We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and pool save this from a 'poor' rating.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nakara Long Beach Resort
Ranked #79 of 213 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location and pool save this from a 'poor' rating.”
Reviewed 20 December 2012 via mobile

Pros and Cons Short list: (details to follow)

Cons:
-slight smell permeates areas of hotel grounds.
-free (slow/spotty) WIFI only near reception. Paid WIFI available only in resturant and 'hot spot' areas.
-8am start time for loud motorbike cart, and continues throughout day.
-shabby rooms in barely acceptable condition.
-no umbrellas for pool/lounge chair area.
-overall lack of maintence/management.
-smoking in resturant areas and reception.

Pros:
-Located on Long Beach. Great for walks/runs and swimming. Plenty of restaurants/bars near by.
-Great pool (1 of 3 only 2 are maintained).
-Warm and Friendly staff.
-Every room as a covered porch with plenty of comfortable seating.
-Has potential.

Full disclosure:
Booked the 'buy 2 nights get 1 free' rate. W/taxes and fees paid about $44 per night w/breakfast. We understood that we would get a standard room and checked out the property before booking, so we somewhat knew what we were getting into. This review should serve more as a warning to those who may be spending more money. Unless you are booking a re-modeled room(those closer to the beach) or getting a cheap rate like we did, you may be disappointed. We are budget travelers so we were okay with some of the shortcomings, however, I would have been upset if this was a holiday stay. We wanted to stay on Long Beach after a week on Klong Khong, and we wanted a pool, check, check. 

Pro/Con Details:
Looking forward to using our porch, unfortunantly between the mozzies and the smell we didn't spend much time there. We noticed most of the property smelled slightly of sewage.  After looking for a source and finding only rubbish under our raised bungalow(and others), we figured it was probably due more to a lack of maintence than a leak. The smell was strongest behind reception, which was also behind the pool bathrooms and kitchen, again we saw open areas with trash and old construction materials. Why not just move along? Well, the WIFI was strongest here...

WIFI: Why is it that budget bamboo huts can provide free WIFI but not a 'resort' or minimally provide it in ALL the common areas. Or at least provide a decent non-smoking reception/lobby area were guests don't mind hanging out. The sewer/rancid oil smell, tons of mozzies and the random collection of moldy, beat up, mis-matched, bug invested chairs/sofas/tables was just weird and the entire area felt like an after thought.  The building is quite nice and has the potential to be very welcoming and comfortable. 

Smoking: We understood that current Thai law is that restaurants should be non-smoking. Granted the eating areas here are open air but since Nakara likes rules we were just surprised they took a pass on this one.

Rules: Signs posted in the breakfast 'prohibit' food being taken back to rooms, fine but this struck us as a strange and unfriendly way to inform guests. They also forbid loungers/umbrellas on the beach 'according to local authority...etc...or pay a fine'. Interestingly, this is the only establishment we saw on Long Beach, and there are many, that follow this rule. So either they are just don't want to deal with the hassle or every other establishment on LB is breaking this supposed law. The pool hrs are 7am-8pm, just seemed a bit rigid.

Pools: Only 2 of the 3 pools(the lap and children's) are maintained and outfitted with loungers. Yet, the other pool, away from the main part of the hotel is green and without loungers? And no umbrellas provided for the pool loungers or chairs that overlook the beach. Both pool restrooms need to be updated.

Rooms: As stated in other reviews the non-updated rooms aka 'standard' rooms are pretty run down and need some serious TLC. Most of it is cosmetic(stained old linens, outdated finishings, unsightly faux finish, cheap mattress) Fine, but entrance doors warped so much that they don't close all the way, loose toilet seats, very loud AC units w/mold, water damaged interior doors, loud, dusty ceiling fans with 6 inches of water collected in the light fixture, are basic ammenities that should be fixed and are easily maintained. 

With the amount of staff standing around the resturant during meal times you would think this resort would be in tip top shape. During meals we never saw less than 9 staff, not including the staff actually working the buffet line. Breakfast was a self serve buffet and the resturant was rarely busy. 9+ staff to clear dishes or take orders from 3 tables? Most of time breakfast had about 20-30 people eating at one time. Staff seemed bored, texting, horsing around, taking pics of each other, eating etc...There were a handful that were well meaning and tried to be professional and keep busy, but there was just not enough work to go around, many times they would clear dishes that were still being used by guests. Also coughing/sneezing into your hands and then folding napkins, preparing drinks etc...w/out washing hands is not cool. We saw several staff doing this, we aren't germaphobes but it was absolutely absurd how common this was. The moldy vinyl placemats are gross and unnecessary. Reception generally had 4-6 staff milling about. Keep 3-4 restaurant staff, 2-3 at reception and get the rest crackin' on upkeep of the rooms and resort grounds. There is plenty to do: pull weeds, paint, collect trash/cigarette butts, clean/fix furniture, dust, wipe mold, landscape, remove broken furniture(piled near restaurant entrance), etc...

Please do something about the very loud motorbike cart. Housekeeping use large push carts to haul their wares but small cases of water bottles were dropped off around the bungalowes starting at 8am by the motorbike cart, why? This motorbike cart was louder than some tuk tuks, it was used all day long and really took away from the otherwise calm environment.

Overall there seems to be a lack of management or oversight, it never felt like there was someone in charge...it was strange...We get it, island life and all that but then don't call yourself a 'resort' and charge resort prices for your services. It's a shame because there really is the potential for this to be a great property. There needs to be more thought, more effort and follow through put in by the owners/management. Proceed with caution. 

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank OBSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    98
    67
    36
    33
See reviews for
60
156
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

This hotel is more like a hostel (except for the prices we paid ~$100)
WE HAD NO HOT WATER in our room.
The bedsheets was dirty and smelled of mold, they where very old and had holes in them!!
The blanket was not in a blanket cover- it was tucked between 2 sheets.
When I came to the reception at 10 pm to say i have no hot water in the room( there was no phone so i had to walk) the guy there told me " you should of come earlier, the tech guy already gone home"
There is no internet in the rooms. And they will charge you for the use of the internet around the hotel.

Room Tip: In another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roym455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Lanta hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We got a screamingly good deal for this resort on Agoda. We paid $35 per room, per night for two rooms for a total of about $70 per night without breakfast. The resort has three pools, though only two were really operational, a restaurant, and a sandy beach. The beach would not be appropriate for young children as the waves are very strong. There are two parts to the resort, the old and the new. We were in the old part and each room had a large veranda, refrigerator, tv, AC and a clean ensuite bathroom. If you like 5 star resorts, this isn't it. The grounds could have used some work but it was still not the high season and we did see workers there. The staff at the restaurant were very pushy (“Why did you not come here for dinner?”) and the food there was expensive and just mediocre. Despite this, we tried to extend for more nights at the same price but the front desk staff refused and wanted to charge us $60-80 per night per room so we went elsewhere. And they were pretty rude that we had even asked to extend for the same rate. If you want luxury, stay in the newer section with the deluxe units. If you want service, stay elsewhere. If you don't mind something a little older, take the cheaper rooms for $30-45 per night with breakfast, as that is a fair price. The pools and the nice beach would be worth paying that..

Room Tip: Try to get something closer to the beach. To eat go out onto the main road, there are lots of good p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFamily2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARIS
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Very good location on the most beautiful beach of the island.
Don't miss the sunset around 6pm in November
Drawbacks:
1. Windows can't be opened,
2. Cameras very well hidden but everywhere like you are in jail!
3. Free Wifi only at reception

Room Tip: When you go out of the resort (sea in your back), turn left and you'll find within 100meters the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOWSEASONTRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

This is the type of resort that would have been good 10 years ago. We stayed 3 nights, and were upgraded to a superior room with free breakfast.

The bungalows are clean, however could do with a re-vamp. The bathroom is a bit run-down with evidence of mould in the shower. The beds were extremely comfortable.

Breakfast was disgusting - everything in the bain-marie's were cold, and had flies hanging around. The fried eggs looked like they had been sitting for hours, and the pancakes were raw. I ordered an omelette - and it was only half cooked. Considering they are overstaffed, I would expect the food to be at least hot and fresh.

The pool area is good - very good for families with children. The location of the resort is good, if you wish to stay on Long Beach (however I don't know what all the hype about Long beach is about - personally i'd prefer the Klong Nin area).

I would not recommend this resort, as I believe there are better valued accommodation on the island.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabsy1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Stayed at Nakara for 3 nights, we had booked a basic room but was upgraded free of charge on arrival. The location is excellent, it sits right on Koh Lanta's long beach. The bungalow itself was great - clean, good size, big shower in a Western style bathroom. We found the staff really helpful - arranged a day trip elephant trekking for us.
Food in the restaurant was decent on the couple of times we ate there and has a nice big pool with plenty of sun loungers - next door is a chilled beach bar where they put on fire shows.
All in all a great stay and would have no hesitation recommending.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nai1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Good location right on Long Beach, we had a pleasant stay however the restaurant staff could have been a little more interested in serving the customer rather than it appearing to be a chore, we did feed this back to the reception staff who were very helpful. If the management address the staff issue this would be a perfect place to stay. 10 mins in a tuk tuk to the town where there are plenty of restaurants to choose from and a supermarket. Room was clean however appeared to be half decorated! However all in all a good stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
415 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nakara Long Beach Resort
Nakara Long Beach Resort
#73 of 84 in Ko Lanta
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lanta Casuarina Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Eco Lanta Hideaway Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Sayang Beach Bungalows
Sayang Beach Bungalows
#21 of 213 in Ko Lanta
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nakara Long Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nakara Long Beach Resort

Property: Nakara Long Beach Resort
Address: 120 Moo 3, Long Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 213 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nakara Long Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Nakara Long Beach Resort. located in a beautiful landscape of tropical sandy rocks-free beach. The resort is set in the midst of coconut and pine trees. It offers peaceful and relaxing atmosphere where travellers can be enjoying the warm sun and lying down watching crystal clear blue sea or walking along the island's finest sandy beach. There is minor renovation constantly goes on every season done by one of the island's most experienced hoteliers. The resort offers a relax welcome and sanctuary to those looking for peaceful on their perfect beach time holidays. It is ideal for couples, families or general travelers who seek to get in touch with charming nature, tropical breeze and sandy strip. No wonder why Nakara Long Beach Resort is the first choice that provides all you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Nakara Long Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nakara Long Beach Resort Koh Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing