We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay at Villa Retreat”
Review of Villa Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Retreat
Ranked #1 of 85 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed in this resort from November 1st and November 2nd. I had booked Deluxe Room City View. We had warm welcome from the staff Javid,Mohammed,Murugan.They arranged a cab for us to pick from Bus stop to reach into the hotel.After entering the room, they will provide breakfast which was very nice.Room service was very good and nice response from the hotel guys.There was a nice garden at Dining side.Beside the hotel, there was Coakers walk and opp to Bryant park and lake. These are some important places to visit.They arranged candle light dinner for us.Overall it was a very good experience at Villa Retreat.
I always recommend to stay over there. :)

Room Tip: I had stayed at Room no:206 which was good and spacious having balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavan_Kumar_Anumula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

722 - 728 of 1,231 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

Very nice Resort to stay in a very good location... The service is too good.... we had a very warm welcome from the people Javid, Mohammed, Murugan.... They are always ready to help us. They even arranged a candle light dinner for us...

They have a very nice garden restaurant... Some of the main places (Coakers walk, Bryan park, boating) are at a walkable distance... All the shopping can be done there only... The food is nice specially the breakfast is awesome... Overall it was a very nice experience at Villa Retreat... I always recommend to stay over there...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhanu_greenlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed in this resort yesterday (3rd Nov 2013). We booked standard room.

On arrival room was not ready. We were asked to wait for 10-15 minutes. Receptionist was not courteous as well.

Overall room was ~9x9ft very small. TV was ordinary 21" old days types. I asked for extra blanket and the waiter was like why do you need blanket?

Bed was nicely done. Firm bed instead of spring mattresses. But room was very close to coakers walk and you can hear visitor's talking and whistling.

We had dinner and breakfast there and they were of very good quality. There was fireplace in the dining room and it was very warm and comfy. View in front of dining room is worth its money.

Water pressure in the bathroom is very poor. You can't have shower. Once you have shower it takes 20 minutes to get hot water again.

Finally on checking out again things were not ready. We were asked to wait for 5 minutes. Real lazy bunch of people I must say.

In Kodai we stayed for 3 nights and we tried 3 hotels. This is comes 2nd among the three we tried.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imshreyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We had traveled in the 1st week of Oct and stayed for 3 nights. Everything from the word go was just right about this place. I had booked for 2 valley view rooms. We were fortunate enough to have got the best room in the property( the real icing on the cake).

The pros:
Location- The place has its colonial charm and located just amidst nature and bang next to coalker's walk and Bryant park.It is an ideal location for honeymooners, never the less if its with family and want to spend some quality time. You can just sit down in the room and see Kodai changing every minute in the form of clouds , mist and the many forms of nature. They have a lovely open sit out area and a dining hall from where you can experience the valley views if u have not taken a valley view room.
Services - They have an amazing group of people ......Jaaved(Manager who is always ready to greet u with a smile and takes every effort to make ur stay as pleasant as possible)Mohammed,Dina,Murugan ....everybody plays their part to make ur stay memorable. My mother got some useful tips about the food from their chef..(I guess it was Philips).
Food- They have decent menu, and the food served is really good as compared to other places in Kodai.
Cons- Can hardly recollect any.....

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank DrJeet31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Very good resort with awesome scenic view. Placed in the heart of Kodaikanal but very calm and quiet area. Creating a romantic environment for couples :).They maintained a catchy garden also. Every attractions of Kodaikanal is in walkable distance, its just in front of botanical garden and Coaker's Walk. Food is good but i felt quantity is low !. They will pay extra for room heater. They would have made it free. Even at 8.30 AM hotel guys telling about vacating :-(. Sitting in lawn, u can see mountains and superb view of Kodai town also. You will never forget sitting in the lawn in a chilling night with your loved one and enjoying the art of nature.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AneeshG85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

I just checked out of villa retreat....stayed here for 3 nights in 2 deluxe suites..my experience was just great...love the view...u can spend the whole day sitting in the lawn and enjoy mountains...food was very nice...had all meals here throughout my stay...no complains in any area...even if u have one they are willing to solve it instantly..would recommend anybody who want to stay in kodai...would rate it 5/5...

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Kaunash N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This place is a huge bunglaw with a very scenic view surrounding. Coaker's Walk is just next door. Bryant's Park, Kodai Bus Stand and the lake are just a few minutes walk away. This place is a silent, beautiful and peaceful location.

The food and service at the garden is excellent.
The people at the resort are very hospitable and warm.
A true value for money in all respects.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GBSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.9 mi away
Sterling Kodai Lake
Sterling Kodai Lake
#8 of 85 in Kodaikanal
886 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Poshe by Sparsa
Le Poshe by Sparsa
#2 of 85 in Kodaikanal
513 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Carlton
The Carlton
#5 of 85 in Kodaikanal
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Great Trails Kodaikanal By GRT Hotels
2.5 mi away
Sterling Kodai Valley
Sterling Kodai Valley
#11 of 85 in Kodaikanal
535 reviews
0 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#9 of 85 in Kodaikanal
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Retreat

Address: Coakers Walk | Noyce road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 85 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range: £37 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savour the magic of Kodaikanal from the comfort of your room. We are situated at a Perfect location in kodaikanal with an awesomatic view and excellent walkable access to all sight seeings places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing