packed. We did not choose that option because we thought the food would get cold. On one of the days that we stayed, they served cookies for evening snack. It was one of the best baked cookies that we had ever tasted.

The other staff Nagraj, Sarvanan and Shiva are also very helpful and kind. They try their best to make the trip memorable. Their recreation room is minimal with a carrom board. But their set of movie dvd/blu ray collection is really good. Since there is not much to do in Kodai, the evenings can be spent watching a good movie.

The only con that I can think about this place is that the variety of food is not so much. It is very basic and could definitley do with some improvement in its variations for the amount of money paid. Also, I would like it if they would maintain their garden well with the grass being cut on time.

Overall it was a wonderful experience and we would definitely recommend this place and would go there once again if need be.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

The Swiss tents were a great experience. The service was awesome. However, Kodaikanal seems to have deteriorated over the years.
The service was great and the staff very helpful, however, the tent themselves were in need of a little repair.
The hot water supply turned off on day 2 for some reason. The staff were able to fix it very promptly.

The only 'sad' parts were
-I had requested for an Innova for pickup and drop. We got an Innova for pickup but got a Xylo for a drop at the same charge. The comfort was much lower in the Xylo and the driver too seemed to be new with the vehicle.
- Due to some local festival, we had loud music all night long.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nishant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indrajitkalidasan, Owner at The Fern Creek, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear guest
We thank you for taking the time to write an encouraging review. Kindly accept my apologies for the brief break in the supply of hot water. We have taken up the wrong pick up vehicle being sent to you as a matter of serious importance, the peak season was the reason for the non availability of the Innova.
Though Kodai tends to get pretty crowded during the season time, we as you have mentioned are located just away from the town center to have ample privacy.
We will surely look into the maintenance requirement mentioned by you on priority.
We look forward to your continued patronage.
With warm regards
Indrajit Kalidasan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights. While the property is very pretty (though not maintained)....it is heavily understaffed and poor on service on all counts. Food menu is bare minimum in terms of spread for the tariff being charged.Staff is courteous and energetic but can't make up for the short staffing.
The property is designed for couples and offer privacy. It is not child friendly given the layout and stone surface. One would have thought or having wine or beer near fireplace at this property...alas they don't stock any alcohol. Its about 4 km from kodai lake so not walking friendly. Overall the stay was average-poor given the tariff.

Room Tip: There are in all 7 rooms so it really doesn;t matter. All are equally spaced and offer there own pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Singhviankit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indrajitkalidasan, Owner at The Fern Creek, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear guest
We thank you for taking the time to write the review. I would like to take this opportunity to address a few of the points raised by you:

- Less spread - All menus are always shown to our guests and they are at liberty to add / subtract / modify as per their free will, your group had raised no such request. We cook all food a fresh therefore a la carte orders take a bit more time than normal, we believe in this practise rather than to cook preserved food.

- Low on staff - We are a boutique resort with 7 luxury tents spread across 2.5 acres, the service would take a bit of time due to the walking the steward needs to do especially so when the orders come one by one as was the case with your group. We have no issues in servicing though.

- Not child friendly: Children breaking water glasses repeatedly as a game is generally not viewed as being 'not' child friendly by guests, though we don't charge for accidents we had to charge you for the broken glasses as it was a game !! As for the terrain, as it is a vast area, we have retained the forest feel to it. We regularly have children of all ages enjoying the gardens and all the normal kids games.

- Lack of liquor on sale: We are governed by the laws of the land.

We look forward to your continued patronage.

With warm regards
Indrajit Kalidasan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

The fern creek made our vacation remarkable and memorable event in our life. We planned our vacation in a very short duration (trip advisor made it a perfect one by introducing fern creek to us). With lot of expectation we traveled from Chennai to kodaikanal the fern creek fulfilled it from the day one onwards through their best hospitality and food. The admirable part is the tent which gave us feeling of staying in the forest. Hearty thanks to mike, siva, Ajeesh, navraj and Saravanan for join us on our wedding day celebration. Special thanks to Ajeesh for his tasty & delicious food :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kingsley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

After a lot of research and going through several reviews, we finally found this place to stay and trust me, it was a truly wonderful experience.. it started from the route directions by their manager Mr.Mike without which its a bit difficult to find their place as there are no sign boards on the way.. When we entered the swiss tent, initially there was a lot of hesitation and scepticism as it was afternoon time and kodai is no longer pleasant throughout the day..it was quite hot and stuffy and we were in doubt as to how we can spend the next 3 days.. but all that doubts went off quickly with the mercury dipping in the evening.. and even more with the wonderful cuisine they served up along with unmatched customer care... need to make special mention about the 2 guys Navraj & Saravanan who are the most friendly people you would come across and never seemed to know that a word "NO" existed in the dictionary...we have stayed in several resorts and never had such pampering. For our trip to the wonderful Berijam lake, they packed our lunch also without which it would have been difficult. Overall a memorable trip and we will surely go back again to the Fern creek.. heard that they have a property near Coorg called the Old Kent which is were we would like to go next time :)

Room Tip: Summer time its advisable not to be inside the room during day time.. it could get a bit stuffy as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharath2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.5 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#4 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Carlton
The Carlton
#6 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Poshe by Sparsa
Le Poshe by Sparsa
#2 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
2.6 mi away
GRT Nature Trails - Kodaikanal
2.1 mi away
Kodai - By The Valley, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fern Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern Creek

Property: The Fern Creek
Address: Fern Hill Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fern Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Untouched and raw, The Fern Creek is a haven for all who yearn for a break. The ambiance is comfortable and refreshing filled with the aroma of eucalyptus, lilies and pines. Designed for utmost privacy, our 7 Swiss luxury tented villas are spread across 1.5 acres of landscaped garden. The in-room amenities are equivalent to a 5 star resort. The property as a whole has plenty to offer to meet your expectations/moods; even more, our all inclusive packages will save you the effort of tying up the loose ends of a holiday. The Balinese spa run by Indonesian Nationals offers the best of international therapies. For the incurably romantic, or the terribly laid back or even the complete workaholic who needs a reason to celebrate – The Fern Creek offers something for each and everyone. The Fern Creek is a holiday waiting to be discovered. Always fresh, one with nature, come and enjoy the glory of life. Welcome to The Fern Creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Fern Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing