We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little piece of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
Ranked #20 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little piece of paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

My husband I spent 3 days at the LaLaanta Hideaway Resort in mid March 2010.

It was literally a little piece of paradise on the far end of Ko Lanta .

Other reviews may say it is remote but it felt like your own island. The beach is very nice , private and quiet and it was a welcome change to the pestering of the vendors of beach-wares in Phuket.

The rooms are clean and modern with beautiful thai charm. The resort beach side bar and restaurant is fantastic. It was amazing catching beautiful sunsets on the beach having dinner.

The menu had a good variety of western and thai food. My favourites were the spicy beef salad and pad thai was fantastic with huge prawns. Everything was made fresh to order . Another favourite was fresh fruit watermelon smoothies.

And the cocktails ... (had a few too many) the bartender Mackey knows his way around the bar and we shared good times in the evenings with the staff and fellow guests.

Leaving the resort I cried not wanting to leave this paradise and hopefully we will return soon.

Patrick and his staff were attentive , kind and hospitable and we thank him for our wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lalaantalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    122
    49
    23
    11
See reviews for
75
462
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

My Husband and I recently returned from a 2 week stay at Lalaanta in April. It was the most perfect holiday we have ever had. Such an amazing location, deserted white beach, rainforest behind your room and beautiful blue sea.
We went to Lalaanta based on the great reviews it has on tripadvisor. We were not disappointed.
We took their 3 hour transfer from Krabi airport, which is an adventure via 2 ferries (which only take 10 mins) and a very bumpy road, which had us both in hysterics!
Such a warm welcome from their wonderful staff, all of whom go out of their way to make sure your stay is as perfect and comfortable as possible.
The food at the resort is amazing. The best Thai food we have ever eaten and we didn't get bored of it after two weeks. BBQ night is excellent with a great choice of fresh fish and meat.
We could not believe our bill when we came to pay at the end as it was such amazing value. For two weeks of lunch, dinner and all our drinks (which was a large number of Singa Beers!) it cost no more than £200
This is a great place for total escapism, we would recommend this to anyone

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoannaBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2010

I am rating this resort five stars because it most certainly deserves it (excellent and super personalized service, amazing location, spotless, etc.) but I am writing this review because I want to make sure people are sure it is the right place for their holiday before they go. Again, La Laanta is truly a beautiful spot with impeccable service and lovely, comfortable and clean rooms. That said: it is literally in the middle of nowhere. It took us four hours (no joke) to get from the airport to the resort. The last half hour or so of the road is dirt mountain paths up (literally) the side of mountains along the edge (in some place) of cliffs. Our children were so freaked out you cannot imagine. It was dark and raining and we were actually quite fearful that we had been accosted into the jungle to be robbed...or worse! When we got to the resort we were so relived to find a beautiful place and lovely people who wanted nothing more than to provide us with a great holiday experience. The pool was fabulous and the occasional beach BBQ's were amazing. It is extremely quiet and you definitely feel like you are mostly alone at this resort. For couples this would be the perfect destination and we really ended up enjoying our time there, but the our children (teen agers) were quickly bored. To get into town was quite an ordeal and we only tried it a few times. The food was excellent and extremely high quality, but be aware that there is one restaurant and you will be dining there during your entire stay. You cannot swim in the water of the ocean at all. It is full of massive rocks. Lots of shells and cute little crabs, though. Perfect spot for people who want to get away from the world and sit in an amazingly beautiful location with great service. For people who want to shop, dine out, or entertain older children: this may not be the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrbonesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

LaLaanta was the last place my partner and I stayed on our trip around Thailand. We were really looking forward to it from the pictures and positive reviews we had seen...we were not disappointed.
This place is beautiful, we loved it here so much we didn't want the waste the two nights we stayed, so cancelled the cooking class and tour we had booked. The location of the resort is amazing, so quiet and relaxed compared to Phi Phi and Phuket where we had just come from.
You can pick from the a swim in the beach or in the infinity pool where my partner and I spent the days reading and sipping on cocktails. There is absolutely nothing negative to write about this place. The staff are lovely, and prepared a lovely candle lit dinner for my partner and I on our last night.
The location is amazing, and I am so hesitant to recommend Koh Lanta, as it would be very disappointing if it ended up from many other Thailand resort towns.
The only negative I can think of is compared to a lot of other places we ate in Thailand, this place wasn't the best, and although we had an amazing time here, we put everything on a tab so when we checked out, we weren't really prepared for what we spent (too much fun;) just keep that in mind.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy_kangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2010

La Laanta is indeed the perfect hideaway resort! It is located on the most Southern tip of Ko Lanta. It takes a half an hour drive from the ferry to the resort, the last bit being a sandy road with bumps. But the resort is beautiful! The welcome by Macky was very friendly and the rest of the staff is wonderful as well. They do everything in their power to make sure you have a good time. They are also very funny and kid around with the guests sometime, but in a really nice way.
The rooms are actually huts and nice and clean. The bathroom is a little small, but ok.
The food is served all day and is excellwnt. Be sure to try the shakes and smoothies!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IreneUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2010

It takes time and patience to get to LaLaanta, but then it's not called a Hideaway for nothing! A bumpy long ride from the port along dusty roads takes you to the very end of the island where you can really escape from everything. LaLaanta is not the ideal place if you want nightlife, clubs and action, but for what we wanted it was heaven.
The beach is glorious, the setting tropical and wild, it has a great big pool and the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. They really make you feel welcome and it's obvious they're having a fun time too which makes you feel comforatble and at ease.
We had a bungalow set back from the beach which although fairly basic, was very large, airy and comfortable. To be honest you don't need anything fancy here, the surroundings are so nice you'll be out all the time!
The staff organised a boat trip and cookery course, both of which I recommend.
An incredibly relaxing and chilled out time.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellabijou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2010

Our 1st time at La Laanta Hide Away, we have read most of the reviews for this hotel before we startet booking here. Everything works fine here from the pick-up service to check-in, and staffs are very attentive and helpful. Try to imagine some guests almost cry when leaving and to say good-bye to some of the staffs.
Location is great, it's not close to anything, you will need a ride for at least 20 min to any shops area, or 50 min to a pier, and the street were not so good, up and down mountain the last 20 minutes.
However it's very peaceful, nice pool, fine beach, very romantic setting in the evening, food is just pecfect here. Imagine some guests from hotels nearby or even from town came and eat here as well.
Will not recommend for guests who are party animals, since it's only relax tone here. Will definitely come back here if possible, as far as i know, around christmas time they already sold out 3-4 years in advance!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattfyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
9.5 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#3 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
9.7 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
5.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
12.2 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LaLaanta Hideaway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LaLaanta Hideaway Resort

Property: LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
Address: 188 Moo 5, Bamboo Bay Beach | (Ao Mai Phai), Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — LaLaanta Hideaway Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artistically inspired living on the most private beach for that castaway experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your LaLaanta Hideaway Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lalaanta Hideaway Hotel Ko Lanta
Lalaanta Hideaway Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing