We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Last & the Best Resort on the Island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Last & the Best Resort on the Island”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

La Laanta - What makes this place the Best is its Location next to the National park and its Wonderful Staff. The Beach is Rocky but has areas where you can get into the sea for Swimming and also it is kind of private beach because of the Location. And one of the Best places to Enjoy the Sunset over Andaman Sea. Patrick, Tony, Manager Chicko & the Team (Tik, No & Chiao) were so friendly and ensured our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. Every evening 5 PM, you can play beach volleyball with the Staff and it was super fun. Rooms are neat and functional. Decent Breakfast Spread and most of the Dishes on the menu we tried were Amazing. If you want a relaxed and calm place on the Island, i think this is the place. Also they arrange trips if you need and you get picked right on the beach from the Resort and back. Thanks to all of La Laanta friends for making our trip a memorable one.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nandu1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    122
    49
    23
    11
See reviews for
76
464
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in November.

We travelled by ferry from Phi Phi to ko Lanta arriving at the ferry port and after emailing La Laanta my ETA their driver was on hand to take us to the resort. This was well worth organising as the resort is the opposite end of the island to the ferry jut under an hrs drive close to the national park. The word hideaway is a good addition to the name of this resort it is almost the last resort along the island before the national park begins, down a bumpy dirt track off the main road with no sign board saying the resort is there.

We had planned this as aour last destination in Thailand and were hoping for rest and relaxation and it did deliver in the end, but both myself and my partner had exepected something different from the pictures on the website.

Location - Hideaway is the word ! Firstly we didnt realise it was so far away from everything, you cant walk into the town, you can however hire mopeds from the resort and they do offer to take you at set times to the market near the ferry port and back. (but only that location) As mentioned before it is down a steep rocky dirt track slope fronted by the beach and backed by the jungle (something we didnt realise from the pictures and were hoping to avoid the jungle and the creatures that go along with it after spending a week doing jungle related things.) We arrived in the dark and the place was alive with creatures. The beach is sandy and harly had anyone on it, there are large rocks though close to the shore making it hard to swim out. It was no means the nicest beach we saw, but for subathing and a quick swim did the job.

Rooms - upon arrival we were told we had been upgraded, I couldnt remember what room I had booked in the first place. We were shown to our room after meeting the owners and manager. The room we had been upgraded to was at the back of the resort closest to the jungle. Upon entering the room it looked nice enough but, that particular room was painted dark colours and the bathroom was painted black making it hard to spot any dirt or creatures. We spotted 2 lizards in the room, my girlfiend hates lizards so we asked to be moved to a room less likely to have any lizards in, the staff went out of their way to relocate us and the room we ended up with was great. It was large, right next to the pool overlooking the pool and beach within easy reach of the restuarant and reception area, painted brighter colours and without any lizards sharing it.

Food - The food is resort prices, so slightly more than it would be in the town, but as this place is so secluded you are almost only able to eat on the resort. Having said that, the food is good and the waiting staff really help make theis resort, they are friendly, bubbly, go out of their way to serve you and even got us sticky rice and mango (not on the menu but we had heard about it from other travellers that while in thailand this should be tried) so the next night they had it waiting for us (well worth the wait yum). All food costs are paid at the end with your bill. the breakfast is standard buffet - nothing special but perfectly fine.

Staff - As previously mentioned they really are great, freindly, helpful an smiley.

activities - we booked an hr elephant trak through the resort 1,400 bhat and included pickup, trek and massage or relax on another beach on the island. Although stating either.or we actually did all. You get good pictures both professional and on your own camera of you on the elephants you can buy them food to feed them for 100bhat. The trek is more a walk along a well worn path up the side of a hill and in my opinion any longer may have meant notbeing able to walk the day after it takes a lot of work to stay on an elephant. The assage was nice i opted for reflexology.

We also booked a thai massage in our room for 2 i cant remember the price 400 bhat each i think for an hr it was nice (thai massages are not relaxing they require alot of bending and pulling of the ligaments) but you feel great afterwards.

we also booked mopeds for half a day, as the ones on the resort were taken we were taken to the local villag to hire some (if you do they requir your passport and driving licence so dont forget to take these) it was 300 bhat i believe and well worth it to see as much of the island you could see any other way and avoid another day stuck on the resort.

Overall if you want relaxation, a nice pool, friendly staff, dont mind bugs, frogs, lizards and other jungle creatures. Are not to fussed about being along way from the nearest inhabited part of the island. The room was one of the nicest we had on our trip with a big bead tv, shower and bath seperately. the guest book and people we met show that people return year after year to this place and one mother and daughter we met wer eon theri 3rd stay at the resort and had built up a nice bond with the owners.

Room Tip: We were in the sandcastle rooms area after being relocated from an upgraded room called enchanted. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citybreaker3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We booked our room here on a whim on the last night of our honeymoon. Great location if you are looking to relax and have some seclusion, the beach is more rocky than say long beach but so beautiful. The staff was so friendly and inviting. The food was good but a little more spendy than other places on the island but that's what you get for beautiful seclusion. The room was really nice, really cool design and the pool was great. We really did like it here, great last night in Thailand. Had dessert at the Bamboo Bay resort just down the beach, yum and cheap!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We've just recently had our second stay at La Laanta. We love it!

It is an idyllic location away from the tourists and the hecklers found in other parts of Thailand. The beach is beautiful and more often than not there's no one else on it. It's such a relaxing place where the days are long and hot and you can really unwind... Swim in the sea, go for a paddle on a kayak, read a book in a hammock or just lay by the pool. Life is a beach at La Laanta.

The location is superb but even better are the staff. Watchiko the manager is such an amazing host who will do anything to please you and make your stay special. He really does go beyond the call of duty to make the customers happy, and he's worth his weight in gold! The bar staff and the owners are fantastic also, and if you feel like staying up drinking at the bar until the wee hours there's always someone who will join you - and the cocktails are fantastic too!

This place is easy, friendly, relaxing and worth every penny of the few dollars more than you would pay further up the island. We will be back again for sure... and we can't wait!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elbladeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The last resort on Ko Lanta, almost in the national park: this is for the people that want to be away from the crowds, and in nature. Manager Chico and his team do a really nice job of making you feel at home (and play beachvolleybal at 5PM each day!). The restaurant is good.
The cheapest rooms are way up from the beach and don't look that nice. The more expensive rooms, closer to the swimming-pool and beach are better.
But for the prizes, I think La Laanta should be more careful on the details. The entrance doesn't make you feel really welcome: first, there's a rubish-belt, then there is a lot of stuff lying around, then you enter the resort. The buffet-breakfast is so so, but the artificial juice is a no-goer in a tropical country full of fruits. The rooms could do with some more ambience.
All in all it's a really cool place to stay, but it should be better for this prices.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingColombia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

For our second time in Thailand we decided to go back in Lalaanta for a few days. We loved it last year and we loved it even more this year. The staff is amazingly kind and funny. The facilities are beautiful (and two steps away from the beach) and the location is to die for. The food is excellent as well! Definitely the place to stay is you're looking for peace and quite. I'd recommended it to anybody especially couples! The journey to arrive there is a bit of an adventure but it's definitely worthed. And it's a lot of fun as well!

Room Tip: We stayed twice in the Sunset Splendor villas which are next to the pool and beach. And of course, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celine_Sylvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Simply one of the best places I've ever stayed at.
The location is to die for and the extremely carefully placed rooms amongst the native trees is so well planned that it's hard to see where the resort is once you're on the beach; but without a great team of people none of this would matter ...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank johnandcathyagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
9.5 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
550 reviews
12.2 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#18 of 84 in Ko Lanta
507 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#8 of 84 in Ko Lanta
183 reviews
4.4 mi away
SriLanta Resort
SriLanta Resort
#23 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,017 reviews
5.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LaLaanta Hideaway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LaLaanta Hideaway Resort

Property: LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
Address: 188 Moo 5, Bamboo Bay Beach | (Ao Mai Phai), Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#8 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#8 Best Value Hotel in Ko Lanta
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — LaLaanta Hideaway Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artistically inspired living on the most private beach for that castaway experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your LaLaanta Hideaway Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lalaanta Hideaway Hotel Ko Lanta
Lalaanta Hideaway Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing