We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“couldn't be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
Ranked #21 of 85 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Reviewed 20 March 2014

what a great find! we had a week at this lovely relaxing hideaway and could have stayed longer! It is a bit out of the way but once we got there we didn't feel we needed to go anywhere having spent 5 weeks touring Thailand. the food is excellent and the staff are very special. if you just want to 'chill out this is the place!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank betstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

This was our second visit to La Laanta and I hope there will be more. It was just as good as we remembered, rooms, setting, food and of course the lovely staff - thank you Nino, Tik, Chio and Chico. We were in the next villa type up, it was pretty much the same as last time, just a little more space. Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melbo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We loved our stay at La Laanta!! It is on a gorgeous beach that is fairly isolated. The bungalows are nicely appointed, the bed is very firm, but we did not mind. The breakfast is good but all western. The drinks at the bar and dinner were really good as well and the bar staff are very friendly! Even though most cabs will not come down to pick you up from LaLaanta because of the dirt road, we ventured out for dinner one night to Noon restaurant. It has a great sunset view from atop a hill and they have a car that will come and pick you up. However, the sunset view from La Laanta is amazing so you don't need to venture anywhere for that! I believe there are 2 other dining options at the 2 adjacent properties which are a quick walk on the beach which we did not have to time to check out. Thai massage at the hotel is very reasonable and amazing.
The one major pet peeve I had was that you get one pool towel at the time you check-in--- we were never told if we can exchange them for fresh ones or what the deal was with that. There was a surprising amount of European families with very young children at this hotel and the surrounding properties.
We took a snorkeling trip to Koh Rok which we really enjoyed- they pick you up with the speedboat on the beach and take you to 3 sites around Koh Rok to snorkel. The beach where you stop for lunch there is crystal clear and gorgeous.
If you are a looking for the comforts of a luxurious 5 star hotel then its not for you. However, if you are looking for a calm beautiful peaceful beach, in a relaxing atmosphere this is the ideal place for you!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nika480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

A very peaceful resort with an exceptional staff. Stayed there for 5 nights and it was a bliss. Everyone from No, Tic and others and also Tony and Patrick were extremely helpful and friendly. We were there for our honeymoon and they were kind enough to give us the beach facing villa and also a dinner on the beach at no extra cost.

The entry to the resort is something that'll make you think "where am I going" but once you reach there its heaven. It offers a vast secluded beach which offers an amazing sunset. It also offers good number of sunbeds to relax in the sun after a swim. The food served here is amazing. Tried different dishes each day and each one of them were amazing. Special call out for the breakfast which was awesome, the muffins served were the best I ever had.

This is definitely a place to go back to not just because of the beaches, quality of the room etc but also because of the staff of this resort which make you feel at home. Thanks for a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shubh_9211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

LaLaanta is in a beautiful location. The beach is very wide and peaceful with stunning views of the forests on the hillside. I really like how calm and undeveloped this beach is - it's like how Thailand used to be before mass tourism.

The resort is great. We were met and picked up by the driver when we arrived on Ko Lanta for no extra cost. At LaLaanta all of the staff are super friendly and make a big effort to chat to you and address you by name. There are 2 swimming pools with sea views and comfy loungers to relax on. The restaurant serves delicious (and reasonably priced) Thai food and the cocktails are exceptional...

I love this resort because it is natural, rustic and totally chilled out. It's very relaxing and romantic however there are a couple of minor flaws. We stayed in an 'enchanted villa' and the bed could be described as a futon-style bed...but it actually feels more like a mattress on the floor!?! A minor criticism, but I can imagine that some people (particuarly older couples) might be more perturbed by this than we were. Infact, it's actually really comfy and it didn't bother us. The other small thing is that I don't think the buffet breakfast was that good. The homemade muffins are DELICIOUS but I thought the quality of the other ingredients on offer could be improved, in my opinion.

Overall, this is an exceptional resort if you want a romantic getaway where you can just chill out and relax. The location is stunning and the sunset is one of the best I have ever seen anywhere in the world. I will recommend LaLaanta to all my friends and family. Thank you

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denman84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

If you want a quiet and peaceful holiday, this is your choice.

Staying there 30 Jan - 01 Feb and was the best of among my 3 resorts in Koh Lanta. Located at the very south of the island with excellent services. Receptionists are all good and will give suggestions on your tour. Small buffet breakfast but with good quality of food.

If you want to visit the National Park and it's just half an hour walk from the resort. We spent a whole morning trekking in the jungle and visiting the lighthouse.

Don't forget to ask the Receptionist to reserve a table at the NOON Restaurant to enjoy the sunset before the dinner. NOON Restaurant will provide transportation to and from the Lalaanta.

A peaceful resort, we will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlvinHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The road down to Bamboo Bay at the south end of the island, where La Laanta, is located was recently paved all the way. This portends more development, so get there as quickly as you can!! The hotel meetup at the chaotic ferry terminal was on time- altho their little hotel sign was a bit difficult to notice! Caution, there is a minor fee to enter the island charged at the ferry terminal. This is NOT a scam, altho the beneficiary of the monies may not actually be the preservation efforts advertised.
The hotel is built on a remote hillside and the little stairs and steps inside the suites (especially at night getting to the bathroom in the dark) are very hazardous. Careful!
Our shower was barely acceptable- plenty of hot water, but pressure was minimal.
Staff was friendly, and unobtrusive, except occasionally at the bar after 9p when staff "lets their hair down"- I counted this as a PLUS! Connecting with staff on a personal basis can be fun and interesting. Breakfast was okay,nothing special.
Lovely beach, lots of shells, hammocks, lovely infinity pools, spectacular sunset views. Excellent dining options along Bamboo Bay beach. La Laanta also serves good food.
But remember, this is the Best hotel on the beach, one of the best beaches on the island, and is located "at the end of the road"- 30+ min from congested Lanta Town.
All in all, a lovely resort, with mostly location-related shortcomings.

Room Tip: The Sand Castle suites are The Best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleTravelLover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
10 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#18 of 85 in Ko Lanta
438 reviews
12.2 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#20 of 85 in Ko Lanta
517 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Anda Lanta Resort
Anda Lanta Resort
#12 of 85 in Ko Lanta
457 reviews
5.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
4.4 mi away
SriLanta Resort
SriLanta Resort
#22 of 85 in Ko Lanta
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LaLaanta Hideaway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LaLaanta Hideaway Resort

Address: 188 Moo 5, Bamboo Bay Beach | (Ao Mai Phai), Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#4 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#10 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £59 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — LaLaanta Hideaway Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artistically inspired living on the most private beach for that castaway experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your LaLaanta Hideaway Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lalaanta Hideaway Hotel Ko Lanta
Lalaanta Hideaway Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing