We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A must see attraction” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Damnoen Saduak Floating Market

Damnoen Saduak Floating Market
Book In Advance
More Info
US$41.04*
and up
Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Famous for its tourist-friendly floating markets, Damnoen Saduak is the one you’ll find in the tourist literature on Thailand. Bring your camera along to witness the river packed with wooden boats overflowing with fruit and vegetables, which they sell to people standing on land. The scene is colourful and loud; just as you’d expect from a Thai market. Just 100km from Bangkok, it’s best accessed by package tour, which any local tour operator can organize.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A must see attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is one of the best outings around Bangkok. To experience a trip through the floating market by paddle boat is absolutely fantastic. The canals are crowded with boats and it is fascinating to see how they negotiate their boats through these crowded canals. You also get to experience the vendors trying to sell their goods and you also see the locals going about their day to day activities. I would suggest that this trip be a must for anyone visiting Bangkok.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wazza244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    603
    986
    755
    368
    523
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandroupoli, Greece
Level Contributor
528 reviews
170 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“A must see in Bangkok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Take the boat tour thru the villages to end up at this beautiful colour feast, of fruit vegetables live stock souvenirs and magician.
A absolute must see experience take a boat tour to enjoy the best.
Highly recommended

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterSilvainMooij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Damnoen Saduak Floating Market is indeed a picturesque scene of a lively and colorful market with local vendors actively selling fruits, foods, vegetable, local souvenirs and products on different sizes of rowing boats.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daoud I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“The Original”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Got Conned into paying 1800 Baht for 6 pax when it is 1200 Only , so beware , it is 200 baht per person ! This is the original Floating Market ! It was packed and jammed with boats when I visited ! Oh , by the way , you need extreme bargaining skills here ! You need to lop 70 - 80% off the asking prices , that is how much they mark up ! Anyway , the things on sale here are available is most other tourist places !

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tourist Ripped Off”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Travelled 2 hours from Bangkok city to here, quoted 1000Baht per person. Reading reviews from other travellers and noticed they give inconsistent pricing. When they charge 1000Baht per person, I told them we are gonna leave and we are not paying the price. One of them came up to me and said 600Baht after that. Bear in mind I have 12 people together with me so they really dont wanna lose this business, I negotiate until 400Baht per person and they agreed.

Definitely not worth 1000-1500 Baht for the boat ride, too touristy. Good experience tho.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ChinYau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Damnoen Saduak Floating Market also viewed

Amphawa, Samut Songkhram Province
Samut Songkhram, Samut Songkhram Province
 
Damnoen Saduak, Ratchaburi Province
Damnoen Saduak, Ratchaburi Province
 

Been to Damnoen Saduak Floating Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing