We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only view is good, rest all is horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Highland Parade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highland Parade
Ranked #61 of 75 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Pune
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Only view is good, rest all is horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

We had booked in to the resort for three nights and had paid the utility charges. We had booked for 4 adults.

It was a difficult task reaching the resort as there were no signages and the directions given by the resort were also incorrect. We finally managed to reach the resort.

Our problems started from there on. The room that the reception was alloting to us was suitable for 3 adults only. When we argued that the room is required for 4 adults the front office guys had the courage to say that you should manage. We tried calling the booking office at Pune, however since it was past 6PM the office was closed, hence no one answered the call. We called up the head office, where we were asked to call back the next day, as everyone had left for the day. Finally, we requested to speak with the manager. We could speak to her over the phone and surprisingly, the manager was of no help as well. The guys at the reception has the decency to say that we have suite rooms which can accomodate 4 adults, but the voucher we had stated one room. Is it our look out to find out what are the types of rooms / suites they have or should the booking staff look at that?

The manager and the guys at the reception wanted us to take two rooms, and pay for one room. It was a terrible experience.

While we were there for 30 minutes, we saw 5 customer coming to the reception and complaining of different things not working such as TV, Light, etc.

We did not stay there for more than 30 minutes and would suggest that do not book into this resort as the people there are real cheats and do not wish to help their customers in any way. Infact will also suggest that do not take membership with this company as the company does not respond to complaints.

Room Tip: Suggest do look for other option instead of booking into this resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SAM786Pune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    14
    8
    2
    22
See reviews for
34
22
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Theni, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

i've booked prior in this resort, i went there with my family,they told they had no idea about the reservations,the front office staffs were cheap fellows they tried to cheat us when we vacated . food -horrible,service worst , they say that they don't have adequate staffs ,than why the hell they are open ,they don't even respect for senior citizens and sick people.it was my worst stay in kodai..

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank henitkannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kodaikanal hotels

Dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

I am from Dubai, i came India for a marriage function of my cousin's daughter, after their marriage we decided to go for hang over for a weekend by near place, my friend recommend this parade hotel in kodaikanal, so we went there by 8 friends include me, we can't believe that the service and the quality as well as the location, but all is in low budget, we thanks to our friend for select a good hotel to spent our weekend in India. Thanks

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank samara_dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

Highland Holiday Homes was the superb place to stay with very nominal charges including all type of food all the time. Very neat and clean with all modern aminities. The Highland Holiday Home resort is located on a small hill & has good views around.There is a swimming pool & a Table Tennis table.Good views and the staff were quite helpful.

Room Tip: rooms on the corner of the floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeevitharani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

We went to Kodaikanal by last month as a family vacation for a week, we select the highland parade because we are member of the highland holiday homes from last four years, but we use kodaikanal resort for first time, we enjoy the location and hospitality provided by the staff but i think there is to develop the restaurant because we waited for 30 minutes for every time what we ordered and there is no buffet system (if is there then we feel more comfortable), but out of that we enjoy whole week in Kodaikanal parade hotel 100%, we wish to go again next year for the same hotel with more fun and group! thanks - Monica, Chennai 944** **332.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank monalisa143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

I stayed in Highland 12 to 14 Oct. Location is excellent. Rooms are also nice. Cleanliness and service was also good. Staff is also supportive. Very good option for enjoying nature in Holidays.

Room Tip: Take rooms towards valley side. Good view through out the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Namjoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

I have booked this hotel through "yatra.com" 3 days prior to check in. When I reached the hotel for check in, I was informed that they have no information of our booking. Later they found that it was their own miscommunication. The front-office executive had no manners how to treat the guests. After all those efforts, we managed to check in the room which continued to add the displeasure. The washroom was quite unhygienic and the linens were stinking. The kitchen and housekeeping staffs were untrained not even able to understand simple English. When asked, where is the washroom, I was answered,"what you have to wash!". Horrible!!

What they did at the end was even more frustrating. In spite of the fact that the breakfast was complementary (written in the booking confirmation voucher), they charged for it saying that they have no information!.... pathetic experience.
But yes.... the location and view was awesome.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vikash84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.4 mi away
La Flora Highland Paradise Resort
0.2 mi away
Kodai Sunshine Hotel
Kodai Sunshine Hotel
#32 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Carnival Resort
The Carnival Resort
#16 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Elephant Valley Eco Farm Hotel
1.4 mi away
TLV Resorts
TLV Resorts
#29 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
1.0 mi away
Woodlands Resort
Woodlands Resort
#62 of 75 in Kodaikanal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Parade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Parade

Property: Highland Parade
Address: Kurinji Andavar Koil Side Road | Highland Holiday Home, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highland Parade 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
View is awesome, Good Valley View Room. staff was good and they will helpful . Spacious parking. Quite place with lots of tranquility with a great view from the room itself . 24 hours electricity and hot water through electric geyser. Rooms are bigger as they are traditional. Very Reasonable Pricing. Highly recommended for anyone who like to stay in Kodaikanal very safely ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Highland Parade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Holiday Home Hotel Kodaikanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing