We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Lanta Sunny House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lanta Sunny House
Ranked #76 of 208 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Avoid”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

This was by far the worst stay of our month long trip to Thailand.
We stayed in a poolside triple bungalow which cost over 2000 baht per night.
We stayed two nights only as our rooms were not cleaned and no clean towels.
The air conditioning unit was so noisy the wall would vibrate so you couldn't sleep with it on. There was big dusty cobweb between the wall and the wardrobe, the window wouldn't close and the bolt on the door didn't match so it was useless.
The two ladies on reception were not very welcoming or helpful. After paying the first night up front for two rooms they were not happy that we would pay the second nights room rate at check out.
Don't bother staying here head next door to 'Lanta Castaway'.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    44
    31
    19
    17
See reviews for
21
52
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Standard bungalows. High prices though.

The staff here really is horrible. We had a bungalow close to the reception so we could hear how they were fighting with the guests daily. And I'm not joking here. The two ladies in the reception never smiled once during our week here.

Last day when we were going to the airport and our taxi wouldn't show up we asked them if they could call the travel agency which we had used for booking the cab and see what was wrong but they refused with the words "You knew that you could book taxis through us (Lanta Sunny House) but you didn't so now you have to suit yourself". Needless to say, we were furious. We had to run to nearby house, borrow their phone and... it was horrible. We didn't miss the plane but not thanks to Lanta Sunny House.

Easily one of the worst places I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VNW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Lanta hotels

Göteborg
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

We cycled around long beach and compared several places, and found this one good value. We paid 1000 bath for an ac-bungalow that was pretty nice. There were a Big nest of small ants in the wall of the bathroom but who cares, this is not your honeymoon resort anyway. Close to the beach and a cheap restaurant with decent thai food. Good pool also. Would recommend, at least if you get the price we did during peak season.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davvegbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortaleza, CE
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

there's an awesome staff... very friendly and helpful!
the bangalos is very close to the beach... nice food...
easy to find. I felt like home. they offer moto to rent. for sure, is good option to stay in ko lanta.

Room Tip: prefer A/C room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helder_Gondim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cagliari, Sardegna, Italy
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights and i liked the place, very close to the beach and bars.
Owners are very friendly and ready to help you with transfers, tours and everything.
They have a little restaurant which was nice and good value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed here for one night.
Bungalow room was nice and it was nice to get off the beach for a day and chill by the nice pool.
No working light in the bathroom and the front door didn't close at the bottom, letting in the creatures of the night.
Pleasant staff. WIFI didn't work.
Didn't eat here as there were a few places near by! Go to the bakery!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cquinn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

The staff was friendly in the beginning only. They are not that helpfull and charged high prices for the bus tickets. Book at the tourist information point!

They have a nice menu at their restaurant. The beach is very close and the pool is just amazing.

The room was so so. Not that clean and the bathroom was strange with a toilet in the middle that didn't flush. The outside space in front of the bungalow is cute.

Nice restaurants and a 7/11 close by.

Paid 400 baht for a room. It was worth that price but nothing more.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeilaKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.0 mi away
Lanta Long Beach Hostel
Lanta Long Beach Hostel
#44 of 208 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Good Days Lanta Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort - Koh Lanta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NT Lanta Resort
NT Lanta Resort
#104 of 144 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Raven Blue
Raven Blue
#5 of 144 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Loro Loco 2
Loro Loco 2
#54 of 208 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Sunny House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Sunny House

Property: Lanta Sunny House
Address: 42 Moo 2 Pha-Ae Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 208 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lanta Sunny House 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Lanta Sunny House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing