We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dream Team Beach Resort
Ranked #162 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at dream team for four nights and thoroughly enjoyed are stay. The staff were extremely welcoming, accomodating and hard working. The pool was nice and beach, although rocky in parts, very beautiful, quiet and tranquil. Would have no hesitation in recommending. My only constructive criticism would be the wifi which only could be picled up (on my laptop) at top reception area. Thanks for a lovely stay!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Dream Team Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

Strongly recommend NEVER TO STAY HERE.

At what seemed that would be a budget few nights turned disaster! It took the staff approx 3 hours to get our room organised even though the place seemed empty. We were then asked to pay cash upfront before being able to access our room. We were told wifi internet access was included in the price of the room, once checking into the room we realised that wifi was only available around the reception area. The room was dated and unclean and the safe was faulty.

We have travelled all around the world and have been travelling to this island every year for over 8 years and never were we made to feel so uncomfortable and rudely treated. The over priced restaurant took 30 minutes to prepare our entrees and the food was sub standard.

While we were out at a bar our hotel key was stolen and as the key tag had our hotel name and room number clearly written on it! This gave thieves open access to all of our belongings. Thieves entered Dream Team and then our room in the early hours of the morning and proceeded to steal all valuables including computers, cameras, phones, passports. The hotel had no security or knowledge that anyone had trespassed and robbed us until we realised what had happened and notified them the next day.

There response was one of shock and dismay, after telling hotel management we had approx $10,000 worth of items stolen. We were advised that this was not their concern and we were then rudely told to pay for a replacement key at the value of $30 and that this incident had never occurred in order to protect their image.

The final straw was when we requested a short letter from the hotel management detailing the time of our stay and brief details of the incident that had occurred for travel insurance purposes. The owner made us come back 5 times telling us the "boss" was not available. After she realised we were persistent she blatantly ignored us while we stood there for over 20 minutes pleading with her.

There are so many wonderful places to stay on Koh Lanta along with so many warm and friendly people. In our 15 years of travel we have never been so insulted or disgraced.

A & J :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tha_CObra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed here for 4 days and it was a really nice experience, the pool was great, we loved the rocky beach, which was very private and incredibly beautiful; there are also great walks you can do along the beach to beautiful little coves . Our room was spacious, clean and a really great price with breakfast included. I was surprised to see so many average reviews as we really enjoyed our stay and had a great time relaxing around the pool and beach.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaSparkles_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We ended up booking this resort over Xmas as a last minute trip and needed 4 rooms for our gang. All in all the group was happy, alto there were definitely some issues. Hot water wasn't working in all the rooms when we arrived and took a few days for some of them to be fixed. WIFI was spotty , and not available in the rooms. There is an outside bathroom, so not unusual to see critters out there when you shower or use the toilets. Didn't bother me , but some of the gals didn't like spiders and such , which managed to make their way into the rooms. The seals around the front doors leave enough room for a small frog to get in.. or a large spider.
The beach was rocky at low tide but good beaches are not far away, and the hotel provided a shuttle.
Overall the rooms were pricey but we were there at the highest rates of the season. Food was decent at the hotel, but there were some really great restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Probably a good idea to book plenty in advance with a big group if want some choice in where you wou...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mouserman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We did a road trip through southern Thailand and managed to stay at 3 different hotels in Koh Lanta in a 10-day period. This was our least favorite, but it was also the cheapest so I guess to some extent you get what you pay for. The hotel does have a nice view and it's right on the water, which is a plus, but there are craggy rocks right in front of the hotel and you have to walk down the beach a ways to find a place to swim....and not that you would necessarily want to swim--the beach was noticeably dirty compared to others on Koh Lanta and there was a small stream running into the ocean right next to the hotel that had me a bit concerned--you never know what is in those streams and whether they consist of another hotel's "grey water" or worse... Anyway, we didn't feel that comfortable spending too much time swimming in the sea at this hotel.

The room was ok but a bit musty. The restaurant was fine--right on the water, so it had a good view, but the food was really pretty bad. In fact, we sort of came to the assumption by the end that they had Burmese kitchen staff trying to cook Thai and Western food, and the results were not great. There's just no excuse for serving bad Thai food in Thailand!

Was it ok for a cheap-ish place to stay for a night when we couldn't get a booking anywhere else? Definitely. But in this price range, and even on Klong Nin beach, there are much better options. We won't go back to this one...

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

2nd time on Lanta, which is such a lovely island. The average score here doesn't lie. It has the benefits described, of being in a quiet location, with a nice little pool, with a mini 'beach area' to compensate for the rocks that sit directly in fornt of the resort, and a few of the higher price bungalows having a sea front position, but it's simply a poorly run place. I genuinely don't beleive there's any malice or intent to underserve; the staff are curt and lack any sense of traditional Thai service (though one larger built guy who clearly didn't care what any 'farang' thought/said), but it seems more like the owners are kind of making it up as they go along. When we arrived, a European couple were going ballistic over the apparent removal of their belongings from their room; so that wasn't a good sign. We had room V1, a family suite (two double beds with a mini sitting area) but it faced the sea and that was all I wanted. The bungalow was a bit of a mess, with several ants nests in the bathroom, ripped sheets, threadbare towels etc, but that wasn't a major issue. Breakfast was really, really poor - better options elsewhere. Furniture in the dining area fell apart on me. It's that sort of place. But the view from the balcony was what we paid (a new year premium) for and that was good - loved exploring the rockpools with my sons late afternoon.

Keep expectations low, and this will do a job, but there are much, much better places here.

Tip: Laundry was a good price at the extremely understocked minimart (40B for wash and iron, whcih is very rare)

Room Tip: The Family Suite rooms (two of them) face the sea, as do the Premium suites. There are several pools...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SillyHoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

we booked the standard room, with fan. We dumped our luggage and left immediately and hired a scooter across the road, We didn't really look at the room until we came back. It was a disaster. The bathroom was full of hair and there was a layer of scum on the sink. We cleaned it ourselves and said ah well. Then we looked at the bed intending to sleep in it. There were ants in the bed, and ON the toilet and everywhere. The mosquito nets were hanging off the windows and the windows wouldn't close, ( from the windows that were there, some were missing)! The toilet leaked though and the water from the toilet gathered on the floor and couldn't get away. In summary, the location is bad, beach is just rocks, and rooms needed an upgrade years ago.

Room Tip: My tip is to book an aircon room because all will be sealed to conserve energy.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flute m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Lanta Darawadee Hotel
Lanta Darawadee Hotel
#70 of 84 in Ko Lanta
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lanta Emerald Bungalow
Lanta Emerald Bungalow
#49 of 151 in Ko Lanta
126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coco Lanta Resort
Coco Lanta Resort
#2 of 217 in Ko Lanta
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lanta Riviera Resort
Lanta Riviera Resort
#125 of 151 in Ko Lanta
261 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baan Thai Lanta Resort
Baan Thai Lanta Resort
#22 of 217 in Ko Lanta
67 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lanta Miami Bungalows
Lanta Miami Bungalows
#26 of 217 in Ko Lanta
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Team Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Team Beach Resort

Address: 38 Moo 5, Koh Lanta Yai, Koh Lanta, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £10 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dream Team Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Dream Team Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Team Beach Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing