We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once in a life time experience. Full recomend it.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elephant Valley Eco Farm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elephant Valley Eco Farm Hotel
Ranked #19 of 75 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Once in a life time experience. Full recomend it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Amazing setting compilmented by fantastic hospitality. We stayed in the riverside cabin and enjoyed every moment. The organic, homegrown food was exceptional as was the personalised service. Overall the staff couldn't be more accomadating or helpful. We hope to return soon. Highly recomended.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeganandNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    41
    20
    7
    16
See reviews for
52
53
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

We have spent 2 nighs 3 days @ Elephant Valley on Feb 9 to 11, 2013. We stayed in Tree house and it made us to feel the nature in a very calm as well as adventures (some times). The way from reception to tree house is about 10 mins walk through out the natural sites.... You have to cross a wooden bridge or you have to cross a running stream to reach the tree house. When we were there, the water in the stream is very less, so it was easy for us to cross the stream... but on rainy seasons the water will be too high and forcefull it seems... because the water stream flows towards a falls, where you have to have trekking for 1 to 1.5 hrs to reach the falls.

All the different types of cottages like jasmine, tent house are close to reception area. Jasmine is good for travellers with family. Veninsula or hilltop is lilttle inside the forest and better you can stay with 2 family if you are staying in these cottages. Because, sometimes elephants or bisen will come and give some noises in the near by places...

If you are deciding to stay at tree house, You may get panic by hearing lot of animal sounds.. there are changes you wll be caught by monkeys or big black forest squirrels inside tree house, as there are lot of open holes we can see in tree house. there is no proper lock inside the tree house door... So if you are dare enought to face small animals, you can stay in tree house. On our stay, we were about to face forest squirrels.. thank god it did not come inside.. If going as couple, I wont suggest to take tree house... You may not have pleasent night ;)

Food is awesome enough... i saw some comments on the food; that is not really true to their heart... And ofcourse, there wont be any service to your cottage as they have to walk for 20 to 25 mins in forest.. if you need food, you have to walk towards the restaurant....

If you have luck, you can see different variety of birds and bisen..

Caution: You can see plenty of snakes crossing on your way if your stay is at tree house, veninsula and hill top. We saw arround 3 snakes on our way.... :)

Summary is, EV is really a very nice place to spend the holiday in a very calm and naturistic way. You definitely will enjoy the stay over there.

Room Tip: For couples, honeymoon cottage For family, jasmine 1 or 2. For nature lovers, veninsula or tree ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeeram_bgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

We had been to this resort after getting fooled by the website. This resort could have been the excellent one if the management really pulls up its socks and spruces up the place.


1. This place is secluded but they have beautiful green cover and a true nature lover wouldnt miss it.

2. The cottages are very rustic and the furnitures have dust on them. The lights in the room are too dim. Also we had to change our rooms as we were allotted rooms across the waterfall. We had elders with us and it was not easy for them to walk nearly 1/2 km to reach the dining area.

3. Biggest disappointment was that this place has no Room Service. So its a pain to go to the dining hall even for morning tea/coffee. At night its very dark. So the staff has to escort you all them to save u from snakes :(

4. Its short staffed though they are very helpful. We owe a lot to their chef Anand and Swamy, who is the gardener/all in all guy who made our stay very pleasant. Anand was v gracious to cook meals according to our needs.

5. The rooms have no generators, so be prepared to light a candle.

6. The pathways to the cottages are not clean, very rustic and slippery with mud. Wish the management cleans it up.

Though it was far from what was projected, still we had some good moments . Their stable is beautiful and we had good time riding the horses in the morning. The gardener swamy took us around the vegetable garden where we could see how organic farming is done and it was indeed wonderful to see that these fruits and vegetables were used for cooking. There was a nature trek where we we went till the mountain escorted by Swamy. The walk towards a waterbody is picturesque and one gets too see many wonderful trees and flowers. Ofcourse the bonfire in the evening was wonderful !



On the whole elephant valley has good potential but not used to the fullest.

Room Tip: If you travelling with family, always ask for rooms near the reception area. Rest of the cottages ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jamie0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
220 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

I visited this place during 22-26 December, 2012. The place is easy to find once you are on Kodaikanal Ghat road, just turn towards Palani Ghat road and look for signage to locate the place. It is around 12-14 kms from Kodaikanal town.

We arrived 22nd decenber around 7pm, because we lost our way, we were late and the manager of the hotel called us to find out why we hadn't checked it and also took the dinner order. The food is decent and rates are reasonable. One could order the food and they made it to order, for example we ordered spiceless food and they delivered.

That was find on 22nd and 23rd, their christmas package kicked in on 24th as more guests arrived and all of a sudden they decided to go to a buffet model and the food quality deteriorated.

We booked the room that was on the other side of the river and basically those rooms get pretty much no service at all. It is a 15-20 mins walk to reach the reception and restaurant. The rooms on other side of the river are also not fenced so one night a group of cows with big bells in their neck kept on making noise whole night and we couldn't get any sleep at all.

The staff in the hotel is very good, always eager to help but one gets a feeling that they don't know how to really help. For example, there does not seem to be any standard on how the rooms should be cleaned. Our room had a mezzanine with a kids bed and it was full of dirt and insects.

The quality of water supplied to our room was also suspect, one day we could not take bath at all since the water was clearly yellow in color.

The place seems to have lot of promise if only run properly. We chose to go there because of our experience with the Dune in Pondicherry but this is not even a patch on Pondicherry.

All in all, a place with great potential, the staff is very nice but they are really ignorant on what to do, they go out of their way to help you with what ever you ask for.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vavasthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

We spent 3 nights at Elephant Valley last week. We loved it. We were 3 families - all with kids in the age group of 6 - 13. Whats great about the place

1. In the midst of nature nestled in a valley ( So rare to find in todays' commercial hill stations)

2. Peaceful & quiet - fresh air , lovely views

3. Large 100 acre property - lots of places to walk & see

4. A lovely stream that runs thru the property

5. Excellent service , decent homely food.

6. Rooms are rustic - Functional but do not expect luxury like a 5 star hotel

Few points to take care

1. Some rooms are very far away in the midst of the jungle - if you are scared ask for rooms near the reception

2. Tectona is the only room with 2 Bedrooms - perfect for a family of 4

For full details and pictures visit http://vak1969.com/2012/12/30/elephant-valley-kodai/

Room Tip: Ask for rooms close to Reception , Dining space. Ask for Tectona if you want two bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vak1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

The hotel in itself was not that terrible, but it was absolutely not up to the promises of the Website!

The staff was nice and tried to be helpful but there were clearly not enough employees to take care of our basic needs. Sadly it is not the only point where we could feel that the management was trying to save money at the expense of our basic comfort. One evening there were more than 20 guests for dinner and the only waiter actually had to prepare dinner for everybody and serve us also. As a result it took us more than two hours to have a couple of sandwiches which we had actually ordered right after lunch, meaning six hours earlier... It was like that all the time.

The rooms were not half as cozy as they seem on the website: darker, smaller and much much dirtier: it has not been cleaned once during the three days of our stay, not even the faeces of different animals on the bedhead. Forget about the stoves you might see on the website, they don't work.

Breakfast was absolutely not as per the menu (they promise baguette, you'll have cheap toast bought on the market), and for the other meals one third of the card is simply never available, and that's when they give you a choice and don't decide to go for an overpriced buffet!

The most iritating experience happened when the manager tried to convince us that it would take more than 6 hours to go to Coimbatore airport (it took us less 4 hours when we reached...) before he actually confessed that he just needed us to leave the room earlier than the regular check out time.

And don't expect to see elephants!

It is a shame because the nature is very nice and our experience would have been okay if the website hadn't given us false expectations!

This hotel is clearly overpriced over unkept promised, and since you have to pay 100% of the cost in advance, you kind of feel cheated in the end...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jgguillemaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed here for 3 days n 2 night, place was extremely awesome. Complete greenery everywhere, a stream next to d cottage, birds watching & other attraction. This resort is well made for nature lovers. Food is awesome & served very hygiene, staff are very co-operative n friendly. Getting connected to the resort was a tough job but worth it. I advice be careful with your children here as we spotted 2 snakes(non-poisonous), be strong enough to explore the estate & it's surroundings..

Room Tip: Peninsula is the best but quite far from the restaurant, Treehouse is also excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaush8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.0 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#4 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal
0.0 mi away
Holiday Home
Holiday Home
#12 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
GRT Nature Trails - Kodaikanal
0.0 mi away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kodai International
Hotel Kodai International
#13 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Valley Eco Farm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Valley Eco Farm Hotel

Property: Elephant Valley Eco Farm Hotel
Address: Ganesh Puram, Vilpatti | Kumpoor Vayal PO, Kodaikanal 624 104, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 75 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elephant Valley Eco Farm Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant valley is the last settlement on the border of the National Forest which extends into wildlife sanctuaries of Kerala. It is uniquely situated on an elephant migration route that is centuries old. This land and the rivers we share with local people blessed with prestigious vegetal and animal species including: native birds, leopards, deer, bison and elephants. Its remoteness allowed it to escape the ravages of 'modern' chemical agriculture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Elephant Valley Eco Farm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing