We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK place to stay”
Review of Hotel Bala

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bala
Ranked #61 of 78 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Reviewed 30 May 2009

Looked through various sites and then zeroed in on Hotel Bala.
First the negatives - (a) The much hyped Kavibala restaurant is a damp squib. Limited choices. Moreover it closes at 9 pm. (b) No bar - in case you want to relax in the evening (c) They seem to have a limited staff. Room service guys also do the house keeping. (d) Travel desk was unmanned during my entire stay.

Now the positives - (a) Rooms are quite spacious and reasonably clean. (b) The best part is that it is located in the heart of Kodai and just opposite the bus stand.

Hence those who want to do sight seeing in Kodai can stay at Bala. There are travel agencies in the next building - Rs. 150 per seat in the bus. Good restaurants - Pizza Corner, Rasoi etc are next door and you can also bring parcel to your room. There is also a wine shop just 2 minutes walk from the hotel.

Stayed: May 2009
Thank anandccs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 27 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2009

We have returned from Kodai just two weeks back. The trip turned out to be very good, and I guess the credit goes to the Hotel-Bala team who made us feel comfortable. The room service was excellent, and to my surprise, all the folks at the lobby, and the folks coming for room service were nice and warm. They have opened their restaurant service on Apr 11th 2009, and the food was also excellent. There were looong delays in the restaurant, and hopefully, this issue will get rectified soon. The food is much better at Bala, compared to the hotels in the neighborhood - including Astoria (reasonably good food), Annapoorna (horrible, don't dare to go there anytime of the day/month/year), and Punjabi Dhabha (somewhat okay). I would definitely recommend Hotel-Bala to others.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RB1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2008

We stayed here on 14th July 2008. The tariff was 1350 rupees per night for a family room. The beds and furniture were good.
But one thing we noticed was THERE ARE NO FANS IN THE ROOM. Kodaikanal is not exactly mild weather , not in July anyway.

Another major issue was the quality of the water in the bathroom. It is dark brown in colour!!! Yew!!!

There is no restaurant attached which means you have to either go outside for every meal or get room service to buy it for you and then pay tips to them.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank blowhole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2008

its near the bus stand and has all the basic amenities including 24 hrs hot water. One person who made the difference is the front desk manager Mr radhakrishna. he made all the possible arrangement be it sight seeing etc. The room service is good and is worth all the money u spend here. just be in touch with radhakrishna if u want to go here. lot of restaurents around.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sumirays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel JC Grand
Hotel JC Grand
#66 of 78 in Kodaikanal
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
RR Residency
RR Residency
#27 of 78 in Kodaikanal
65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#24 of 78 in Kodaikanal
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#5 of 78 in Kodaikanal
679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Stay
Hotel Pleasant Stay
#47 of 78 in Kodaikanal
86 reviews
0.9 mi away
Treebo Altius Nest
Treebo Altius Nest
#8 of 78 in Kodaikanal
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bala

Address: 11/49 Woodville Road | Opp.Central Bus Stand, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 78 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range: £14 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bala 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Bala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bala Hotel Kodaikanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing