We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Resort on perfect beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful Resort on perfect beach”
Reviewed 13 January 2010

We spent almost a week in Lalaanta this December and had a wonderful time there. No need to write too much about this hotel, all the raving comments about the beautiful location, wonderful beach, nice pool, good service, and beautiful beachfront restaurant exactly express our opinion.

It was a wonderful place to be with young children, and we had to adjust our travel times to be able to go there as they only allow a handful of kids at any one time. But when you are there it was a very relaxed and lovely place with kids and we all felt really welcome. The rooms are built all in one rather narrow strip of land rather than along the beach which means that less beautiful coast line is spoilt, but also meant that from our sunset splendor room we saw hardly anything except the rooms in front and next to us - our patio was not much of a patio to sit on let alone gaze into the ocean. But in fact we just used a baby monitor and had wonderful evenings down at the lovely beach restaurant so we ended up not missing a nice patio much.

One thing we really noticed about this place was that every single person we met there was thoroughly happy about the resort without any reservations. We were all truly happy to be at this special and beautiful place. Thanks.

Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank organicfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    122
    49
    23
    11
See reviews for
76
464
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
new delhi
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2010

The hotel is great - the view and the beach is great and the staff is even better.
The sun set is amazing, the staff is friendly and the drinks start flowing...
there is an infinity pool which faces the setting sun, the cottages are built nicely and look out into the ocean...
I came here with my wife. Patrick and June were very helpful. I will definitely visit again. I wish there were more hotels like LaLaanta everywhere!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewDelhiSaurabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2010

We stayed at LaLaanta over Christmas and couldnt have chosen a bettter place. What stands out in my mind when i think back to LaLaanta is how everything is made so easy by the friendly staff. They are so generous, friendly, giving and go above and beyond what you ask for.

The resort is really a hideaway- a secluded resort. Maybe not ideal if u want to be really close to all the nightlife, town and street markets, but perfect if you want to feel like you are away from the hustle and bustle of the real world. Behind the huts is jungle, at the base of the resort is a beautiful beach which only ever has, at most, maybe 20 people on it at one time. Far cry from the crowds at Railay or Phi Phi and the other islands. The rooms are great, food is great, pools (2!) are great, smoothies are great, beach is great, breakfast is great. Kayaks are free to use. Massages are done on an open hut on the beach. DVD and books are free to borrow. Internet is free. If you are lucky, you may get some free drinks and food. What else could you ask for?

From my experience at Lalaanta, here are some of the things that set this place apart from all the others-

I had run out of pain killers and woke up with a splitting headache in the morning. I went down to reception and asked how far the pharmacy is and how we could organise to get there. I was expecting a 30 minute drive into town, ask around to find a pharmacy in the heat, then somehow get a ride back down the awful bumpy road. Instead, they said no, you stay in bed, our driver will go drive to the pharmacy for you, buy your tablets and give them do you. They did not accept any money for the medication. Sure, it would have been only 60 Baht or something, but where else would this happen? The next day, all the staff made sure i was feeling better - it was like having a second family!

Another aspect that I liked about Lalaanta was that the owners (namely Patrick, who takes care of the bookings) take the take to learn your name. When you are far from home around christmas time, something small like this makes you feel welcome. The owners will hang out with the guests at night and treat you as though they have known you for years and that you are friends.

The staff are amazing. They spoil you. They work so hard, and often work through their breaks (unpaid) without a complaint. They will do anything in their power to make your stay comfortable and easy. The waiters are hilarious and so lovely. I think their kindness and flamboyancy sometimes gets abused and attacked by rude customers, which is very sad and very ill deserved.

Over the few days before Christmas, the staff spent hours and hours making the resort feel Christmas-y. We really liked the show put on for Christmas eve- half of it was a drag show, the other half was traditional dancing. Maybe not for everyone, but it sure was different and entertaining. There were fireworks at midnight.

To Mackay, Patrick, June, Tony and everyone at LaLaanta- you probably wont read this, but we will always remember our stay with you, consider you to now be our friends and will come back as soon as we can.

Esther&James
Melbourne

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank estherlala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We were slightly skeptical when we drove through the last, incredibly bumpy, patch of road coming to LaLaanta, as it was probably the worst bit of road we had ever seen in our lives.
We would later learn that the team at LaLaanta take a certain pride in their resort not being too accessible, thus making it even more of a "hidden paradise". It would also turn out that the place was absolutely lovely.

The staff in LaLaanta go out of their way to make the service very personal, and you're guaranteed to feel very welcome here.
I'd recommend using their airport shuttle service, it's cheap, AC'ed and comfortable.

The rooms are nice, nothing spectacular, but they are big enough, new, clean and quite nicely designed.

The beach front restaurant is lovely, and the cocktails are even better.
Should you tire of the food in LaLaanta's restaurant, which you are likely to if you stay more than 4-5 days, there are two other resorts further down the same beach with nice restaurants. Also, what is allegedly one of the best thai restaurants in Thailand, a place called Same Same But Different, is a 5 minute drive from there.

LaLaanta don't have a "no children" policy, but they seem to try to make sure there aren't more than 3-4 kids staying there at any same time, simply because it's not meant to be a family place.

But I suppose, most importantly, the staff here is the real gem, they're very very warm and friendly people.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thesaintoslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm,
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2010

We stayed at La Laanta for a week and we will never forget the hospitality of Tony , "Mikee" and the rest of the staff/management. The food, service and location is just excellent.
Thanks for everything Tony!
All the best.
/Joakim and family

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

Just on trip advisor and thought i'd write another review.
last march i was there for the last week of my honeymoon and had the best week in La Laanta. The best memories of thailand are here.
Tony, patrick are the best resort owners you'll meet. Most kind and generous owners you'll meet.
Best cocktails
beautiful location
beautiful food
...
i hope we can go back!

You won't be sorry staying here!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kateed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2009

We love LaLaanta. We just returned to LaLaanta for our honeymoon after staying there in March 2009 and can't wait to get back there again. The bungalows are basic but nicely furnished and well-equiped. I love the murals on the wall and a mosquito net is available should you need it. This time we stayed in a Sunset Splendor bungalow which was a step up from the Horizon Gaze villa we stayed in last time. This was a good move as we had a lovely view through to the water from our verandah and were very content spending part of each day sitting on the verandah of our bungalow reading. The room was also slightly larger and included a daybed and a bath which aren't included in the Horizon Gaze villas. Free wi-fi internet is available throughout the resort and made it very easy to email and Skype from our room. There are plenty of shady areas on the beach front for people like us who don't like to bake in the sun all day however there are also an abundance of sunny spots on the beach and around the pool. The beach is about 500 meters wide and the water is lovely. There are some large rocks on the beach and in the water but there are plenty of rock-free areas for swimming. There are also kayaks available for guest use which allow you to get some exercise and explore the other little bays in the area. The owners Patrick, Tony, June and Kong are wonderful people and incredibly welcoming and friendly as are all of the staff. As they say "anything is possible at LaLaanta" and they will go out of their way to assist you. The food is fantastic and on both visits we ate just about all of our meals at LaLaanta because there is no need to go elsewhere. The menu is extensive and the prices are very reasonable. The other highlight of LaLaanta is Macky's famous cocktails as mentioned in many other reviews. Make sure you have a "LaLaanta Paradise" - it is delicious! Another added bonus this time was the introduction of the massage service offering both traditional Thai and oil massages at very reasonable rates. You can have them either on the beach or in your room. La Laanta is located at the very end of the island, next to the national park, so in order to get out and about you need to hire motorbikes from the resort. There are some challenging dirt roads that need to be navigated for the first couple of kilometers from the resort but even for novice motor bike riders like us it was do-able. Alternatively, you can arrange for a car to drop you into town from the resort if motor bikes aren't for you - local taxis cannot get to LaLaanta due to the dirt roads. However, if you are anything like us, you won't want to go anywhere once you arrive at LaLaanta. It is truly paradise and you will never want to leave.

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank HigginsMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
9.5 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
549 reviews
12.2 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
506 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#8 of 84 in Ko Lanta
183 reviews
4.4 mi away
SriLanta Resort
SriLanta Resort
#22 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,016 reviews
5.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LaLaanta Hideaway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LaLaanta Hideaway Resort

Property: LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
Address: 188 Moo 5, Bamboo Bay Beach | (Ao Mai Phai), Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 Best Value Hotel in Ko Lanta
#8 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — LaLaanta Hideaway Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artistically inspired living on the most private beach for that castaway experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your LaLaanta Hideaway Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lalaanta Hideaway Hotel Ko Lanta
Lalaanta Hideaway Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing