We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful Stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Serenità....well into the night
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Serenità....well into the night
On a brighter day... Misty Meadows...Serenita is at the end of the winding road...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Serenità....well into the night
On a brighter day...
Misty Meadows...Serenita is at the end of the winding road...
An aerial close up...guest accommodation to the lower left..
the main house; guest accommodation is at the lower level...
The accommodation with a covered patio and a private lawn with outdoor seating
inviting after dusk too...for them night birds...
it is as cozy as it looks!
your lounging corner...some food for thought too!!!
table for two and entry to the kitchentte and loo
Looking into the kitchentte...
equipped enough to rustle up and serve a quick meal
the loo...part 1
the loo...part 2
cloudplay as viewed from our balcony...at specific times of the year...
view of perumal peak from our balcony..sunrise!
view of the jewel box as seen from our balcony...palani plains on a clear night!
hills and hills and more hills...as seen from our balcony!
Perumal peak again....
may have these four legged friends for company...taken when grazing below our patch...
head above the clouds...
the morning view after a good night's rain...the distant hills!!!
the folds unfold...soon after the rain...looking into the palani plains from our balcony...
Serenità on the lower right with Perumal Peak in the Background.
sunrise on a partly cloudy morning...
the valley of clouds...
Perumal  peak soars above the cloud line..
Red Red Sky...
Blue Blue Sky...
Cloud Art...
a painted sky with a peek at the lit up Palani Plains..
The jewel box and the valley of clouds..
A peep at the jewel box through the clouds...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Kodaikanal, Dindigul District, Tamil Nadu

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Meera G
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful Stay”
Reviewed 23 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had an very comfortable and peaceful stay at Serenita. The quiet location and the pretty view were exactly what we were looking for in Kodi. Must mention that we especially enjoyed the superb food provided by our hosts. We will most certainly be going here very soon.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2016
Thanks folks for choosing to stay with us and for the review....look forward to your next visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trvsri
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

- Outstanding property, excellently maintained, good facilities, great view, self contained & private. Great if you wish to spend the major part of your holiday lazing around (like we did).
- Wonderful hosts, great to talk to, went out of their way to make us comfortable, great food.
- A little far from town (should you wish to go there), and walking can be difficult for the not-so-fit as there are steep inclines. Transport can be expensive if you don't take your car - we did not.
- Internet connection is very iffy

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and facilities
Liked least: Internet connectivity
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2016
Thanks so much for posting your comments. Was a pleasure meeting you all and hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BharathNa...
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
2 reviews
“Serinita...Home...Rejuvenate...Bliss.....”
Reviewed 11 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Came across Serinita on Tripadvisor and read all the reviews on web before we zeroed on it as we were travelling with our 16 month old daughter. Once we reached Serinita we were welcomed by clouds. No words can describe the scenic beauty of the place. Ravi and Preeti made us feel at home. Serinita offers hospitality and coziness of your Home, breath taking views that Rejuvenate you and take you to the state of Bliss!

Definitely, the best stay in Kodai!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality, Views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2015
Thanks for coming by folks...was our pleasure and hope to see you again soon. Our hugs to that little gem...:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vignesh M
1 review
“Superb”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Good location. Loved the place. The room could have been little bigger :).
Good reception by Mr.Ravi

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2015
Thanks folks for posting your feedback!

Apologies for any inconvenience caused to you due to the apparent room size. Its a fairly large room though we have intentionally tried to provide every possible convenience in the space available including books/toys for children, a table for two, clotheshorse and the fully equipped kitchenette as you would have realised. The set up also caters to guests who take it on a self catering basis and hence certain conveniences incorporated for the same.

Nevertheless, we hope to see you again some time soon! We'll be more than happy to clear out some of the movable furniture for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeganVija...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“In one word - exceptional!”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This was the first time that we were experimenting staying in a place where we could cook. Being vegan, this was very important for us. Not expecting much, we took along a rice cooker and some spices including salt and sugar (unnecessarily as it turned out). Ravi and Preeti had arranged for rice, dal and some vegetables. What was impressive was (a) Preeti had kept coriander and curry leaves neatly in a plastic box, even better than home! (b) the extremely well organised kitchen, which was a pleasure to cook in. The kitchen has everything one can find in one's own home and more (c) the good taste and high quality of every thing in the cottage (d) the attention to detail - torch and candles at the right places, a bag for shopping, umbrellas, bandage etc. (e) Very nice people who are there to help - Preeti gave some small containers to store our masalas, some frozen peas as fresh peas were not available in the market, Ravi arranged for any provisions/vegetables we wanted (f) beautiful views of the hills right outside our door to enjoy all through the day- the moving of clouds (you are right in their middle), the mist lifting gradually and coming back,the sunlight… .

If one wants to spend a leisurely time in Kodaikanal without the congestion of the town proper, you can't do better than Serenita - so much thought has gone into making the place comfortable in every way for the guests. We stayed for a week and wish it could have been longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view was outstanding.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2015
Thank you so much for such a thoughtful review! It was a pleasure to have you stay here and really nice to get to know your family and also know that you enjoyed your stay...we will look forward to your next trip and until then our best wishes!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phreakv6
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“tranquil living”
Reviewed 17 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We were looking for a reasonably far place with very good connectivity from bangalore to stretch the legs of our new car. kodai was an instant choice and so we started looking for a place of stay on tripadvisor. We wanted a friendly, inexpensive place of stay that was away from the noise and bustle of civilisation. It had to be toddler friendly and reasonably equipped for our needs. Looking at some of the reviews here, serenita was a very easy choice to make. In retrospect, the decision was a pretty good one as the place was as serene as its name suggests and our hosts ravindran and preethi, warm, friendly and extremely accommodative.

Our 1.5 yr old son loved all the books and toys at serenita and had an extremely good time lolling about on the grass looking at the mountains. We stayed for 3 days and had a chance to experience a bit of sun and blue skies and green mountains across the valley on the first day followed by thunder clouds and rain on day two and an all devouring lovely mist on the third day. There was a bison which wandered into the property as well, much to our excitement.

We ate most of our meals at serenita, cooked by our excellent host and chef preethi. simple but tasty fares served to our taste and food preferences. The pork curry they made on our last day of stay is worth a special mention as they went out of their way to acquire and cook pork. My wife is a vegetarian and had pretty good vegetarian meals made for her as well. Our son got his own baby meals as well from ghee parathas to carrot idlies.

There isn't much to do at serenita, so be prepared for spending time the old fashioned way - reading books, playing board games and having conversations. Kodai town is about 5 kms or so away and we visited it only to find it highly crowded and dirty. Ravindran arranged for a cab with a very friendly driver, Kannan who took us around and was very polite and courteous. We lunched at cloud street, bought pottery from potluck cafe and yummy chocolates from abi's cafe - all recommendations from ravindran and preethi which were all spot on.

We had to rush back on our last day due to a possible political turmoil in TN due to jaya verdict and so had to leave at 4 am. Not only did they wake up at the godforsaken hour to send us off but they even packed us idlies for our journey home. We did not even have time to settle the payment and ravindran was courteous enough to take it through a wire transfer after we reached home. Such warmth and courteousness alone is worth a visit to serenita. The beautiful valley, mountains, birds, mist and the woods are just a bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2015
Thanks folks for this very thoughtful and descriptive review....really appreciated. Happy to know you had a relaxed stay here and our little hero had a good time too...take care and hope to see you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 May 2015
Thanks folks for posting a review for us..much appreciated. Was a pleasure meeting up though a short stay. Hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes from all at Serenita
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing