We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Kodai get away”
Review of Mistycove

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kodaikanal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mistycove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Misty cove is right on the banks of the Kodai Lake, making it very convenient to walk around the town. You would have very limited requirement to take your car, except when you have to go to point of interests - like Pillar Rocks etc.

The villas in this property are built in the old colonial fashion, and gives us a perspective of how life would have been in those days in Kodai. Gardens, which are a quintessential part of English life; makes a centre stage entrance at Mistry Cove with its well manicured lawns and sparkling bright flowers.

The rooms are large and the ceilings are high, a typical English built, which accentuates the coldness inside the room if not properly heated. The inhouse staff was very helpful in getting the fireplace going, every night. The whole fun of going to a hill station is to experience the nippy weather while keeping warm in your clothes and food. The hot aaloo paranthas, which are a speciality of their inhouse cook melds so well in the climate that you will find it hard to stop eating it.

There is no non vegetarian cooking allowed as per the policy, but since its in teh center of the town most of the restaurants are only a walking distance in case you are in dire need of non veg.

Sipping hot tea in the morning in the lawn, watching the roses and blades of grass sparkled in the morning light was my favourite moment whilst our time there. All in all a very pleasant experience.Would recommend to anyone travelling with family.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms nearer to the roads. It can get noisy during day times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mogaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 41 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2013

Courtyard and garden is excellent. Well maintained lawn and plants .But facilities inside the cottage was very poor. No proper plugs.Bathrooms less hygienic and even some electrical wires are plugged in with out insulation.Found one tube light wound with rope and frame for support.At this price we expect some more dedication from owners side.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g_cherian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

"We were attracted to the open space & garden feeling of the resort. And we were not disappointed on his front. The lawn & garden space is huge and well maintained. But there were many other let downs that made our Misty Cove experience memorable for the wrong reasons.

+ Lawn & garden are well maintained & welcoming for nature lovers. The kids loved the open space.
+ Good response levels from the minimal support staff on the resort grounds.
+ The only advantage of the location for us was that all restaurants were within walking distance. Another possible advantage was that its walking distance to the boat house, park, Coaker's walk.

- The property is just off the busiest part of Lake Road, Kodaikanal. Our cottage was just a few meters away from the hustle bustle of Lake Road - noisy, too close to the crowds, etc.
- We were in between Christmas & New Year - a relatively colder part of the year. Our cottage was uncomfortably cold. The construction of the cottage is such that the temperature within the cottage felt about 5 degrees less than outside. Maybe the summers would be good.
- Quality of heaters is poor & struggles to keep the rooms warm.
- Food has to be ordered 24 hrs in advance. And there is no backup for the support staff. If the cook is unwell, you go without this facility (the cook was indisposed the entire duration of our stay)
- Cottage is old and furnishing and upkeep is poor (dusty, cobwebs, hot water smells of rust)

On the coldest night of our stay, we were struggling to stay warm with quilts & room heaters. In the middle of the night our cottage suddenly lost power. Though we could've managed without the lights, the heaters were absolutely essential for the kids. It took us & the caretaker close to 2 hrs to find the source of the issue (an old wire in a junction box had given up) and fix it. This sort of an issue might not happen to every guest, but it definitely contributed to us looking forward to the end of our vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shubhadeepb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We were a family of 2 senior citizens, 3 kids aged 8, 6 & 4 yrs & a couple. We stayed at Misty Cove, Kodaikanal for 4 days & 3 nights in 1st week of June'12.
I had seen a small ad of a lake front homestay at Kodaikanal in Outlook Traveller magazine. I immediately saw their website & was entirely charmed. I searched the net for reviews but couldn't find ANY! Then I contacted the owner Mr. Vaibhav Gulechha directly. He assured me that we would be perfectly comfortable at Misty Cove & would not have any complaints.
They have 5 nos. 2 bed-room cottages on the property. The property is located ON Kodaikanal lake & is very picturesque. I booked 1 cottage for our family with 1 extra bed. We always prefer to stay in 'homestays' as outside food is a problem with small kids. Here the bonus was a SUPERB cook, whose food we still miss :-)
We took an overnight train from Bangalore & reached Kodai Road station in the morning. Mr. Gulechha had helped us organise the pick-up (& drop) by an Innova. It took us 2.5 hrs to reach Misty Cove, Kodaikanal.
We all were awestruck with the beauty of the place! Lush garden with hammock & gazebo and a huge variety of flowering plants soothed us.... A hot cuppa & yummy breakfast followed! Our cottage was located next to the Dining cottage & it really felt like home. The cottage had 2 bedrooms (1 was bigger), a common bath between the 2 (with 2 doors!), living room & a kitchenette. We didn't use the kitchen & had all 3 delicious meals of our choice (they have an elaborate menu!) at the common dining area. Both North & South Indian dishes were very tasty!
As this was our 2nd visit to Kodaikanal we did not have a sight-seeing itinerary. This vacation was planned purely to spend quality time with the family. So every morning after breakfast we went for horse-riding & then cycling 6kms around the lovely lake! After lunch everyday, we went for boating at the lake (Shikara ride is not to be missed!), having ice-cream & strolling at the Tibetan market! We visited the Coaker's Walk too which is just 10 minutes walk from Misty Cove. Bryant Park is located next to Misty Cove. The lake is serene in the mornings & evenings, but gets crowded during the afternoons with tourists. Avoid this hour.
We had an overnight return train for Bangalore from Kodai Road station at 8:30pm. We took packed dinner of yummy aalu paranthas from Misty Cove & left at 4:30pm by Innova.
Overall, an ultimate satisfying experience! The kids had a gala time playing in the garden with amazing weather & magical mist all around! We had to coax them while leaving, they just didn't want to go home :-)
Kudos to Mr. Gulechha to maintain this awesome property & keep it so simple & comfortable!

Room Tip: Cottages away from the road are quieter & have better lake-view. Better talk to Mr. Gulechha &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KG1977KG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Retreat
Villa Retreat
#1 of 85 in Kodaikanal
1,231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#10 of 85 in Kodaikanal
703 reviews
1.1 mi away
JC Residency
JC Residency
#4 of 85 in Kodaikanal
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hill Country Kodaikanal
Hill Country Kodaikanal
#18 of 85 in Kodaikanal
404 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lilly's Valley Resort
Lilly's Valley Resort
#7 of 85 in Kodaikanal
733 reviews
5.7 mi away
Zac's Valley Resort
Zac's Valley Resort
#2 of 161 in Kodaikanal
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mistycove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mistycove

Address: Lake Road | Next to Bryant Park, Kodaikanal, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 161 Speciality Lodging in Kodaikanal
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mistycove is an exclusive homestay option situated on a prime lakefront property at Kodaikanal. It has got 5 cottages, scattered over 3 acres of lush gardens with beautiful views. Mistycove is equally suited for a romantic getaway or an action filled family vacation. All cottages have two large bedrooms both with attached bathrooms and a walk-in wardrobe area, one living room with a fire place. All bathrooms have hot water facility. At Mistycove you need to order food 24 hours prior in case you wish to have food on the premises. All cottages are adequately furnished without being flashy. There is a Television with cable connection in every cottage at Mistycove. We take pride in our beautiful award winning gardens which have sprawling lawns overlooking the lake and rose gardens, flower beds, and mature fruit and shola trees. Mistycove has just 5 cottages and the caretaker quarters. Being spread over 3 acres, this makes it very exclusive. Mistycove is a 100% vegetarian homestay and even outside non-vegetarian food is not allowed on the premises. It is also an alcohol/tobacco free facility. Mistycove is so strategically located that you do not need to worry about local transport for most of your needs. Walk time to some of the important locations are as under:Lake - 0 minute, Bryant Park - 2 minutes, Boating - 1 minute, Horse riding stand - 1 minute, Bicycle shops - 0 minutes, Tibetan market - 0 minutes, Coaker's walk - 5 minutes, Bus Terminus - 5 minutes, Seven Road Junction & Bazaar - 5 minutes, Boat club - 5 minutes. While being in the midst of all the action, the compound itself exudes serenity and peace. A rare combination... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing