We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
4
5
2
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
4
5
2
0
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2011

The location of Banbua House 2 is to the south of the city. If you want nightlife then this place is not your place - neither is Ayutthaya really! Our tuk tuk driver had difficulty finding this place from the train station, which never helps when arriving in a new place. The location is quiet, just off the main road and is in walking distance of all the temples. You can walk to the town if you don't mind walking for about an hour on dusty roads. The guest house does hire out bikes, this is a great option. There is a restaurant a few doors down with one English menu. We ate here once and found the staff to be accommodating despite the language barrier and the food was good. It is right on the river so there are some great views and photo opportunities.

Our room was ok at Banbua House. Renovations were taking place while we were there so the standard should be better in the future. Our room felt like it had been tacked onto the side of an existing room. Part of the wall was made with planks of wood... It was clean and homely with a tv (only local channels), a sofa and a small en-suite. Tea and coffee were included if you could find a cup and/or a tea bag. No breakfast was on offer here which was disappointing to the lack of eateries nearby.

The staff here are really friendly and will do what they can to assist and make you feel welcome. One lady even told a tuk-tuk driver off for picking us up late to go to the train station!

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mlinaqetu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 May 2010

I have nothing but good things to say about this place! It is not a party place, but a smaller, quiet, homestay-style accomodation choice. Great place for a solo traveler or a family. The family who runs it was incredibly hospitable. Several of them speak English and all went out of their way to make sure I was comfortable. They answered any random questions I had. The room was basic but air-conditioned, clean and spacious, with TV and free water. There is also free coffee, a common fridge and internet downstairs.

There is a historical park with ancient ruins right across the road. And on the other side, an amazing view of Ayuttaya's famous ruins just across the river. It backs out onto the river and there is a terrace where you can relax and watch the boats go by. Quite romantic at night.

Location-wise, the guesthouse is somewhat out of the way, not in a tourist area. But that was no problem, since most travelers take tuk-tuks everywhere.

Just be sure to bring your own snacks, as there are no eateries nearby.

Would definitely come back!

Date of stay: December 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sunseek85
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 April 2010

Banbua House 2 is lovely. It's right by the river with some lovely views and the people who own/run it are very helpful.
The rooms are a wonderful size and always had good nights sleep. The aircon in our room wasn't very strong but we didn't mind and didn't mention anything. Within 20mins the owner brought up a fantastically strong fan for us to use :)

Cannot find a single bad thing to say about this guesthouse, the only slight issue was location. It was a bit out of the way as we discovered trying to walk to the centre, as it's a bit south near the hospital. There are however plenty of tuk tuks and songthaews for your use - we hired a motorbike.

Directly opposite the guesthouse are some lovely ruins which are very much like Angkor. Thoroughly enjoyed my time here.

Oh! And free tea/coffee :D

Date of stay: April 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank little_legsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 January 2017
Google Translation

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 March 2016
Google Translation

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews