We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Google maps fails”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Carnival Resort
Ranked #18 of 78 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Google maps fails”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Firstly, this is a hotel and not a resort. But it's a good hotel; nice breakfast and good service. One thing is not that good..it's location. When you use Google Maps you would think that this hotel is near the lake but it isn't..it's approximately 2 kilometers from the lake. When you like walking this won't be a problem but for others it will. They have WiFi neither but they have a computer at the reception which guests can use.

The rooms are big and clean and almost 24 hrs warm water. At night it's quite cold, so we asked for extra blankets. On the day of arrival we got a fruit basket and every day you get free bottles of water.

Room Tip: Ask when you make a reservation for a forest facing room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    64
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
79
61
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We 2 couple with small kids stayed in Carnival for 3 nights in March'13. I booked this hotel directly.
The hotel is very good and located little far from main market, but i like the location as it quite and relaxing. I booked room facing the forest.The rooms are clean and big enough for family.
The food is very good. The room service is excellent. The staff is very helpful and nice.
We really enjoyed staying in Carnival and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: forest facing rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anil430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

In Kodai we had booked Carnival before,I was in for a surprise it was the last of the Hotel my eyes could see .A far off distant Place.I was puffed off but hold there was something else i could see the rooms the location and finally the food....Oh just what I was lfor.Everything i was looking for.The only sad part was the location for which I shelled out extra hundreds for traversing to main market

Room Tip: Choose deluxe with Balconies u will really enjoy with Kids caricatures made im sure all will love it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pooanavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Excellent location and good transport facilities offered by the hotel. A slow restaurant service was the only thin that stopped me from giving full marks. Well mannered staff and fast room service. Keep it up.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Gaurav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Firstly donot get carried away with the name. It is a Hotel not a resort. There are no ammunities in this hotel. But provides good service & good food.
The washroom & toilets get mud water in the room. Just be sure, you are fine with mud water. I won't recommend people who have kids, the mud water is not good for them.

There is no much of common area to take a walk or enjoy the nature. I won't recommend this to people who wanted to stay at hotel (without sight seeing) and enjoy their time.

Room Tip: Ask for the Valley view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palukuris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thane, India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my family for 3N from May 04 to May 07, 2013.

Highlights: Neat & clean room, courteous/friendly staff, nice view from balcony, reasonably priced & clearly defined cancellation policy, reasonably priced room service (food menu)

Low-lights: Tap water was yellowish/stinking, WC flush was giving problem, no garden/lawn/children play area, breakfast is OK

Room Tip: Choose room with balcony facing valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vkprabhuji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Got a nice tree canopy view from the balcony. The hotel staff were friendly enough. Ran into 1 or 2 minor issues and was resolved immediately by the staff.
The food as part of buffet breakfast as well as room service ( we had dinner ) was excellent. Though service was slower, the taste easily made up for the delay.
On request, due to late checkout, the hotel provided a room for few minutes before our departure to freshen up.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Sathya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.5 mi away
Treebo Altius Nest
Treebo Altius Nest
#8 of 78 in Kodaikanal
318 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#7 of 78 in Kodaikanal
664 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Retreat
Villa Retreat
#1 of 78 in Kodaikanal
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilltop Towers
Hilltop Towers
#13 of 78 in Kodaikanal
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
JC Residency
JC Residency
#5 of 78 in Kodaikanal
686 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Apple Valley
Hotel Apple Valley
#24 of 78 in Kodaikanal
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carnival Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carnival Resort

Property: The Carnival Resort
Address: Naidupuram, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 78 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carnival Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Carnival Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing