We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place with beautiful surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
Ranked #22 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The resort it self is located at the most southern beaches and close to the national (marine) park. It has 2 nice pools with enough sunbeds to accomodate the guests. If you have a sandcastle on the side of the beach, you can just take 10 steps and jump in. The pools are overall nice and clean.

The beach is indeed a fisherman's (rocky) beach. This means, like us in the rain season, you will have to be carefull. There are a couple of (1 has markers) rock free "entrances" ;) into the ocean. So you can still enjoy the nice and warm ocean without have to worry about rocks.

Rooms are nice and clean. Beds are a bit hard (thai standard it seems). Views from the sandcastle room and balkony are superb. Shower is nice and the bath has a nice view over the pool/ocean.

Restaurant has very acceptable prices and very good quality of food. We ate there every day for diner and where amazed by the quality (compared to the range of choices you have).

We where in the low season (rain season), but the staff was very helpfull, happy and smiling all day.

Hotel helps with transfers has scooters for rent (not always nicely fueled) and Chicko is the best in helping you.

Breakfast served every morning is a bit limited, but quality is ok. For us (a week) it became a bit boring.

We would definitly recommend this resort. Some downside is maybe the price and the breakfast choices.

Room Tip: The sandcastle villa's have nice views. Take the one closest to the beach and you will be able t...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordy512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (668)
There are newer reviews for LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 668 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

As other reviews have mentioned, this hotel is VERY isolated. It's at the southernmost part of the island, right next to the national park, and it's almost an hour by car to get to the dock. It is impossible to get anywhere else on the island without calling a cab (supplied by the hotel at a rather steep charge)--that includes going out to dinner, shopping, or to see anything. While this may be perfect for some, it's not exactly what my friend and I were looking for; we were hoping to be a bit closer to the things to do on the island. If you are looking for isolation, it's probably perfect; we easily could never have left the resort, if we were so inclined. There's the restaurant, a pool, the beach, and even DVDs and books for you to use (a wide selection). Seeing that we did want to explore the island more, though, it was a little disappointing. The beach was also VERY rocky--swimming there is neither easy nor comfortable, and I got fairly banged up the first time I went in the water. The restaurant had okay food, but slightly overpriced for what you could find on the rest of the island. Drinks were mediocre. We were also a bit turned off by the guy at reception; he insisted on booking all our excursions through the desk, and we felt a little put off by his insistence that we only use certain companies or that only certain things were available. The rest of the staff was absolutely wonderful, though, and the service was great throughout our trip. The room was basic, but nice, and perfect for the beach. It wasn't the Four Seasons--we found a few bugs on the walls and I wasn't overly impressed with the cleanliness--but for two younger people who traveled mostly in hostels, it seemed pretty nice. I loved being able to wander from my door to the beach in thirty seconds flat, and it was a super relaxing atmosphere. Were I to go back, though, I probably would have wanted to stay somewhere more central on the island.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allie949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We spent 4 nights here after our visit to Indonesia as a romantic getaway. I know it says hideaway resort, but it's our own fault really that we didn't take it as fact. if you're ones to suffer from cabin fever it's best to find somewhere closer to the action.

The staff are brilliant and the food was great too, the facilities were spot on too but you are trapped in one place. The rooms aren't really worth the prices put on them compared to other Thailand lettings, we had to change rooms after the first night as it was a bit underwhelming for what we paid.

Getting anywhere was an issue too, the shuttle run was great when available, but getting back was a pricey affair.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbylid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We have just returned from staying at La Laanta on a long weekend's break in Ko Lanta and we found the hotel to be awesome from start to finish. They arranged a seamless transfer from the airport despite it being low season therefore you have to take the hotel mini van via two ferries to get to Ko Lanta. Nonetheless we were at the resort within 1.5 hrs and were even offered food despite it being nearly 11pm and the restaurant usually closes at 9. The hotel manager, Chico, was every part the welcoming host, breakfast is cooked to order and the fact that it is on a beautiful secluded beach in the middle of nowhere make this perfect for a get away. The bar stays open as late as the last guests stay up and serves really good cocktails and food (recommend the Vietnamese summer rolls), bedrooms are spacious with an earthy feel plus their own veranda complete with in built outdoor bed to lounge on! The only reason this is a 4 and not a 5 is that there was no breakfast buffet and the menu doesnt change so by day 3 eggs with toast or pancakes were getting a little tiring, also our towels were not changed whilst we were there however when we asked for fresh ones we were very quickly delivered new ones direct to our sun lounger!! As a tip, the national park is very close by (20 min walk or 10 min drive) and well worth a look for stunning beaches and an interesting nature trail through the forest.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BangkokBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

after some not so great days in koh lonta (it was at the beginning of low season)
we wanted to go somewhere quite for just 1-2 days and then go back to krabi and somewhere else.

we did really don't like to "possiblities" in koh lanta, not really alot of food markets, if so they where closed at 6-7 pm. or at sunset.

however, we decided to give it a last try and we couldn't have been happier.

the staff is helpfully and super friendly
the rooms are nice and quite and (for us) the best, they had a bad that wasn't soft was white bread ... you could really close down the curtains and sleep how long you like without getting waked up by the sun ...

the pool and beach are both amazing (watch out for the rocks when going to swim in the sea)
might not be the perfect place for kids to go swim.

we loved the hospitally of all, the breakfest was nice and refilled till very end (end if something was left they had asked us and broght even if breakfest hours where over)

will definitly come back sometime and recommend to friends and family.


p.s. you might skip it if you are in party and crouds, it's more for relaxing on a private beach!

stayed march / april 2013

Room Tip: we perferred those on the "forest side" (even a bit more quite) but the wifi is better ne...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthias B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Me and my father stayed here for 3 nights.
We booked 2 enchanted villa's but when we arrived we got a free upgrade to a horizon gaze villa.
We arrived with the bus on Lanta and we needed to call the resort for a free pickup, this was realy good organised and free of charge.
The staff welcomed us on arrival and wanted to know our names, it was really hard for them to speak my name 'Merijn'
The place is really quiet with only the jungle as a neighbour.
I saw the first evening monkey's fighting in the tree's.
The sea was a little wild so we just used the pool for some swiming, they have 2 pools to swim.
We rented a bike from the resort to explore the island.
Further we relaxed here, watched a movie ( a lot of free DVD's to watch in your room ), played darts with the staff and drunk to much with them.
The owners are also very friendly, not only to the guests but also to the staff.
The price is really lwo for what you get!!
I will go back for sure if im at Lanta again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merijn26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

The hotel is located in one of the best locations on the island. The hotel staff are friendly and there are hotel dogs lying about the hotel.
We stayed in the sunset splendour. The best option, near the pool but has the privacy due to a hut blocking the restaurant and most of the pool while still having a sea view.
We went in the rainy season and our bathroom leaked in the heavy rains.
In the rainy season, the island is hard to get to unless you fly then get the mini van onto the island. Boats end in April from krabi, one a day from phuket. Taking to train (Surat Thani) then a bus/boat combo can ONLY BE DONE IN THE HIGH SEASON!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.2 mi away
Bamboo Bay Resort
Bamboo Bay Resort
#51 of 84 in Ko Lanta
100 reviews
1.7 mi away
Baan Laanta Resort & Spa
Baan Laanta Resort & Spa
#46 of 84 in Ko Lanta
221 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kantiang Oasis Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
0.6 mi away
Anda Lanta Resort
Anda Lanta Resort
#13 of 84 in Ko Lanta
432 reviews
3.5 mi away
Narima Bungalow Resort
Narima Bungalow Resort
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LaLaanta Hideaway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LaLaanta Hideaway Resort

Address: 188 Moo 5, Bamboo Bay Beach | (Ao Mai Phai), Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#10 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £26 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — LaLaanta Hideaway Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artistically inspired living on the most private beach for that castaway experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your LaLaanta Hideaway Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lalaanta Hideaway Hotel Ko Lanta
Lalaanta Hideaway Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing