We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freezing at night, location alright”
Review of Niwas Ayutthaya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Niwas Ayutthaya
Ranked #12 of 74 Ayutthaya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Freezing at night, location alright”
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Quite an alright place. The bungalows are very nice and there is a good massage salon next door. The poor rating is due to unfriendly even rude staff! And that in thailand! The landlord simply refused to supply blankets during the cold nights. Sorry was his attempt to convince us that the big towels were thai blankets. I do not recommand this place, as thailand has much better places to stay.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CrisBadea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    70
    33
    8
    5
See reviews for
13
87
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The actual guest house where I stayed (they also have outside bungalows but they were full on my visit) has very basic rooms, they are literally just a place to sleep, but for this they will do fine. The room has just a bed and a cabinet, but fan, air-con and a mosquito net. Even the toilet is outside, but you won't have to wait for it. The good thing is that you can hang out in the guest house out on the terrace balcony or in the garden. It would be great if you are with a lot of friends or even looking to meet up with other travellers. There are loads of hang out spots, it is very homely.

The building is a little bit rough round the edges, some door numbers fallen off, shower that doesn't look, very small toilet (you'll need to duck if you are tall!) but these are all quite trivial given the cheap price. Location is also perfect.

The owners seem a little hostile but give them a chance because actually they are extremely helpful.

In summary I would definitely come back to this place again and I would definitely recommend it.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank MsDeeChiangMai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The rooms were very basic but it was ok for that price(250THB). The mattresses were very very soft. Sleeping like in a hammock. The shared bathrooms were clean but the toilet-room was too small. Not easy to get out, if you are taller than 1,70m. You can rent bikes or motorbikes directly at the guesthouse. It is the best way to explore Ayutthaya.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Pro: airco and fan in room, not to busy, good location, BIGGG towels, free wifi, no barking dogs.
Con: staff okey but not super helpfull/friendly, no place to put your stuff in shower, wifi not always strong.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JelskeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belper, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The Baan Suan Guesthouse is a lovely setting and the accommodation in the main building is basic - fine for budget travellers who don't mind putting their stuff all over the floor.
A few of the other minor gripes we had included: the mattress having springs digging in our backs during the night, no blanket (although a massive towel - maybe this was it?!), no real space to put bags (wardrobe granted but no coat hangers or shelves) so the room literally looked like a bomb had hit it, the toilet was very compact (we are not the tallest but knees touching chin is not the most comfortable), a mosquito net with holes in, and as long as you are fine with cold showers, the indoor rooms are fine (which it does state on the website) so no issues there.
I can see others' feelings about the owner not being friendly but he was fine, more a speak when spoken to kind of guy.
The guesthouse rent bikes which is a nice touch and as said, fine for budget accommodation!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roblund3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeuwarden, Friesland, Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed her in august 23 and 24, 2013. The guesthouse has a good location, it’s in the middle of the town near the first temples. A friendly owner who wants to help you with everything. We rent our bikes for 50 Bath each and had a Thai massage next door. The rooms have AC and a big twin bed + mosquito net. We had to share our bathroom but never had to wait course it was not crowded. We pay 350 Bath per night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maarten_Nijboer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grobbendonk, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed in a bungalow and not in the main building. The bungalow is very beautiful, all what you need, nice bathroom, good bed with mosquito net, tv, everything is clean. The owner firstly looks a bit uninterested but when asking questions he really helps. The location is perfect, located near the old temples in the city center. The night market is close by, perfect. You can also rent bikes at the guesthouse, for the same price as in other places.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayutthaya hotels
1.6 mi away
Sala Ayutthaya
Sala Ayutthaya
#1 of 17 in Ayutthaya
311 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Park Ayutthaya
The Park Ayutthaya
#21 of 74 in Ayutthaya
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grandparent's Home
Grandparent's Home
#15 of 74 in Ayutthaya
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tamarind
Tamarind
#5 of 74 in Ayutthaya
415 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baan Baimai Boutique Room
Baan Baimai Boutique Room
#8 of 74 in Ayutthaya
137 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baan Are Gong Riverside Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niwas Ayutthaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niwas Ayutthaya

Property: Niwas Ayutthaya
Address: 23/1 Jakrapat Road | Pratuchai, Ayutthaya 13000, Thailand (Formerly Baan Suan Guest House)
Region: Thailand > Ayutthaya Province > Ayutthaya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Ayutthaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Niwas Ayutthaya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Niwas Ayutthaya is located in the historical town with walking distance to Wat Mahathat and Wat Rajchaburana. Free wifi is available in the all area. Newly renovated with nice garden and all room provide air conditioning and TV with cable TV. Some room offer separate bathroom from sleeping unit. Convenient to go around to historical area and market. Free parking also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Niwas Ayutthaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Suan Guest House Hotel Ayutthaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing