We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Ayutthaya
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The room is fully furnished with kitchen, dining table, living room etc. I find that the room is cozy and clean like my home. There is also an executive lounge available in the 16th floor where you can have free wifi and also enjoy a cup of coffee and some nice cookies or pastry there. It is good if there are free wifi in the room too.

Room Tip: Request for a quiet room to avoid noise from the main road.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CBKok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear CBKok,

Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya is elated to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide all of our guests with the most pleasant experience possible and we are proud to know that our services met your expectations.
Thank you for writing such a glowing review. We hope to have the opportunity to see and serve you again.

Sincerely Yours,

General Manager,
Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
There are newer reviews for Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were looking forward to staying here as we had had pleasant experiences with this group in Bangkok and Chiang Mai. At the Kantary Hills in Chang Mai, the cleanliness was impeccable, the maintenance was spot on and the restaurant was excellent with separate western, Asian and vegetarian menus.

The lobby area in the Ayutthaya hotel is initially impressive, but a closer inspection reveals its worn aspects. Water was dripping from the ceiling onto the seat I was sitting in. We noticed a laxness in both cleaning and maintenance.

We were “upgraded” to a penthouse on the top floor. There is no cooling in the corridor (not sure if the other floors are the same) and the staff turn off the A/C in the apartment during the day. The one-bedroom apartment was okay, but the fixtures and fittings were nothing special.

The breakfast buffet was highly Japanese and was mostly meat dishes. I do not like cooked meat dishes for breakfast and was really struggling to find something to eat. The selection is limited – only two choices of fruit, a few cereals, bread and pastries. I had fried eggs, but no baked beans or hash browns to accompany them; there are plenty of sausages though.

The biggest problem was as follows - We arrived on a Wednesday evening after a long drive. We were tired and wanted a quick reasonable meal. First hassle - We were informed that it was buffet night and we could not order from the menu. None of this is mentioned on the website. This was the first time in our 40 plus years of travelling that this situation has arisen. Moreover, it was a steak buffet. My wife is a vegetarian and I did not want a huge buffet meal. The waitress acquiesced to our request to order from the menu and then wanted us to sit in the corner so we would not be seen by the other diners! After this further insult, we were forced to speak to the restaurant/ duty manager. Finally, we ordered the dishes that we wished.

Friday night is salad bar night. Did they force everyone to be a vegetarian, no, rather they offered the salad bar free if you ordered a steak!

Since this is a serviced apartment with a kitchen and washing machine, I would have expected some laundry powder and detergent/sponge/dishcloth for the kitchen. Alas, these are not provided. They do sell a bottle (overpriced?) of liquid clothes washing detergent enough for 20 plus washes in the minishop, located in the restaurant.

Free wifi is only available in the lobby and the lounge. In your room you have to pay for it. Why? In this day and age wifi access should be standard. After all the hotel has wifi installed. Whether you use it or not, it is still there. The hotel has a swimming pool, gym and sauna, I did not use them. Do you pay extra for them, so why not wifi?

Room Tip: See if you can get a room away from the road - six lane road with access roads on either side.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MisterN52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

The Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya, has shared your disappointment, with our team, in our continuing effort to provide enjoyable and pleasant stays for all of our guests, short term or long term, all the time. Please feel free to directly contact me: gm@kantaryhotel-ayutthaya.com The Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya, looks forward to correcting the disappointments you had and hopes to welcome you back again. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The hotel is one of the best I have seen in Ayutthaya, it feels like a home, It's value for money.
We will stay back in the same hotel if we visit Ayutthaya again.The hotel will arrange a tuk-tuk to take you around for 200 baht per hour

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

The Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya, is pleased to know you will be back again, and we hope soon, for another stay with us in Ayutthaya. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We were in Ayutthaya to celebrate Buddhism and visit some of the UNESCO sites. This hotel was great - it gave us a clean room, hot water and cold air-conditioning after our bus ride.

Fabulous.

We swam in the pool upstairs next with a view over Ayutthaya and then tried the Hot Jacuzzi - we did see a gym but that was not for us.

Then the next day was a big selection of foods for breakfast and there was so much to choose from that I didn't need to have lunch! We picked up a local Tuk Tuk outside and he took us to the 9 temples.

We would stay at this property again to visit the temples from here AND there was a coffee shop next door :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timinphuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

The Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya, is pleased to have met your expectations, thanks you for your informative feedback which should be useful to others visiting the old Capital City for sightseeing and study, and looks forward to seeing and serving you again soon. Thank you for your observations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We selected this hotel on the basis that it was just somewhere to sleep on the one night we were based in Ayutthaya, but it was far better than we imagined.
They upgraded us on arrival to a penthouse suite, which was a two story suite with a mezzanine bedroom so perfect for shutting out noise from the nearby motorway.
The room was enormous and decor was very modern and stylish. The staff were always eager to help, and helped us hire a tuk tuk to take us round the major tourist attractions which was a great way to see as much as you could in such a limited time.
The rooftop pool was lovely, and the food at the onsite restaurant was perfectly acceptable, with lots of breakfast options.
It was a great surprise that this hotel was as good as it was, especially considering how little we paid.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

The Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya, is pleased to have met your expectations, thanks you for your positive endorsement, and looks forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is primarily a business traveler's hotel. The spacious, nicely decorated rooms are really more like suites, with kitchen, dishes, etc. There is a library, stocked with books, magazines, coffee maker and snacks, which was being used by business travelers. The hotel is obviously set up for longer-stay guests, and is on a highway with not much else around. The food is acceptable but nothing special. The pool area is nice and the Jacuzzi is a big plus, though the entire pool area is dangerously slippery.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molemaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

The Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya, thanks you for your observations and hopes to welcome you back again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The word maintenance doesn't seem to be in the thai vocabulary. This hotel however has excellence written all over it. From no chipped stairs, beautifully maintained grounds and driveway to superb attention to detail in the long stay suites. No chipped dishes, decent knives, shiny cookware, good TVs. The pool area is beautiful, with no rusty iron (always a problem in a jungle climate) and we super appreciated the Jacuzzi. Only downside is the tiles around the pool is very slippery. Breakfast buffet was very good with chocolate croissants, and a made to order omelet station. The gelato was delish I recommend the passion fruit. Location was a bit of a distance from UNESCO sites and/or boat tours. You could not walk or bicycle to any of the sites. Hotel does provide TukTuks on a fairly limited schedule.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomeAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

The Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya, is pleased to have your descriptive commentary after your recent visit with us in Ayutthaya. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayutthaya hotels
0.9 mi away
Classic Kameo Hotel & Serviced Apartments Ayutthaya
3.3 mi away
Sala Ayutthaya
Sala Ayutthaya
#1 of 17 in Ayutthaya
330 reviews
1.7 mi away
Krungsri River Hotel
Krungsri River Hotel
#4 of 17 in Ayutthaya
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
At Ayutthaya Hotel
At Ayutthaya Hotel
#6 of 17 in Ayutthaya
6 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vasana Design Hotel
Vasana Design Hotel
#5 of 17 in Ayutthaya
4 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Cavalli Casa Resort
The Cavalli Casa Resort
#9 of 17 in Ayutthaya
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya

Address: 168 Moo1 Rojana Road | Tambol Tanu, Aumphur U-Thai, Ayutthaya, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Ayutthaya Province > Ayutthaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Ayutthaya
Price Range: £56 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finally Ayutthaya has a hotel befitting to the splendor of Thailand’s ancient capital city! Ayutthaya has long been recognized as both a center for Thai culture and history as well as a bustling commercial area, close to Bangkok and many major industrial estates. This mix of culture and commerce brings a diverse range of tourists and business people to the area. Whilst many of Ayutthaya’s hotels and serviced apartments cater to these two markets, no one property is yet to offer the level of service and range of facilities, all in a central location and with a brand name that can be trusted, to truly satisfy their needs. This is all about to change with the opening of the Kantary Hotel and Serviced Apartments, Ayutthaya. This stunning, intelligently designed and ideally located hotel and serviced apartment has set the standard for truly exceptional accommodation in Ayutthaya. A part of the world renowned Kantary Hotel and Serviced Apartment Group, Kantary Hotel Ayutthaya will offer both the business traveler and tourist alike the level of service, range of facilities, standard and size of room and location that they deserve, all at a competitive price. So whether you are coming to Ayutthaya for business or pleasure, for a short holiday or an extended business trip, the Kantary Hotel and Serviced Apartments are your first and best choice for accommodation. Suitable for both long and short term stays. A part of the Kantary Hotel and Serviced Apartment Group…….. The Best Choice in the Best Locations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya Hotel Ayutthaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing