We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant family break”
Review of The Carlton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Carlton
Ranked #9 of 82 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Nice grounds. Spent a few days there with my young family. Very nice location next to the lake. Geese outside the balcony woke us up everyday. Friendly staff. There is a games room with a kids play area and bikes available. All in all nice for a plesant and relaxed family break in kodai.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rudraksh2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Guest,
We are indeed glad to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We thank you for your words of appreciation and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
With warm regards,
M.Christopher K
DGM
The Carlton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

429 - 435 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

I stayed at the Carlton in Kodaikanal with my family in December, 2010. Although almost 3 years have passed during which I have stayed in several hotels having similar or higher rates, I simply cannot forget my experience at the Carlton. First and foremost, the view of the lake from almost all the rooms is breathtaking and you can spend your entire day just sitting in the balcony. The rooms are clean, the staff extremely polite and helpful. The hotel has huge lawns and play areas which are lush green. The facilities for indoor/outdoor games, library, health club are also very good. The buffet spreads at the reataurants had lot of variety and the snacks which you can order sitting in the lobby were also very good. Another USP of this hotel is its own boat club and cycle club. I and my children spent endless hours cycling around the lake with excellent cycles provided by the hotel. The boat rides (including a free ride) were also wonderful. Overall an extremely satisfying and fulfilling experience. My entire family wants to go back to Carlton again but since I live in Mumbai it may take sometime for me to fulfill their wish.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dasgupta753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Mr. Gupta,
We are fortunate to have had you and your family stay with us and we are delighted to know that all of you enjoyed your stay. We thank you for your kind words of appreciation, which would motivate the team Carlton.
We would be pleased to welcome you and your family back and we hope you would give us the another opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
With warm regards,
M.Christopher K
DGM
The Carlton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Just stayed there for a night, the hotel was so good in every aspect. As it was an business trip and it was too short could not enjoy everything over there, but on seeing everything over there I am sure this hotel is excellent option for couples especially who come here for an honeymoon.

Room Tip: choose a room which has balcony with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yuva79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Guest,
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely hope that you would give us an opportunity to serve you on your next visit.
With warm regards,
M.Christopher K
DGM
The Carlton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This was one of the best Holidays I ever had and The Carlton contributed lot towards the same. This was my second visit to Kodai with in year. I like Kodaikanal very much just because of its lake and the way it is maintained. This is the only property in Kodai which has perfect lake view and location. In between market but still very calm. Carlton have one gate which opens directly in front of Boat house and in the market. It was looking like the whole staff was very hungry towards good service. All were so good, humble, courteous and so efficient that I don't have words to express the same. Be it room service, be it security staff or staff in restaurant, it is difficult to say who was better. Food was excellent Dinner/Breakfast buffet spread was very good and covered almost for all taste. I have given 5 star rating to few other properties but there is no 6-7 star rating hence was limited to 5 as well for Carlton but no doubt it was way ahead of all of them.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhishek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to note your appreciative comments. We thank for you taking time to give your feedback. We look forward to have you staying with us again.
M.Christopher K
DGM
The Carlton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This hotel is definately the heart of Kodaikanal. The best is the lake view and you just feel heaven on earth. extremely peaceful place, very huge garden area. Hotel has taken care of each and every activity that one would want to do it while holidaying i.e boating, cycling, indoor games, kids play area, spa, jaccuzzi etc. Staff is extremely courteous making one feel comfortable. Chef recommendation is what i recommend for speciality food My special thanks to the GM , Mr Rajkumar to take care of our special occasion and actually make it so special which is going to stay forever as 'lovely memories'.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pg333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2015

Dear guest,
We thank you for taking time to post your review on this public forum. It’s always a great pleasure to receive appreciative comments. It would motivate the team at The Carlton to achieve greater level of guest satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit and we hope to delight you with our services and hospitality.
With regards,
M.Christopher K
DGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

You cant get a better view from all the rooms than this hotel in Kodai.all ofthem face some part of the lake. Though there isnt muchof the history of the hotel written anywhere the oldies in Kodai told me this was started sometime in late 1800s by the british residents and changed hands a few times until the current owner Raheja properties took over in early 1980s. In the early days this was a one block hotel but now stands spread over just adjacent to the main campus of Kodai international school.the reception area gives you a dull feel, it does feel like how hotels used to look like in 1980s but the rooms are very spacious with a great view from the big balcony.i think the rooms and bathrooms have been recently renovated.there is a big lawn overlooking the lake just adjacent to the bar so if weather permits you can enjoy your drinks out there.for a hill town hotel this hotel has plenty of space to move around.must also mention the excellent food, of the many unique dishes that was served in dinner buffet the one i can remember is urulai double benas varuval-----locally grown potatoes and butter beans sauted with curry leaves.

The room rent is inclusive of bfast and dinner.this place is usually crowded except for the monsoon season i guess.overall the best place to staythat i know of in Kodai.

Room Tip: I think the south facing rooms have a expansive view of the lake than the others which have an obstr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jissbobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Sir,
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. We thank you for taking time to give your positive comments on the food and the facilities of the hotel. We sincerely look forward to the privilege of serving you again.

M.Christopher K
DGM
The Carlton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Carlton is probably the best place in Kodai to stay. Situated at the lake. It is a tranquil oasis in the midst of the crowded town. My stay was great. My colleague and I were staying in a Double room and I was surprised to find that they give only 500 ml water bottle per person for the entire stay. It is the only negative point I found during our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jiv16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Guest,
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and for taking time to give your valuable feedback.
We look forward to your next visit.
M.Christopher K
DGM
The Carlton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.6 mi away
Sterling Kodai Lake
Sterling Kodai Lake
#10 of 82 in Kodaikanal
818 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Retreat
Villa Retreat
#1 of 82 in Kodaikanal
1,195 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sterling Kodai Valley
Sterling Kodai Valley
#11 of 82 in Kodaikanal
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#6 of 82 in Kodaikanal
691 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Poshe by Sparsa
Le Poshe by Sparsa
#2 of 82 in Kodaikanal
473 reviews
2.8 mi away
Great Trails Kodaikanal By GRT Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton

Address: Lake Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kodaikanal
#2 Business Hotel in Kodaikanal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kodaikanal
#4 Family Hotel in Kodaikanal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range: £83 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Carlton 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise besides a lake amidst virgin hills..only at The Carlton - 5 star hotel in kodaikanal, tamilnadu. One of the best resorts at hill stations in India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel Kodaikanal
Carlton Hotel Kodaikanal
Carlton Kodaikanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing