We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem up the hill”
Review of Freedom Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Freedom Estate
Ranked #77 of 232 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely apartments with a very well equipped kitchen and a fantastic balcony. Great view on the sea, but be prepared for a 10 minute walk to the appartment. Friendly owner. Freedom Estate has the best equipped apartments in Ko Lanta and delivers outstanding value for money.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TimRutgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

I really fell in love with Ko Lanta as this island offers you anything: party, tranquillity, beaches, national park etc.

This accommodation at Ko Lanta blew as away.
The owners are more than friendly and helpful and the region is adorable (especially if you rent a motorbike and discover the island on your own).
We had two fans + AC in our room with own kitchen, TV, bathroom and doublebed with an amazing view.

Totally recommendable, we definetly would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regina_Regenbogen87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

The villas are set back from the beach (about a 3-5 minute walk) in a beautiful garden setting, the views from the veranda are stunning and a great place to watch the sun set.

The villas are clean, comfortable with very well equipt kitchens. The tv has numerous british channels which we were very greatful for when the weather was stormy.

Rolf and his partner are wonderful hosts and as well as giving us a warm welcome, made sure to stop by and check on us during our stay.

Yet another good revommendation from other trip advisor reviewers so thank you!

We were slightly disappointed with Ko Lanta itself, it may be the time of year but long beach was covered in litter washed in by the sea, there are also thousands of little crabs which wont bother you but may make you think twice about stretching out on your towel!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jandg33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I booked into Freedom Estate for one night just to have a bit of luxury and respite after weeks of backpacking. For just 750 baht I got a spacious bungalow with hot water, clean and spacious bathroom, full kitchen with all appliances, clean and large bed, air conditioning, cable tv, lock box, and a verandah with amazing views from the hillside out across the bay.
It felt so luxurious and relaxed. Just up the hill, a 5 minute walk from the comparative bustle of Long Beach. Cool breezes. The owner, Rolf, was very friendly and attentive.
A wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are in one row and they are all the same size, quality, and have the same view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank filmchick81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I was very happy with my stay here. If you do not mind not being right in front of the beach (it is 5 min distance walking uphill) this place is perfect: a lot of space in the room, fully equipped with a fridge and a kitchen. As it is uphill, its is very quiet, but still close to everything (7 eleven, "dive and relax" diving center, beach, bars...). The balcony is great to have coffee with a sea view. Rolf, the swiss owner who lives next to the bungalows, is very kind and helpful.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Pascal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

If you're looking for somewhere relaxing, where you can have your own space and independence, then look no further. The 6 apartments have everything you need and the views are to die for.

Rolf and Nu are wonderful hosts and made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woodbutcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

we stayed at Rolf and Nu`s guesthouse for 6 days, and the conditions were great! we missed none of the amenities from home!
we definitely didn`t mind the 5 min walk to the beach.
as a plus, the view over Andaman Sea and the Phi Phi Islands was amazing.
strongly recommeded.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anicatza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.3 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#19 of 85 in Ko Lanta
198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fruit Tree Lodge
Fruit Tree Lodge
#48 of 232 in Ko Lanta
75 reviews
0.6 mi away
Raven Blue
Raven Blue
#6 of 160 in Ko Lanta
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lanta Happy Hill Resort
Lanta Happy Hill Resort
#23 of 232 in Ko Lanta
59 reviews
0.9 mi away
Peaceful House
Peaceful House
#28 of 232 in Ko Lanta
81 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lanta Smile Resort @Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freedom Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freedom Estate

Address: 157 Moo 2 | PhraAe Beach, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 232 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £28 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Freedom Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self contained apartment rooms, with scenic views over the Andaman Sea and it's islands. Situated on a hillside just above Pra-Ae village and beach. Only 5 minutes walk to the beach. Enjoy a pleasant breeze while watching the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Freedom Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing