We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Retreat...Great stay option in Kodaikanal”
Review of Villa Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Retreat
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I wish to begin the review by saying that the staff is fabulous at Villa Retreat, very courteous and polite and try to make your stay a comfortable one. A good staff is the hallmark of any great hotel and the staff of Villa Retreat reflects the values of the hotel management in the best possible way.

Now about the resort. The location is great, right next to the Coakers Walk which is famous for the Valley views. The Kodai Lake and Bryant Park are also located very near to the resort thus making it the best possible stay option in Kodaikanal. The resort has a small but lovely garden are having awesome Valley views, as good as from the Coakers Walk and has a colonial feel to it. The outside walls are covered with neatly trimmed creepers and bear a very picturesque view.

The rooms are a bit small in size but otherwise are good. The bed was comfortable. The decor of the room was also decent. However, Wifi is present only in the restaurant area.

Food served by the restaurant is really good and we enjoyed all the meals we had there. Rates are a bit on the higher side but food is good and prepared with great care.

However, Kodaikanal being a hill station, there is no night life and hence the kids get bored in the evening. In view of the same, the hotel should try to develop a small play area for the kids. It would definitely add value to the stay.

All in all, whatever the Villa Retreat lacks in terms of space, it more than makes up for in hospitality. We had a good stay there and would recommend it to anyone visiting Kodailkanal.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AradhanaVerma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

682 - 688 of 1,195 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

We were a group of 6 (3 couples - all married :-) ). We opted Villa Retreat based on the reviews in Tripadvisor. The reviews proved right ... the stay was wonderful ....the way they took care of our stay, food and all other needs deserve a BIG 5 rating...

We had a 2 day 2 night stay (Nov 2 - Nov4 2013). We were looking for Classic-View rooms but could manage to get only Standard-rooms as every other room got sold out for that weekend. But for our surprise the Standard rooms were equally good except that they lacked the Valley view and other luxuries which are not a real miss.

Valley view is awesome from their restaurant...Few tables are kept at the lawn, which offers a stunning view of the valley..... Having food on the Lawn tables are among the best times we had in Kodai .... Only drawback is that the entire resort is spread across hardly 1 acre. So the only place to spend time is @ lawn .....

Care and service also are high class. The way John took care of all our needs deserve a special mention ..

Villa Retreat ...Highly recommended. ....

Room Tip: Standard rooms are more than enough....they come @ pretty reasonable rate as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vishnu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed at Villa Retreat ( Lakeside ) during first week of November 2013 and spent an unforgettable Diwali Break.Took a road trip from Madurai Airport to Kodaikanal on 3N4D basis.
The Bunglow has extraordinary location in the middle of Nature.The Management / owners,staff at Hotel ( Mr Dina ),staff and cook at the bunglow,cleanliness,facilities,comfort,is way above expectation and really very good.They truly care.Food is cooked as per order by cook attached to the Villa and is good and reasonable.With a large family of 6 adults and 3 small children the place was good beyond words and can only be experienced.
Villa Retreat ( Lakeside ) Strongly recommended for off season travelers who love cold climate full of nature and professional back up support.

Room Tip: The unit has three fully furnished bedrooms with attached toilet.Dining area,Porch.Kitchen etc.Best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPP92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Been to this hotel with family on 8th Nov.2013 - 3 days. Location of this hotel is very nice. Good hospitality from the hotel team. Food was delicious, but could place their rates a bit more competitive. Rooms could have been a bit more spacious and would be happy if they also had a play area for kids. Thanks to dina, mohammed, Javid & team for honoring our request for room 108 (has a great view of the valley) and arranging a complimentary birthday cake for my daughter. Would love to come back!!!

Room Tip: Room: 108 has a great valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khumareshhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We had visited this place in Deepavali (On 1/11/13 till 5/11/13) and stayed in family cottage i.e. in Room no. 100 which had fireplace n spacious room with all types of facility .The whole experience has been beyond our expectations.The whole Villa Team especially Mr. Javed takes the services experience to the next level, they just pamper you with more of it each time.
The hotel is located in such a place from where the view is fantastic and the best thing is the dining place from where u can have beautiful valley view !!!

Its worth visiting hotel and I dont think there is any other hotel in Kodaikanal like Villa Retreat !!
If anybody wants to visit Kodaikanal , please do stay in Hotel villa retreat only and not any other hotel !!

Room Tip: Family Cottage is the best room out of all the rooms(Room no.100). Spacious room with fireplace an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vks26994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My first trip to Kodaikanal and I realized I missed something great all these years the moment I had a first sight of the place. Having visited most of the Hill stations in South India and a handful of lovely Beach resorts, this place was unique. This place calls for a second visit even before you've left.

Now, coming to Villa Retreat, this place was home away from home plus the tranquilty! Located alongside Coaker's walk, a part of it overlooking the City and another to the breathtaking Valley view. Though it was foggy most of the time, when it cleared, we get a good view of a distant Lake.

Well, I've stayed at Yercaud and Munnar at much expensive resorts, both these with opening up to a beuatiful Valley view. But Villa Retreat is different. The service here is not just professional, they have a personal touch going about their guests. I stayed with my wife and a 2 year old. The staff took good care of the kid and ensured we dined in peace. Hot water was provided in a flask and special dish was prepared for my kid! Food is synonymous to home made. Lawn in the dining area is something I've always dreamed of, overlooking the valley!

My room was located adjacent to the Coaker's walk. So I basically got a view of the Valley as it looks from Coaker's walk. Special thanks to all the staffs especially Mr. Murugan and Mr. Javed. Overall,it wasn't a big luxury Resort, but was compact, feel good resort with excellent location and friendly staff. It was rejuvenating to my family and this place is a definite place to visit again!

Room Tip: Room 108 for the best view, but it's totally upto chance sine the Resort, I was told, follows fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vedsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Ok rooms with decent food. The staff are less than courteous. The first thing they do is tell you to check their rating on this website with a smug look on their face. Extremely near Coakers walk. Use your judgement before booking a room.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nrn235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#6 of 82 in Kodaikanal
691 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sterling Kodai Lake
Sterling Kodai Lake
#10 of 82 in Kodaikanal
820 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sterling Kodai Valley
Sterling Kodai Valley
#11 of 82 in Kodaikanal
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Le Poshe by Sparsa
Le Poshe by Sparsa
#2 of 82 in Kodaikanal
473 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Carlton
The Carlton
#8 of 82 in Kodaikanal
601 reviews
3 mi away
Great Trails Kodaikanal By GRT Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Retreat

Address: Coakers Walk | Noyce road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range: £39 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savour the magic of Kodaikanal from the comfort of your room. We are situated at a Perfect location in kodaikanal with an awesomatic view and excellent walkable access to all sight seeings places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing