We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting History”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ayutthaya Ruins

Ayutthaya Ruins
Book In Advance
More Info
US$119.81*
and up
Bangkok to Ayutthaya by Road Bicycle
Ranked #4 of 68 things to do in Ayutthaya
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toyohashi, Japan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Interesting History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

This is a good place to visit if you're interested in historical places in Thailand. I definitely recommend reading up on this city and it's history before you visit, otherwise you might just feel kind of lost. I took a tuk-tuk around for 3 hours and paid B600 by myself. If you're savvy, maybe you can end up paying less. 3 hours was enough for me. It really depends on your level of interest. Some people spend a day or 2 there, bicycling around. Also, it's about an hour train ride from Bangkok.

Helpful?
Thank Sassafrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    627
    347
    75
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
431 reviews
180 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Good vibes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This was our third visit to Old Sukothai and we still ove it a lot. I'm not into new age, but this is one of the places on earth where some underground good-vibe stream must cross. The place is peacefull and restfull and it's great to cycle around between the ruins for a half or full day. Make sure you get a reasonable bike, as the stuff that's rented out around the park is mostly rubbish.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hansje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gald to be here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I couldn't remember how many temple I had visit and names of those. Each has different style and it's unique architecture. Also some of the ruin didn't have signs to explain its history. I was glad to be able to see these beautiful ruin and temple, very unique.

Once in my live time, worth every breath!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xi'n
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

A great place to explore and take some good pictures. We visited this as par of a half day tour , which was really worth t.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank BP9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Asian ancient Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Spectacular remains of old Siam's capital. You can still see the black sooty scorch marks when the Burmese army destroyed and burned the place to the ground in the 1300s. This has to be Asia's version of ancient Rome. I recommend you stay at least 3 to 4 days in order to see everything. There are great photo opportunities, but get there early (day break is perfect to capture the sun rise over the ruins), to avoid getting a group of tourists in your shots. Also bring a hat, some water and sunscreen - absolutely essential - I got burned to a crisp, and had to stay in my hotel room recovering for a whole day (wasted photo opportunities).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ayutthaya Ruins also viewed

Ayutthaya, Ayutthaya Province
Ayutthaya, Ayutthaya Province
 
Ayutthaya, Ayutthaya Province
Ayutthaya, Ayutthaya Province
 

Been to Ayutthaya Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing