We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property right on lake”
Review of The Carlton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Carlton
Ranked #11 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent property right on lake”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed there last week. We had 2 rooms (404 and 405) which had large terrace overlooking the lake.
As we had a 2 night package, it included a shikara ride on the lake, ½ day sightseeing in the bus. There are plenty of activities at the hotel for kids (badminton, cycling, carom, foosball, play area etc). There are additional facilities like pool table, jaccuzi, steam which are charged for usage. They also had game of housie in the evening (Rs. 50 per ticket)
The restaurant is nice and big, serving very good veg/non-veg food.
However it is disappointing that such good hotel charges for wi-fi connectivity.

Room Tip: The rooms with large terrace on 4th level (one level above lobby) are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamirP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this review, 19 December 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of the facilities and service. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. To avail special offers on wi fi, F&B, etc., you may kindly visit our webisite. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
With warm regards,
M.Christopher
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    172
    39
    12
    9
See reviews for
267
130
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The hotel offers a breathtaking view of the Kodai lake. Rooms are spacious and overlook the lush green lawns, which roll over to the Lake. The hotel gives the feeling of colonial era with all modern amenities. The free bicycles offered by the hotel were a great hit, and bicycling around the 4.5 km circumference of the lake is a rewarding experience. Although the hotel scores high on ambience and comforts, but food other than south Indian delicacies, is a weak point.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanjeev221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Mr. Sanjeev,
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. We thank you for your positive comments on the facility and services. We have taken note of your suggestive comments and we will strive to improve. We look forward to your next visit.
With warm regards,
M.Christopher K
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhubaneswar, India
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I stayed in the Carlton with my family from 15th-18th Oct., 2013 in 2 rooms-408 & 409. The check-in was swift and without any hassles. The hotel's location is absolutely fantastic-right on the lake. Our rooms were luxurious with big balconies overlooking the lake. The rooms had all the facilities. Service was excellent. The gym and spa were very good. Food quality was very good. Buffet and breakfast spreads were enough. Has a perfect bar also. The free boat-ride organized by the hotel was fantastic. One can relax and enjoy in the hotel itself without going anywhere. My son had lost a pair of shoes. They found it after we left and called up and sent it by courier. We really enjoyed our stay there and would return again on our next visit. It is the best in Kodaikanal.

Room Tip: Room No 408 and 409 are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shyam33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Mr. Shyam,
We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. Your words of appreciation would motivate us.
We eagerly look forward to your next visit.
M.Christopher K
DGM
The Carlton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 463 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The Hotel scores high on ambience, food and service! I must say the hotel staff is very polite and helpful. This hotel is a blend of vintage Raj and modern comforts. This superb hotel is set in the sprawling campus, landscaped grounds overlooking the Kodai Lake. Services like Bar, Gym and Boating are available. The price are high but its worth a visit!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emanurag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear guest,
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
M.Christopher K
DGM
The Carlton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kollam, India
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I had my two nights stay here. The hotel is nice, staffs are friendly. I liked two things the most one is the name they have given for the BAR. "End of the Road" and another one is one of the name of the cocktails "If everything else fails" . Loved those two. The International mixes for Martini was not justified they have totally changed it, which I did not love. The buffet had a nice variety of vegetarian dishes while the rice items was just limited to two. They should consider adding some Chinese varieties. Things were perfect and Its a good hotel to choose to in Kodai.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kollam003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Guest
We are happy to note that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for your positive comments. We have taken note of your suggestions.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
With warm regards,
M.Christopher K
DGM
The Carlton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at The Carlton for a family vacation. The location of the hotel is very good with great view of lakes and surrounding hills from every corner of the property. The spacious lawns and thoughtful recreation rooms provides enough options to relax and enjoy your vacation. The quality of food and service also were very good. Enough reasons to come back and relive an experience that was really superb.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k_jayaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Mr. Jeyaraj,
We thank you for choosing The Carlton for your family vacation and for taking time to give us your positive comments. We are glad to know that you have carried back good memories of your stay.
We look forward to your next visit.
With warm regards,
M.Christopher K
DGM
The Carlton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Nice grounds. Spent a few days there with my young family. Very nice location next to the lake. Geese outside the balcony woke us up everyday. Friendly staff. There is a games room with a kids play area and bikes available. All in all nice for a plesant and relaxed family break in kodai.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rudraksh2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Guest,
We are indeed glad to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We thank you for your words of appreciation and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
With warm regards,
M.Christopher K
DGM
The Carlton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.6 mi away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.4 mi away
Villa Retreat
Villa Retreat
#1 of 76 in Kodaikanal
1,135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#7 of 76 in Kodaikanal
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Kodai - By The Valley, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.8 mi away
Le Poshe by Sparsa
Le Poshe by Sparsa
#5 of 76 in Kodaikanal
388 reviews
2.8 mi away
Great Trails Kodaikanal By GRT Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton

Property: The Carlton
Address: Lake Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kodaikanal
#2 Business Hotel in Kodaikanal
#5 Family Hotel in Kodaikanal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kodaikanal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Carlton 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise besides a lake amidst virgin hills..only at The Carlton - 5 star hotel in kodaikanal, tamilnadu. One of the best resorts at hill stations in India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel Kodaikanal
Carlton Hotel Kodaikanal
Carlton Kodaikanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing