We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Worthwhile....” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of United-21 Resort, Kodaikanal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
United-21 Resort, Kodaikanal
Ranked #38 of 75 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not Worthwhile....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Even though the distance from the main town is only around 4 Kms, the village road to this place is bad, crowded and narrow. The deep dark colours given in the room makes the room dark and depressing. The cleanliness of the room and the toilet certainly needs improvement. Even though the food is tasty, the overall experience makes it dampening. Though they claim that they accept credit cards, payments are to be made in cash only. It is not worthwhile to take all the trouble to stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    50
    27
    6
    7
See reviews for
59
36
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Happened to book this place quite by chance and did nor really regret it. Located in a slightly remote place Shanmugapuram, this one is really worthy of giving you a peaceful and secluded vacation. Previously called as Summer Migrations, this one has been adopted by the 'United 21' group. Their greatest asset is their 'valley view' rooms where we stayed. Foodwise, the place is strictly okay and the staff is quite friendly.

Next time in Kodaikanal, do give this a shot. Only hitch is the 'not-so-convenient' location, but overcome this and you feel literally in the 'lap of nature'.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shom_blr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2011

The hotel looks excellent from outside, its photos on websites are impressive, the view from the rooms are great too. unfortunately, the good part stops there. Room Service is best forgotten, staff donot understand any lanuage but Tamil, food it pathetic, try avoiding it, location is pretty much way out of anywhere. The route to the hotle is a pretty narrow lane with a deep valley on one side. You have to be an excellent driver to make it to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Askalam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kodaikanal hotels

Coimbatore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

The view is excellent from the location. The hotel is not actually star rated, though they claim it to be 4*. It is difficult to reach the hotel. The only access road is very narrow. The food is unhygienic, especially, the non-vegetarian part. We fell ill after consuming it. The service is quite poor. It appears that untrained labour is manning the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Libranthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

Nice hotel with nice staff. A fantastic scenic locations awaits just outside your room balcony. Beware of travelling in off seasons as you would seldom find food on the menu in their restaurant or room service.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aamerquraishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHENNAI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2010

We never knew about this hotel.... we got a call through a travelers called (AJ INTERLINKS)(FRAUDS).......... who told us to invest money, to give us various options of summer vacations... after paying the money we, heard that they r cheating the people... so we told them to give us a stay rite away...... they gave us all far destinations..... finally we selected kodaikanal....... they booked this hotel for us... we had to spend more than wat we paid..... it is very very far from the lake........ each time, u need to spend 200 rs just for going to the main center area and 200 rs back.... so totally 400 rs to and fro.. for each visit...... since we paid the money we had no options of staying there for 7 nights... u have to get back to the hotel, before it gets dark, because the way to the hotel road is open and it does not have a fence to.... if ur cab driver misses u would go directly to the bottom of kodai..... u will loose ur life..... it is a very good place as a sucied point.......
the receptionist mr. pradeep, was named all -in -all by us....... if we call the reception he will be in the kitchen cooking.... if we call the kitchen........ he will be serving food....... there was only three staffs and we were their only guests........ it is too lonely in the nights...... it will be like a haunted place in the night....... plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz do not stay in that hotel..... i think they would have closed the hotel by now........ there was no water in the room....

THE ONLY PLUS POINT IN THAT HOTEL WAS, IT HAD A GOOD VIEW.....

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TOURISTXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hyderabad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2009

The location of the hotel is little far away from Kodai City therefore we could escape the noise and hustle of the city. The view from the hotel balcony is very beautiful I dont think anyone can get a better view from any other hotel. The food was okay but the service needs to be more prompt.

Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank goatfish9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
1.0 mi away
Kodai Sunshine Hotel
Kodai Sunshine Hotel
#33 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Carnival Resort
The Carnival Resort
#15 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Altius Nest
Altius Nest
#9 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Home
Holiday Home
#12 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Gurupriya
Hotel Gurupriya
#47 of 75 in Kodaikanal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to United-21 Resort, Kodaikanal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about United-21 Resort, Kodaikanal

Property: United-21 Resort, Kodaikanal
Address: Vilpatty Road | Pachamarathodai, Kodaikanal 624101, India (Formerly Summer Migrations)
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 75 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — United-21 Resort, Kodaikanal 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a hilltop amidst the lush green valleys of Kodaikanal, United-21 Resort offers an idyllic atmosphere, away from the hustle-bustle of the city. Most of the rooms give panoramic views of the valley. There are 2 suites designed exclusively for honeymooners. The resort is 22 km away from Palani Railway Station and is approximately half a kilometre away from Kodaikanal Bus Stand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your United-21 Resort, Kodaikanal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Migrations Hotel Kodaikanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing