We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kodai Best”
Review of Highland Parade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highland Parade
Ranked #58 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
“Kodai Best”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We have a very pleasant surprise and experience.
They have good and big car parking space.Staff are very helpful.
Food was with quality and taste at the normal price.
Hotel view is very good its located on hill.
Room was clean and spacious.sunrise view is awesome.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajmal555mohammed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    14
    8
    2
    22
See reviews for
34
22
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

As the name says the hotel is situated on a high land, best for enjoying nature. We went as a couple in the first week of March and stayed in a deluxe - double valley view room for 2 days. Deluxe room was not luxury, it was of budget types. The room was neat with a small veranda and a bed room with three windows facing the valley, cultivation area and mountains. Bed and room interiors were not great and blankets provided were not able to withstand the cold, yet things can be adjusted for the price quoted and scenic beauty around. Bathroom was neat and hot water was available for 24hrs (which is not the case in most of the Kodai hotels). They took orders in advance and prepared homely food. Also, hot drinking water was available readily. The property is well maintained with car parking and kids play area facility. The big disadvantage to the hotel is that it is far off from market area and roads leading to the hotel is steep. It will be difficult to commute without a vehicle. While bachelors or tourist groups would enjoy the visit any time, families can go in season to avoid loneliness. Mr. Manoj's hospitality was worth mentioning. Since this place is surrounded by valley it was comparatively much colder and our request for an additional blanket was charged Rs25 per day. We did not face any power cut problems.
Pros - Scenic beauty
Cons - Distance from market area. Vehicle is necessary.

Room Tip: Deluxe double view rooms on first floor has direct valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MadhuVasanth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I was bit skeptical about choosing this one due to negative review, but comments about view made me do this.To my surprise;
Up on email/telephonic request Mr Manu confirmed my booking. From check-in to check-out proper assistance was provided.Clean rooms with breathtaking view, Spacious bedroom, living room,private balcony and small garden in front....best place for honeymooners and night-out parties LOUD MUSIC. Nice landscape provide private moments.

Food was good, quantity/quality,have provided feedback regarding taste... from then got fixed.

As normal budget hotels, room heaters are charged Rs450 / 12hrs, 24hrs hot water, Tv (need improvement in channel choice), toilet was clean.

Good travel assistance

Room Tip: choose rooms with private balcony room #111 and 112
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sab_Backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The room was unclean.There was a frog in the batrhroom.The bathroom was filled with so much of dust that your would turn brown if u touch nything.The blanket had a huge hole.Food was pathetic.The service was aweful.The hotel kept me waiting 1 hr for the bill.Then they wrote the bill through hand.I had booked a room for 3 people .They asked to pay me for the blanket separately for third person.Then what are the booking charges are for.No hot water.No proper management.This is the worst experience of my life.

Room Tip: Please appoint a new manager.And please noone should book this hotel.i couldnt take bath for two day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Abhishek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kodaikanal hotels

Calicut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The location of Highland Parade offers a good view of the valley. The estate offers good rooms and play area for children. The resort is badly maintained. We had problems with availability of Hot Water. It seems they check the equipments only when guests arrive. We had to ask for a change of room after checking in. But in the new room also there was no hot water in the wash. Also they don't offer room heater which is absolutely necessary in December.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Jay67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We went on holiday to kodaikanal in 2nd week of November'13. We were given this hotel by DAElive for 3 nights stay. This is THE WORST hotel we have ever stayed in.
1) The place is away from mall road so if you do not have your own vehicle you can not leave the hotel for any damn reason. you need to call a cab each time (Rs400 to and from for market place each time). The road to hotel is not as such you can walk down easily.
2) The hotel manager is a bit rude and the other staff is ONLY tamil speaking. Being a non tamilian conversing with staff was like playing dumb shall act. The max English they know is Yes and No!
3) They have kept a exhaustive menu card for guests to order food from the restaurant. However the only thing available for lunch/dinner is Sambar and Rice!! Tea coffee bread is available but it takes at least 45 min to have 2 cup of tea :(
When we were there the weather wasn't good so we could not go out for lunch/dinner. And since the hotel couldn't provide anything else we had to order from outside.
4) The rooms are very poorly maintained and gloomy. The furniture is in torn state. The hot water dosnt stay hot for more than 5 min. Hotel people don't provide basic stuff like napkins, bathroom soaps. If you ask them they say its not their policy!
5) Power cut is very common. They do have generator, however if power cut happens at night (11pm to 6am) the generators will not be used as its costly for them. We had infant with us. With outside temperature low like 9C and no power in room it was soooo cold and uncomfortable for us to sleep at night. They do provide a heater @rate of Rs 450 for 12 hrs. But if theres no power at night whats the use of paying Rs 450.
6) The view from hotel is good though. But with all facts mentioned above the view hardly matters.

If you do not want to spoil your trip please do not choose this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viren_pun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagercoil, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in Honeymoon Suite Room.The hotel Was very nice.
Hotel facilities was good. Food was excellent. they have very good Hospitality.
Well the location is very good..the garden is huge and you can have a photo sesion out there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AravindFSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
1.0 mi away
Woodlands Resort
Woodlands Resort
#64 of 76 in Kodaikanal
39 reviews
1.4 mi away
Goldan Parks Inn
Goldan Parks Inn
#47 of 76 in Kodaikanal
43 reviews
1.4 mi away
TLV Resorts
TLV Resorts
#22 of 76 in Kodaikanal
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Home
Holiday Home
#15 of 76 in Kodaikanal
188 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal
0.4 mi away
La Flora Highland Paradise Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Parade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Parade

Property: Highland Parade
Address: Kurinji Andavar Koil Side Road | Highland Holiday Home, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highland Parade 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
View is awesome, Good Valley View Room. staff was good and they will helpful . Spacious parking. Quite place with lots of tranquility with a great view from the room itself . 24 hours electricity and hot water through electric geyser. Rooms are bigger as they are traditional. Very Reasonable Pricing. Highly recommended for anyone who like to stay in Kodaikanal very safely ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Highland Parade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Holiday Home Hotel Kodaikanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing