We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid guest rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kodai - By The Valley, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #11 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“Avoid guest rooms”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My first trip as sterling member, I am really unsatisfied with the quality of room given to me and my family. Used bed sheets given to us, totally untidy. No Pest control done as lots of fly's roaming around freely in our room, if u go early for lunch then u will get entire dish otherwise all are empty, Hotel staff will tell u it will be refilled, but never happens.

Room Tip: Avoid old guest rooms near the dining area .,I guess rooms bw 400-420
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SijilSalim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    163
    55
    39
    27
See reviews for
292
92
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

we stayed at valley view in one bhk apt .the room was very spacious with TV,kitchen net ,dinning and sofa cum bed in the ground floor and five steps leading to the bath and bed room. There was a sit out with lovely flowers n trees.the kitchen net consisted of kettle n microwave .we had taken popcorn packets which we made there and also used the fridge to stock water and soft drinks.the room service was good and so was the cleanliness staff.mr triloknath at the help desk helped us with our taxi bookings and was very friendly.we faced no problem at all and had a wonderful time in the hotel where we stayed for 4 days.we made a day trip to Kodaikanal town as this place is far from the tow and also visited the meenakshi temple .on our way up the hill to the hotel at 10p.m we spotted two bisons.on the whole a must visit place for complete relaxation and family time.

Room Tip: Please confirm and reconfirm your arrival status and insist on a good room before you land there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashok7171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

the Valley view is a good stay for people who had planned for 2 days stay in KQN. Beautiful flowers and a good property spreaded over 6 acres,very friendly staff but the rooms needs renovation to match the other higher starred hotels near the lake. The property needs maintenance, as the rooms carpets are worn out and house flies are in plenty.
Their rooms are to be renovated from last week June, hope then that the resort will become a better place.

Room Tip: The suite bedroom provides a kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happygoluckyBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

After much deliberation on choice of spot of holiday; my family ( would include my in-laws ) zeroed down to Kodaikanal. My wife's uncle is a Sterling Resorts member and very kindly extended his timeshare of a week to us.

My family and in-laws reached 4 days before me and conveyed that everything was alright.

I reached in very tiring circumstances, though. But was happy to see that staff was courteous and was wiling to help in all that was required for my short stay.

Meanwhile I also learnt that they host evening entertainment and have good facilities for games and recreation. Since I was not much in state to participate; chose to spend time indoors and later indulged in half day's visit to nearby places. Hence, I cannot elaborate much.

Nonetheless, kudos to the Valley View team. Good Job.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Techno_Savvy2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Been there for 2 days with family. It was raining and chilling. A totally different experience. First time to Kodai. Valley is filled with clouds. Infact, before we checked in, we have inquired whether they have ac rooms. The rooms do not need fans or ac, it is so chilling. We also used the room heaters. The location and the ambiance, the design is so good. They have lot of plays for the children and families in the evenings.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SVSatya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Nothing to rate, not worth to recommend. Used bed sheets given to us, totally untidy. Pest control done as lots of fly's roaming around freely as free package. Fan regulator adjusted with the help of maintenance person. if u go early for dinner then u will get entire dish otherwise forget it. Hotel staff will tell u it will be refilled, but never happens. If u r non member think before u spend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank shaju c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coimbatore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The rooms are not at all clean. there are 10 renovated guest rooms. If you get any of them you are lucky. they are excellent. I stayed one night in the old rooms and after much pressure changed to the renovated rooms. till it is wholly renovated don't go there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank CoimbatoreVas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
2.7 mi away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
2.5 mi away
Villa Retreat
Villa Retreat
#1 of 76 in Kodaikanal
1,135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Carlton
The Carlton
#9 of 76 in Kodaikanal
527 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#6 of 76 in Kodaikanal
659 reviews
0.6 mi away
Great Trails Kodaikanal By GRT Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kodai - By The Valley, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kodai - By The Valley, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Kodai - By The Valley, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: Pallangi Road | Villapatti, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kodai - By The Valley, A Sterling Holidays Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Holidays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kodai - By The Valley, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Hoiidays Valley View, Kodaikanal Hotel Kodaikanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing