We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Reviewed 12 March 2011

We just spent a week at lalaanta after couple months in india as part of our year round the world. It was everything we hoped for in an idyllic Thai beach resort. It is right at southern tip of Lanta yet it is laughable that it is hard to reach (go try an overnight train in India) despite the bumpy dirt road leading to the resort.
While the resort shares the good sized beach with another resort, it feels as though you have the beach to yourself. It is extremely low density seven lalaanta only have 20 rooms. This place defines a friendly owner run hotel. We only met Tony and June (not the other two partners) but they are incredibly nice and gracious hosts. Everyone is made to feel quite at home. The rooms are modern and spotless but retain a thai bungalow feel. The pool area ia great as is the food. The beach is great for swimming but unlike phi phi, must commute to snorkel. No nickel anodizing guests with added charges for things like wifi, use of kayaks, transfers to pier etc. Despite being their first attempt, feels like they have been running hotels forever. Perfect thai beach experience for those wanting to getaway from crowds. Family friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 675 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2011

The staff was extremely friendly, helpful, and courteous. Amy, the main hostess, was so incredibly helpful with transportation to different islands, and places to go around Koh Lanta. The rooms were very clean, not to mention, very elegant. The shower had an "outdoor" feel, which was a nice little touch. Breakfast is complimentary every morning, and offers a large spread of typical American food - all delicious. The restaurant, which is located down by the beach, has a full bar and music every night. The food is TO DIE FOR. My friend and I rented a motorbike from the front desk, and took it around town for the day. This resort is a great place to stay if you are looking for a hideaway. It is somewhat far from town, and the road to and from the resort is unpaved and very rocky. If you are not experienced on a motorbike, I would highly advise against driving this road, especially at night. There is an outdoor massage area right on the beach that offers different treatments - well worth the money!! I would highly recommend this place to anyone - families, couples, friends traveling together. This place was truly AWESOME.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rihilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

We chose lalanta after many hours on tripadvisor and the overwhelmingly positive reviews. As soon as we arrived we were welcomed by a fantastic and flamboyant staff member who told us 'welcome home!'.
The road to arrive to lalanta is rocky and not for those with weak stomachs but we are so glad its a bit difficult to get to because once this place becomes overrun it will be ruined!

The rooms were clean and spacious. We stayed in the enchanted villa for 5 nights which was fantastic, and were upgraded for free to the highest villa when we wished to extend our stay. We were amazed at their generousity and friendliness, especially after coming from Phuket and the rude staff we encountered at the palmyra resort.

For great value you have cute bungalows right on the ocean with 2 pools and the most fantastic, chilled setting. There is free dvd hire, free internet use and a little library!
The breakfast was great, and we ate all meals at the restaurant as lalanta is quite isolated but thats what we loved about it. the food was cheap and great.

After leaving lalanta to go to our more expensive hotel which was double the price, we wanted to turn around striaght away and return to lalanta as it is worth so much more due to the atmosphere than the larger branch hotel we had pre booked.

If you want to get away and have a relaxing beautiful trip with stunning sunsets, i would strongly recommend lalanta!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emaustralia11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

LaLaanta is the most relaxing resort I have ever visited. It is very remote (in four days we never left the resort except for one trip on our kayak to the next beach over). The food, the free library of DVDs, the beautiful (and isolated) beach - everything you could possibly need for a relaxing beach location was right there. In addition, the grounds of the hotel were beautiful and the service was incredible. Whatever we needed we were provided with. I genuinely liked the people that worked at the hotel and they treated us like friends.

If I had to choose one thing to complain about this hotel, it would be the insects (outside of our room) at night.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerkeleyCaveman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

I was really looking forward to the next chapter of our journey in Koh Lanta which was this Resort - how wrong were we.

To cut to the chase the whole resort (which I am presuming was built in the 1990s from the cement blocks and the quality of the build) was awful:- Air conditioning which didn't work, a bed which didn't exist i.e. mattress on the floor, the doors to the bunglow (what was the point). Broken hammocks outside, BBQ buffet (like - An All You Can Eat smorgasbord), the pool was dated, over grown plants with dead leaves everywhere, resort had not been updated since it was built.

All I can pass on from this experience is that Tripadvisor is not always right

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hhonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Don't be put off by the dirt road to La Laanta! Once you get there it's an absolute paradise - one of the most special places I've ever been to. The setting is incredible - a beautiful, deserted beach surrounded by jungle. Amazing food, funny and friendly staff and am atmosphere of total relaxation. Somehow they get everything just right without looking as though they're trying. I could have stayed for ever.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathB67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

We were looking for something ‘special’. We needed time to ourselves and an environment where we could just be ourselves. Usually quite adventurous, we decided that for once, a beach retreat in the middle of no-where was what we needed. We arrived late to a very warm welcome. The resort was bathed in simple, subtle lighting around the beach front, restaurant area and gardens and my immediate impression was one of comfort and relaxation. We booked 9 nights and each night just got more fun than the last! Days were spent chilling out on the beach or in the pool. Kayaking is complementary and the staff organise football and beach volleyball for guests who want to get a little more physical than simply strolling from beach to bar to sun bed. If you want to explore, take some walking boots and hit the national park. You’ll never be short of company as Now Now and T’yau, the furry four legged members of the family are always keen to guide. There is a resident masseuse who offers a fabulous aromatic massage, or if you’re brave enough, opt for the more tortuous Thai massage. Further along the beach leads to the only other restaurant in the bay, where you can take a Thai cooking class or just lay back and watch the beach and sunset from a different angle. I loved the resort. The villas are clean, the gardens kept tidy, there is great internet connection when you want to reconnect to the outside world. The tide brought in some unsightly trash, no doubt dumped by passing boats but it was safe to walk along and sunbath on. This is a fabulous chill out destination, but the difference between La Laanta Resort and other places we’ve stayed in Thailand is the people. The La Laanta family. I’ve never received such a fantastic welcome, such warm hospitality. The staff here seem to genuinely enjoy making your stay fun, memorable and thoroughly indulgent. Would I go back? Can you ever recreate the magic? We booked a return trip before we left!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
10.0 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
432 reviews
12.2 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
515 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Anda Lanta Resort
Anda Lanta Resort
#13 of 84 in Ko Lanta
439 reviews
5.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
4.4 mi away
SriLanta Resort
SriLanta Resort
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LaLaanta Hideaway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LaLaanta Hideaway Resort

Address: 188 Moo 5, Bamboo Bay Beach | (Ao Mai Phai), Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#10 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £59 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — LaLaanta Hideaway Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artistically inspired living on the most private beach for that castaway experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your LaLaanta Hideaway Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lalaanta Hideaway Hotel Ko Lanta
Lalaanta Hideaway Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing