We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but...”
Review of Tony's Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tony's Place
Ranked #24 of 79 Ayutthaya B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 February 2012

....men at work!! I stayed there one night, nice big clean wooden bedroom, lovely bar (and also one of the few around) but in the morning I have been awaken by some workers about at 8

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voyageuse_DuMonde83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2012

Dirty rooms with geko poo on the floor , mirror and sink filthy , fridge Filthy , staff hassling you to leave the room by 11 even when checking out is at 12 , noisy outside till all hours , people shouting within hotel till 4:30 without staff intervention and Mosquitos everywhere. Needs a good clean , it's a joke of a b an b ! The owner should be ashamed.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spacemanBkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We wanted to be sure that we will get a room at Tony's, so we called this place a day in advance and booked a room, which was supposed to be kept for us till noon the next day.

When we arrived next morning, we were met by some bald guy, who claimed to be a manager. In an extremely rude and arrogant manner, at first he denied ever speaking to us, than gave some cheesy explanation that there is someone else who answers the phone there, but that person made no notes of our booking, etc. We tried to explain the whole situation, but he did not want to listen and in the end said that he does not care what we do or say and we should look somewhere else. The funniest thing was that all the time he was waving his hands in the air like some kind of a movie character, clearly posing as a very busy and important guy.

Finally we found a place a bit further on the other side of the street (Toto guesthouse), which was not only cheaper but also clean and quiet and with a free fast wifi.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank EmilyW_xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Every staff member is excellent, well-trained and friendly. The food is good, including excellent coffee, great fruit shakes and smoothies cold beer, and meals, too. The staff do all the work in arranging tours, rentals, train tickets, etc. We did the evening boat tour around the island city, an inner city tour and had our train tickets reserved, picked up, delivered and had a tuk-tuk available in the morning at 6:30 AM for the train. Special mention has to be made of Vin and Sa. Vin organizes anything. He's fantastic. Sa is Miss Efficiency. She handles everything with ease and makes it look so easy. What a personality, too. We will be going back there for another day or 2 after having left our bags there for a 3-day side trip.

Room Tip: There is a small amount of thump-thump from music at night but not worth considering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waywright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

When we arrived in Ayutthaya we didn't know exactly what to expect from the accomodations and when we got in front of Tony's we asked a couple leaving the place how was it. The answer was "it's ok, but just cold shower".
Well, after a while, we're used to it so we decided to give it a try. The staff isn't that welcoming or helpful, actually, but the room we obtained was big and clean, although the sliding windows were not sliding/opening at all.
The bathroom, opposite to the room on the other side of the corridor, was really simple and made of plain wood. One could easily see through from the right position standing outside and the only thing to close the doors from the inside was a stick. It's almost like a beach-shower and when it's windy or simply cloudy it can get cold in there, specially when you're wet.
Besides that, the restaurant seems a good place where to meet other travellers and food looks delicious, even though we went for the budget option eating at the local markets.
They also have AC Rooms with private bathroom which are probably better but definitely more expensive (we got 200baht for a double with fan and shared wc).
One can rent bicycles/scooters at the travel agency in front of the guesthouse which are fundamental for the sightseeing around Ayutthaya.
Don't book bus/train tickets from the hotels or travel agencies unless you want to pay twice the regular fee. Go straight to the stations for that. Even the North-bound bus terminal is reachable with a 20min bicycle ride.

Room Tip: Room n° 35 has a problem with the sliding windows and there's an annoying machine-like noise dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Thought it would be a Thai Boxing camp from the sounds of the place. Turned out to be a stunning wooden Thai house. Located in the middle of town, very close to a local fresh market.

The room was one and a half floor. Beautiful furnished with antique wooden dressing table, wooden crafted bench, and two kings sized beds that you can jump around.

A bit too loud with the cheesy music at night!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dearsaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Bar is very relaxed and fun serving OK food. The restaurant opposite has slightly better food though.
The staff are friendly and useful and can book tours around the city.
Haggle for you room, you will get a good deal if you try!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayutthaya hotels
0.6 mi away
Krungsri River Hotel
Krungsri River Hotel
#4 of 17 in Ayutthaya
586 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baan Baimai Boutique Room
Baan Baimai Boutique Room
#7 of 79 in Ayutthaya
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
P.U. Inn Resort
P.U. Inn Resort
#29 of 79 in Ayutthaya
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Niwas Ayutthaya
Niwas Ayutthaya
#12 of 79 in Ayutthaya
176 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baan Tebpitak
Baan Tebpitak
#6 of 79 in Ayutthaya
294 reviews
1.8 mi away
iuDia
iuDia
#2 of 79 in Ayutthaya
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tony's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tony's Place

Address: 12/18 Naresuan Road Soi 1, Ayutthaya 13000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Ayutthaya Province > Ayutthaya
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Ayutthaya
Price Range: £15 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tony's Place 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Tony's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tony`s Place Hotel Ayutthaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing