We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only downfall are the rooms.. the location is worth 5!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lanta New Beach Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lanta New Beach Bungalows
Ranked #80 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Eltville am Rhein, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The only downfall are the rooms.. the location is worth 5!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Ok the rooms are not that nice. They're plan with an empty feeling. The beach is beautiful though the secret lies in the hidden beach around the corner, this is stunning and it'll be all yours. The food was great with a large choice of seafood. Why people complain about getting crappy western food when visiting the east still makes me laugh. The pool area has a great atmosphere and is quite relaxing. There's a really cool beach bar next door which is part of the neighbouring bungalows, we spent all day here drinking mushroom shakes and... well it didn't really matter after that. The staff owner was quite rude and really tried to pressure us into staying longer but when we saw the room we just booked two nights and went looking around the island for something nicer.

If I was to every stay here again it would be for the beautiful beaches and the funky chilled out beach bar next door, though on that note I'd probably look at staying there, next door. But if you do need to stay here it's not all that bad though there are nicer places on the island.

All in all the rooms are the only big let down here but with a slight refurbishment this could be a real gem of Koh Lanta

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sk0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    33
    39
    31
    71
See reviews for
20
79
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

It's a basic accomodation! The bungalows are small. The restaurant is not really good but the view is fascinating. The personal DO NOT speak english. At the end is a good accomodation for the low price and the position right in front of the sea!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloti12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

When we planned our trip we hadn't considered going to koh lanta, it was only in Koh Phi Phi we decided to give it a try as we'd been there a few nights and as the weather was on the turn we thought we'd try something else before we had to head back to Bangkok. With this in mind we hadn't reseached Koh Lanta at all so we had a little look on booking.com for a good price on somewhere.
When we arrived off the ferry one of the staff "King" was there to greet us and drive us to the bungalows which was included for free like with most places. We checked in straight forward enough and our room was towards the back of the "bungalow village" There was another pool right outside of our room which was for scuba diving training but they didn't mind you going in when they weren't teaching. That pool was a bit nicer than the main pool as that one did seem to have alot of dead bugs in it!
We were there for there for three nights, the first day was sunny and hot so we sat by the pool for the day however the other days we had bad thunderstorms. As this was the case we didn't venture out to anywhere else on the island and stayed within the hotel.
The bar was brill! We had a couple of great nights talking to other guests and the staff were really good fun. The bar is also known as the "sound shack" and they played great music and had some interesteing drinks! The bar/restaurant area was on the beach front and as the weather was so bad they had loads of plastic sheeting tied down to protect you from the wind and rain and it was quite nice to be sat out during the storm as it wasn't cold and they kept you dry!
If I ever went back i think I'd research the area better but was happy enough with the stay for the price we paid.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SSAALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Budget style accommodation at luxury prices! We were, like others, sold on the friendly ferry guy's sale pitch. Room is damp, poorly lit and smells of mildew. Pool is motel quality. Food at the restaurant is gross, burger and fries the size of a McDonald's happy meal at double the price we have paid for a delicious and substantial burger at other resorts. If only we had Internet on the ferry we would have read the other terrible reviews and gone elsewhere!! Hope we can prevent someone else from making our mistake!! Paid 1500 baht for our room which is worth 500 tops. Terrible resort, the good reviews on here must have been written by the owner. What a scam.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindziloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Lanta hotels

Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

This was the most expensive accommodation I stayed in during my time in Thailand and the worst. I am realistic in my expectations when staying in buget accommodation in Thailand but this was not particularly cheap so I would have expected better. The room was OK but the damp smell was off putting I got by this by having the door and windows open if I was about to try and change the air! The pool and sunbathing areas could have been lovely but the pool was dirty with a brown tide mark around the edge and bugs and a film on the top I choose to go in the sea even though it was very rocky at low tide. The floor around the sun lounges was littered with cigarette ends and rubbish and also often beer bottles from the night before.

The staff had very poor customer service skills and so we chose to eat, drink and purchase trips etc else where. My friend and I had booked two rooms but on arrival were told only one was available for the first night. After some duscussion it was clear that another room was not going to be arranged for us so we agreed to take the one room for the first night but requested a refund for the room not provided. WE were told this was not possible and we were expected to still pay for two rooms as the one offered had air conditioning. To cut a long story short no apology was offered and no refund given the male manager was extremely rude also became quite aggressive and offended that we were not happy with the one room with airconditioning (like we should have been grateful) and we were basically told to go if we were not prepared to take the room. As we had already paid we stayed rather than risking loosing all our money but had we not paid we would have left like a shot.

Room Tip: do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IMOGEN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Got sold this accommodation on the ferry over to Koh Lanta. Believe me, the place is a dump. The only good thing about this place is the salesmanship of the staff on the boats !
I ventured into the bungalow they showed us - it was dark, dirty and stank. My wife wouldn't even enter the bungalow due to the over powering stench when the door was opened. Koh Lanta is fabulous and there are plenty of far nicer places to stay. Find somewhere else.....

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Stockholms Lan, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

This is absolutly the worst place we've ever been to in Thailand and we've been here several times over the years. No cleaning, room with only a bed and TV...nothing else, broken tap in bathroom... and the worst part is the ignorant, rude staff!!!! I've never ever been treated as badly as we were at this place "Lanta New beach"... My advise would be do NOT go there. All the people staying in bungalows around us had the same opinions. And when you visited bars or other places in the neighborhood and start talking about this place we was told the most horrific stories about the place from people that had stayed there or had known people beeing treated badly...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gisve62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.0 mi away
Blue Andaman Lanta Resort
Blue Andaman Lanta Resort
#44 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lanta Just Come
Lanta Just Come
#25 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lanta Nature Beach Resort
Lanta Nature Beach Resort
#43 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lanta Darawadee Hotel
Lanta Darawadee Hotel
#71 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Wings Boutique Hotels
The Wings Boutique Hotels
#45 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
3.2 mi away
Leaf House Bungalow
Leaf House Bungalow
#51 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta New Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta New Beach Bungalows

Property: Lanta New Beach Bungalows
Address: 122 Moo 2 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanta New Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Lanta New Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta New Beach Bungalows Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing