We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation is in order!”
Review of SriLanta Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SriLanta Resort
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxation is in order!”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at sri lanta for two nights during our koh lanta stay.
We instantly surrended to the peacefulness felt all around. There is a silent rule on being relaxed, we felt.
During our stay in Thailand we mostly stayed in 5 star hotels and this until now is the only 3 star hotel we stayed in. The restaurant was amongst the best of them all and the staff was hands down the friendliest and most well trained. In fact, the only reason why I will not say this is a 5 star desguised as 3 star hotel, is because I felt the reception staff could at times have been a bit more helpful. For instance, I needed to reach my thai travel agent over the phone and the reception said I should go there in person and make the call, instead of taking it upon themselves to help me make the call. In addition, what makes it worse, is that the reception is quite a long walk from the bedrooms. A bit more initiative would have been nice here.
Now, everything else was more than we could have ever looked for or expected, without overlooking value for money: the out of this world spa, with massages in the garden and heavenly scented batiks, the cottage we stayed at was a romantically and almost jungle set hut that had a beatiful bed and spartan toilet.
I wish I had known in advance about their yoga retreats and daily sessions as I would have included those in my plans and got my bf to try something new...
The pool and the beach are hand in hand and the bar and restaurant all overlook the ocean. Great food, snacks and drinks at fair price. Soothing music all day long.
Cherry on top was the lantern we were provided at the beach, which we lit and let fly away over the ocean. So, so beautiful.
Great value for money, great staff, lovely accomodations. The location, for me, was good since for me distance from the main town (15-20 min drive) is a positive aspect.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moquinhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    366
    116
    68
    38
See reviews for
152
610
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

As other reviewers have noted, this resort may not be for everyone. The guests here are mostly in their twenty's and thirty's and seem to be into yoga and zen feelings. The dining room has not chairs, only cushions and you eat at a very low table. May not be for everyone. Breakfast was nothing special and nothing is being served, so you will have to take many trips to the counter. I wish they would purchase some white umbrellas for outside the dining area, so that people would have a choice to sit at a normal table or on cushions. I, for one, like to have a choice. As has been mentioned, dining tables are filthy and sticky and need a good scrub down. Does a guest really have to complain about cleanliness at a resort that aims to be on a high level???
Some of the outside areas are lovely, lots of ponds, waterfalls, greenery. The grassy area was pretty dry as it has not been irrigated enough for lack of rain. I found the pool to be too warm and it never looked clean, but brownish and cloudy. Not sure how often the water gets exchanged or if they use chemicals? Also, they seem to prefer form over function, as there is NO LADDER or steps to get in and out of the pool. You need to be in good shape to hoist yourself out of the water. Again, a choice would satisfy more guests.
Beach area is ok, except for the huge amount of rocks that get exposed during low tide and the swimming area shrinks to a pool-size pond.
All in all, the resort seems to cater to a young and yoga loving crowd that love minimalist decor.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KaliCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel with friendly staff and beautiful pool to watch the sunset from. Peaceful and a great place for couples. The spa also offered really good massages. Great location in terms of being able to wander down the beach to other restaurants. Lovely spacious room with big bathroom.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gazzamataz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The hotel is very nice, and located in the best location of Koh Lanta (best beach). The bungalows are nice as well, and the restaurant is great for breakfast, drinks, lunches and dinner... very enjoyable especially for drinks at sunset, on the beach, in front of the ocean.
Our only disappointment came from a scooter we rented at the reception, which had a problem, and the reception told us we had to repair ourselves... or be charged something like 2.000 BHT! We had to find a place to have it repaired and it costs a lot - while we are sure that the scooter was not in good shape. We insisted on our disappointment but the staff were quite inflexible, and a bit rude at the moment. The place is supposed to be one of the best in Koh Lanta and we would have expected the issue to be solved in a nicer way - to be treated like clients.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alix B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We - couple & 5 y.o. - stayed at Sri Lanta for 15 days in March. Overall, Sri Lanta lived up to our expectations, and we will definitely consider staying there again. However, a couple of points have to be emphasized as to why we give it a 4/5 rating. Our comments below are very much in line with a lot of other reviews, so we hope that Sri Lanta management takes the feedback here on Tripadvisor seriously. With some minor improvements, the resort is absolutely 5/5 in our book.

We stayed in a Star Path villa, no. 514, and although the Star Paths are a 5 minute hike up the hill, they are certainly worth the effort. We had a fantastic view from our large verandah, and a living room and small kitchen together with a big bedroom. Our Star Path was the second from the very top, the top one being no. 515. I can highly recommend booking one of these two Star Paths, as they have the most privacy of all the bungalows and the best views. It was cleaned daily to perfection. The bungalow had some minor flaws, such as a loose electricity outlet and a loose water faucet in the bathroom, but nothing major.

The reception area, yoga and restaurant buildings, pool and garden, and beach, were beautiful. Sri Lanta is located in the quiet end of an already quiet beach, Klong Nin, but still within walking distance or a short tuk tuk ride to other (very good) restaurants further up. There are some boulders/rocks in the water, but nothing that disturbs swimming in otherwise calm waters.

Breakfast was very nice, with attentive staff and a varied buffet. Happy hour drinks very decently priced, and well made. The reception staff were happy to help out when needed.

So why only a 4/5 rating? Two main issues. The restaurant and bar (service level and food pricing), and general sloppiness regarding cleanliness in the main areas (pool, beach chairs, and restaurant).

First, the restaurant/bar. Food is generally good (Thai dishes more so than Western dishes), but way overpriced compared to almost all other restaurants along the beach, where the food quality was at least of equal standard to that of Sri Lanta. There is no justification for such high prices. The same with prices on drinks from the bar, except during happy hour. Also, the service level from the restaurant and bar staff was not acceptable. There was always a lot of staff on duty, but it could be very difficult to get their attention. This meant that we mostly ate our meals at other restaurants along the beach - something it seemed most other guests at Sri Lanta also chose to do.

Secondly, cleanliness in the main areas was not up to par. Used glasses and bottles were hardly ever picked up during the day from the pool and beach areas, and beach lamps were laying on their side for hours. It felt sloppy and annoying. If restaurant and bar staff could be more attentive in general, pick up used glasses and bottles during the day while at the same time taking orders from guests by the pool and beach, it would benefit everybody - cleaner resort, happier guests and higher turnover for the restaurant/bar. Such a small effort for such a better result.

On a side note, the small canal of waste water/sewer just behind the restaurant occasionally gave off very unpleasant whiffs of smell when sitting by the bar, and its proximity to the ocean during high tide was of concern.

Despite these setbacks, our overall assessment of the resort it that it definitely deserves high praise and we will likely recommend it to friends. Hopefully, the restaurant will get an overhaul in terms of prices and service level, and the common areas will be cleaned up regularly. Then, a 5/5 rating is certainly warranted.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maxrunner77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Overall we had a great time at the Sri Lanta and would definitely recommend it. Our initial room was second from the top and while I dont consider myself lazy at all, the thought of completely sweating by the time we hiked up the hill to reach our room wasn't very appealing, but the staff was very accommodating and moved us down to beach level. We loved the overall authentic Thai feel of the rooms and resort. The front desk staff were helpful and friendly. It was very convenient being able to rent scooters from the front desk. Service at the bar/restaurant was mediocre at best. Our drinks order was forgotten and when I went over to follow up, about 7 staff were in a conversation and weren't in a hurry to help me. My 2 issues with the room were that the bed was excruciatingly hard (even by Asian standards) to the point where it gave me a sore back. And the bathroom was just too "bare bones". I realize the goal is rustic, but a little more effort could be put into the bathrooms for the standard/price of the resort. Overall, a nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brently55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We spent 6 nights at Sri Lanta in early December last year. I had sonme little reservations given the fact that some review were very disappointed, but as soon as we arrived at the resort all my doubts disappeared in one second!

First thing, the resort is located in the less touristy area of Lanta, much more secluded, quiet and with a better beach. At the moment we arrived we have been greeted with an amazing smile by Muoai ( i hope i got it right...), the check in takes a couple of minutes and we are taken to our lovey room. True, simple thai jungle decor. exactly what we wanted. Any cement, ceramic tiles and similar would be absolutely out of place here! Contrary to what others said, we didn'f find a single bug, or dirt, o smell or other unpleadsant surprise. The "road" that divide the area of the bungalows from the rest of the hotel is actually a little narrow road, not at all busy. and the walk back to our room took about 5 minutes, no major problem at all. Actually, it is really lovely to walk around the grounds of the hotel which are lovely and very well kept.

The pool area is lovely, clean and well looked after, great and fast service of drinks from the bar. We always found towels and and some space to lay. It is true that sometimes it was a little hard to find a chair by the pool, but only because some people would go there in the early morning and park all their staff everywere. but this is a problem with rude people, not with the hotel.

in 6 days at Sri Lanta, we had most of our meals at the hotel restaurant. we did really enjoied the thai food, tasty, quite authentic ( maybe a little less spicy than usual...) and its good variety. Plenty of options also for our little 2 yo Nina with pastas and pizza and simple salads to choose from. But the real reason why we had all our meals here was simply the kindness of the staff. It is true that you feel everybody is smiling at you in Thailand, but nowhere like here we felt welcomed and greeted at all time. It is not a pose, the staff seems to be quite generally happy to be where they are, and they do anything they can to put you at ease.
Nina had become a very loved one by all the staff, and me and my wife we also enjoyed a couople of quieter dinners while the restaurant staff were all cheering and playing with our daughter. No baby sitter could have been nicer!!!

Regarding the spa, it is true that it is more expensive that other massage joints in the area...but i can say that it is also a very different setting. The spa is just divine, set by the beach, but nestled by some plants in a fantastic tropical garden, very private and relaxing. I would not spare a couple of hundreds bath (about 5 euros) to get a massage in a little room divided by courtains with other 6 people. Also the staff of the spa, goes withoust saying was the nicest.

We did a tour that the recption suggested and it worked out very nicely and no stress, every time we wanted the hotel would organize our little trips out calling a cab, using tyhe car of the hotel or arranging a tuk tuk within minutes from us asking.

What can i say? This was paradise. The location makes it easy to feel good, but it is definetely the people that makes this place amazing. I hope we will be able to come back in the future!

thank you very much to all the staff at Sri Lanta for making our stay such a memorable one!

Beppe, Andrea and Nina

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beppe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
5.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
550 reviews
8.0 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#18 of 84 in Ko Lanta
507 reviews
7.6 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
407 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
1.5 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SriLanta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SriLanta Resort

Property: SriLanta Resort
Address: 111 Moo 6, Klongnin Beach | Krabi, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — SriLanta Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SriLanta Resort - Oriental in style, this resort has been created fully in tune with its tranquil island surroundings. The resort's approach is one of subtle simplicity, offering an atmosphere to relax, nourish and revitalize. The resort is ideally located as a base for diving and snorkeling excursions to the neighboring islands of Koh Rok, Koh Phi Phi, Koh Ngai, Koh Mook and Koh Kradan. Accommodation - Each of the "island style" rustic villas are spread over the hillside (across a quiet road) that opens up behind SriLanta among lush tropical vegetation and temple flower trees. SriLanta offers guests 65 stand-alone villas, 17 deluxe rooms, 2 Beach House rooms and 2 Mandara House rooms. Minimalist in style with thoughtfully designed natural furnishings and equipped with essential amenities. This is as close to nature as you can get. Enjoy the privacy and tranquility of our resort with a beautiful white sand beach at your front door, and the natural bushland at your back. We offer the best of both worlds at Sri Lanta. See you soon! (*Villas are located up a quiet hillside while the resorts pool, beach chairs, restaurants and bar are located on the beach front). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SriLanta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing