We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good wide spread landscape and good view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kodai - By The Valley, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #11 of 81 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

the Valley view is a good stay for people who had planned for 2 days stay in KQN. Beautiful flowers and a good property spreaded over 6 acres,very friendly staff but the rooms needs renovation to match the other higher starred hotels near the lake. The property needs maintenance, as the rooms carpets are worn out and house flies are in plenty.
Their rooms are to be renovated from last week June, hope then that the resort will become a better place.

Room Tip: The suite bedroom provides a kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happygoluckyBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 513 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

After much deliberation on choice of spot of holiday; my family ( would include my in-laws ) zeroed down to Kodaikanal. My wife's uncle is a Sterling Resorts member and very kindly extended his timeshare of a week to us.

My family and in-laws reached 4 days before me and conveyed that everything was alright.

I reached in very tiring circumstances, though. But was happy to see that staff was courteous and was wiling to help in all that was required for my short stay.

Meanwhile I also learnt that they host evening entertainment and have good facilities for games and recreation. Since I was not much in state to participate; chose to spend time indoors and later indulged in half day's visit to nearby places. Hence, I cannot elaborate much.

Nonetheless, kudos to the Valley View team. Good Job.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Techno_Savvy2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Been there for 2 days with family. It was raining and chilling. A totally different experience. First time to Kodai. Valley is filled with clouds. Infact, before we checked in, we have inquired whether they have ac rooms. The rooms do not need fans or ac, it is so chilling. We also used the room heaters. The location and the ambiance, the design is so good. They have lot of plays for the children and families in the evenings.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SVSatya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Nothing to rate, not worth to recommend. Used bed sheets given to us, totally untidy. Pest control done as lots of fly's roaming around freely as free package. Fan regulator adjusted with the help of maintenance person. if u go early for dinner then u will get entire dish otherwise forget it. Hotel staff will tell u it will be refilled, but never happens. If u r non member think before u spend.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank shaju c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The rooms are not at all clean. there are 10 renovated guest rooms. If you get any of them you are lucky. they are excellent. I stayed one night in the old rooms and after much pressure changed to the renovated rooms. till it is wholly renovated don't go there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank CoimbatoreVas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Poor Service. Dirty rooms. Stinking odour all over the resort. Breakfast served at a place where hygiene is at bay. Room is uncomfortably small, room was neither cleaned nor bed linen was changed. Horrible experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sivakumar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Kodai - By The Valley, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays!

We are deeply concerned about your experience at Kodai - Valley View.
We have taken note of the concerns shared by you regarding rooms, service, and housekeeping and have shared your feedback with the Resort Management Team at our corporate office.

At Sterling, we strive to deliver the best possible experiences to our members and guests. We regret the fact that your experience at Kodai – Valley View didn’t live up to the standards we are delivering. We request you to consider it as an unfortunate exception and give as another opportunity to serve you better by visiting any one of our resorts.

We assure you that next time, you will not be disappointed.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I with family members have been at kodai valleyview on 28th and 29th April 2014. Being a member I am not informed the complimentary offer on that month. But I got information from the public. We are provided studio apartments on the topside. Very bad ambience around. Bad Smell all around. Bedroom and Bathroom very poorly maintained. Staff find not interested in servicing at this block and are giving misleading informations. The reception people are also not cordial, one tall guy in charge speaks like a goonda. The breakfast package very worthy but the dinner not upto the mark without any choice of non veg dishes. The food in charge while having food questioning family members to which guest you belongs which is a insult. The road which leads to the resort is very fine now. Good resort but poorly maintained, poor management and services.

Room Tip: Better book twin share downside or regular opposite food and leisure area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sumanair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
2.7 mi away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
2.5 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#6 of 81 in Kodaikanal
686 reviews
0.6 mi away
Great Trails Kodaikanal By GRT Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Carlton
The Carlton
#9 of 81 in Kodaikanal
591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hill Country Kodaikanal
Hill Country Kodaikanal
#18 of 81 in Kodaikanal
396 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Poshe by Sparsa
Le Poshe by Sparsa
#2 of 81 in Kodaikanal
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kodai - By The Valley, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kodai - By The Valley, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Address: Attuvampatti Pallangi Road | Villapatti, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range: £38 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kodai - By The Valley, A Sterling Holidays Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Holidays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Kodai - By The Valley, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Hoiidays Valley View, Kodaikanal Hotel Kodaikanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing