We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax to the max”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
Ranked #20 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich City
1 review
“Relax to the max”
Reviewed 28 May 2009

I stayed in Lalaanta for about a week after a 3 week trip around asian countries. I really loved the quiet and hideaway aspects of this resort. The beach is like a private one, the food is tasty and fresh, and I would say they make the best smoothies I had in Thailand. If u want to stay in a place far away from the crazy world or other regular stuff that u can find anywhere, then u probably will like it is I did. The staff is very friendly and wants you to feel comfortable, so they will make anything to make your stay unforgettable. I felt more like at home than in a resort ...

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sirrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    122
    49
    23
    11
See reviews for
76
464
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

ah we stayed here in sept 2008 and i must say we loved loved loved lalaanta!!!! it was the wet season but we didnt mind, it was quiet and only a few rooms were in use. the hosts were so happy and friendly and this was the part of our trip we just unwound and relaxed! the amazing lady who runs lalaanta is a kind warm woman (she made us homemade brownies after we suggested some chocolate on the desert menu!
would return. would recommend to anyone.
really cute dogs too. let nono follow you everywhere on a hike!!! he warned us of a small snake in the bush.
love this place!!!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravele2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden, Stockholm
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2009

We stayed at La Laanta resort over Christmas last winter. The surrounding is great, especially for those who appreciate untouched nature. The harsh way to get there is rewarded by a secluded resort in a lovely style with bungalows under the palms. The other guests we met were kind, with a pleasant attitude. Compared to the bigger resorts in the northern part of the Island the personnel’s attitude was more personal. The charming and helpful personnel at La Laanta really did their best to help us to be happy and relaxed. Service was excellent and food was great. Most of the time we had the dinner at the resort and were served delicious food inspired from Vietnam and Thailand. We were lucky to be there at Christmas Eve and New Years Eve where we could enjoy an awesome buffet watching a fantastic show with fire, and exotic dances from different parts of Thailand. We have been to Thailand several times and this place definitely was the best. Last but not less important – great breakfast with good coffee!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanExplores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2009

I fell in love with LaLaanta from it's reviews and from it's website. We hadn't booked when we arrived and were lucky that one of their customers had to fly to Bangkok that morning due to an infection (poor guy) which was good for us because we got to take his room! It's great when you go out on a whim and find everything you ever could imagine and more. LaLaanta is set in a picturesque and private area on the southern most point of Koh Lanta near the national park. You see trees, and animals and ocean.. with your own beach (one of the best I've swam in in Thailand), a great cocktail booth for your afternoon relaxation, coupled with funky boutique designed rooms, people in the know and great food. We'll be going straight back but arranging airport transfers directly their from Krabi to not waste any time. Love you gusy Tony, Mackie, June and Patrick! xxx

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oomf-recruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2009

We stayed at Lalaanta for the last six days of a two week vacation in Thailand. We were looking for a place that was quiet, but had a lot of options for activities, and based on the reviews on Trip Advisor, Lalaanta seemed perfect. And we were not disappointed! Lalaanta really had everything we were looking for - a beautiful beach and pool overlooking the beach, a park right next door where we were able to hike through the rainforest and see monkeys, kayaks we could take out any time, great food (we really can't say enough good things about the food, it was fantastic) and staff that made you feel like family. Patrick, June, Kong, Tony, Mackey and the rest of the staff did everything possible to make sure that we were happy, and having a great time. And when we left, it was like we were leaving friends we had known forever. We look forward to returning to Lalaanta some day and hope that it won't change a bit.
Corrine and Todd

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ottawatraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2009

We visited La Laanta for 4 nights in late November 2008. After spending a few nights in relatively busy places (Railay, Klong Dao beach), we were looking forward to relaxing in a secluded spot, and La Laanta is certainly secluded. Whilst La Laanta arrange transfers, due to a mix up (my fault!) we ended up getting a taxi from the North end of the island to La Laanta on our first day. It was raining heavily that morning and the 4x4 taxi coudn't get any further on the dirt road, dropping us off about 1km from the hotel at a friendly little beach bar. Once it stopped raining, we walked the final 1km up a very muddy track and you come through a clearing to be met with a stunning beach, with only 2 small hotels on it. Lalaanta is located in the middle of the beach, the final resort on the island.



The beach itself is beautiful - very isolated, white sand, a few rocks and fringed with greenery, with a mountain looming behind the resort. On our arrival, the lovely June met us with a drink and a smile, which set the tone to our stay.



The room itself (a ‘Horizon Gaze villa’ a bit back from the beach) was lovely. It was perfectly clean, the bed was soft and loved the fact that there was a mosquito net having previously been savaged in other resorts. Yes, the shower doesn't have great water pressure, and no, the TV doesn't have any channels. But it is in the middle of a jungle (and theres a library of DVDs you can borrow for free if you’re desperate for some TV)!



The best part of the trip were the people - Patrick, June, Mackey, Tony - all of them made our stay memorable: whether it was staying up late with us playing chinese dice, or being taught how to make pina colada behind the bar, or just the friendly smile that met us wherever we went. I must admit that I was slightly concerned about the isolation of the place when I first arrived. However, the staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome and there was never a dull moment. The other thing that helps is that the resort only seems to attract nice people!!! During our stay we spent hours chatting with other couples and familys and they were all lovely, lovely people.



During the day, there is plenty to do if you don't want to lie on the perfect beach and catch the rays, lounge by the lovely pool or sit in the beach bar and eat and drink. There are good walks very close by, including the national park and waterfulls (and elephant trekking). You can also do day trips to nearby islands, and would highly recommend snorkelling in the STUNNING Koh Rok.



The food was great (especially the BBQs they put on every now and then – huge prawns and fresh fish), the beer was cold and the people were friendly. Together with the quiet stunning beach, what more could you want?? It was easily the best bit of our 2 week holiday and we can’t wait to go back…

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2009

When you arrive the first thing you will notice is how friendly the staff are and how beautiful Lalanta is. June made us feel welcome from the moment we stepped out of the jeep and until we got back in to leave. The infinity pool is lovely but the whole stretch of beach is and is a great place to enjoy spectacular sunsets. The staff are very friendly and accomodating, we stayed in a Horizon Gaze villa, air conditioning, fridge, hot showers and a huge comfortable bed helped make our stay absolutely perfect.

Lalanta gives you free transfers, free kayaking and free wifi - all things that we had to pay for elsewhere. It is a resort that has been thoughtfully created with relaxation and comfort in mind and is very difficult to leave!

The food is very good, the smoothies are amazing!! We have been craving a Mango Medley ever since we left. To top it all off, evenings spent chatting to Patrick and the other guests at the bar made us feel like we were on holiday with friends and we definitely plan to go back.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich_and_Eve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
9.5 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#3 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
9.7 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
5.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
12.2 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LaLaanta Hideaway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LaLaanta Hideaway Resort

Property: LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
Address: 188 Moo 5, Bamboo Bay Beach | (Ao Mai Phai), Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — LaLaanta Hideaway Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artistically inspired living on the most private beach for that castaway experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your LaLaanta Hideaway Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lalaanta Hideaway Hotel Ko Lanta
Lalaanta Hideaway Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing