We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not upto our expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Carnival Resort
Ranked #18 of 78 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We were two couples & booked this hotel for 2 nights of honeymoon trip. finally after reaching here we found out this hotel worthless for the money which we have spent....hot water was not available...they have provided hot water after calling plenty of times to reception....Not seems as 3 star hotel.....stayed one night & check-out on next day morning. Only food was good.....I would not recommend this hotel for any couples

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank pacchu06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

I would say it is the best hotel to stay comfortably in kodaikanal . the hotel was located 2km from the lake and near the forest view . it was very peaceful. its best for the couple to spend their beautiful time.me n my husband have stayed in carnival suite , it has good interior with stone fixed wall and modern lighting. the place was very very clean n hygiene. we were warmly welcomed with fruits, drinks,chocolates and compliments.The food was good n exotic. they had much varieties in breakfast buffet.the service was good, since we stayed during November the weather was so cold ...so the water in bathroom was not that much hot,,, it was warm n manageable...

TIPS
#Choose carnival suite room to enjoy the good service and comfort.the interior is good with modern lighting.

#corner suites are larger and sunny with 2 windows.

#If u want flower decoration in your room for honeymoon suite you have to inform them before 2 days,so that they will arrange.

Room Tip: Choose carnival suite room to enjoy the good service and comfort.the interior is good with modern li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abiramesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I would like to thanks Trip Advisor & all the people who send review about the hotels. Carnival Hotel was awesome specially the place where it is situated it is away from the city noise, We had booked Deluxe Room with balcony facing the forest view was very beautiful, we stayed for 3 nights & 4 days (month of sep) believe me it is beautiful place to stay it is not much far from the city we walked from kodai lake to hotel it was really good experience watching different trees & flowers People who loves to walk will like the experience. I advice everyone to choose this hotel. It is clean & neat, complementary breakfast was nice, staffs are very good. While reading the review of Carnival hotel they said water was muddy there was no muddy water at all.

I would like to share the sight seeing tour details kindly book from the hotel itself it safe & secure. We had booked 3 days tour from the hotel itself, pickup & drop was done by them we went in group
1. Local Sight Seeing – Good
2. Forest Tour – Super (kindly carry some snacks, beware of Monkeys)
3. Picnic Tour – I would like to say about this tour it is not picnic tour it is trekking believe me this tour was super, couple with kids I don’t think you guy can try this.
4. We did not go for 4th day tour

I strongly recommended Forest & Picnic Tour

Guides will charge extra apart from the package cost (forest entry etc.,) but we did not mind paying them actually we paid them extra apart from what they had asked

You can buy chocolates from Manna Chocolate Factory, but please don’t buy anywhere else as they use dalda to make chocolates, but Mannas is expense from other chocolate shop (Rs.800/- to Rs.1000/- per kg) where as local chocolate shop charge Rs.350/- plus
If you taste the chocolate you will feel the difference

We really enjoyed kodai we will definitely visit again to enjoy the stay in THE CARNIVAL. Once again thanks to everyone in Carnival

Room Tip: You can choose deluxe room facing forest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poosri99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Though in Google Map it's show very close to Kodaikanal Lake, the property is located in Naidupuram, 2 Km from Boating point of lake.

But our experience is Awesome - Superb room, tasty & variety food, great breakfast, several complementary features, nice view from Deluxe room, excellent room service.

Only one problem, service is bit slow - but during a lazy tour, who wants everything too fast?

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
3  Thank Abhik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Firstly, this is a hotel and not a resort. But it's a good hotel; nice breakfast and good service. One thing is not that good..it's location. When you use Google Maps you would think that this hotel is near the lake but it isn't..it's approximately 2 kilometers from the lake. When you like walking this won't be a problem but for others it will. They have WiFi neither but they have a computer at the reception which guests can use.

The rooms are big and clean and almost 24 hrs warm water. At night it's quite cold, so we asked for extra blankets. On the day of arrival we got a fruit basket and every day you get free bottles of water.

Room Tip: Ask when you make a reservation for a forest facing room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We 2 couple with small kids stayed in Carnival for 3 nights in March'13. I booked this hotel directly.
The hotel is very good and located little far from main market, but i like the location as it quite and relaxing. I booked room facing the forest.The rooms are clean and big enough for family.
The food is very good. The room service is excellent. The staff is very helpful and nice.
We really enjoyed staying in Carnival and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: forest facing rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anil430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

In Kodai we had booked Carnival before,I was in for a surprise it was the last of the Hotel my eyes could see .A far off distant Place.I was puffed off but hold there was something else i could see the rooms the location and finally the food....Oh just what I was lfor.Everything i was looking for.The only sad part was the location for which I shelled out extra hundreds for traversing to main market

Room Tip: Choose deluxe with Balconies u will really enjoy with Kids caricatures made im sure all will love it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pooanavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.5 mi away
Treebo Altius Nest
Treebo Altius Nest
#8 of 78 in Kodaikanal
330 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#5 of 78 in Kodaikanal
679 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Palace
Hotel Grand Palace
#26 of 78 in Kodaikanal
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
United-21 Resort, Kodaikanal
United-21 Resort, Kodaikanal
#57 of 78 in Kodaikanal
122 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
1.0 mi away
Hotel Apple Valley
Hotel Apple Valley
#23 of 78 in Kodaikanal
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carnival Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carnival Resort

Address: Naidupuram, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 78 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range: £26 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carnival Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Carnival Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing