We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we were looking for in Ko Lanta”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lanta Mermaid Boutique House
Ranked #1 of 148 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2011

My partner and I were looking for somewhere to stay that would resemble what we had heard of Ko Lanta to be, quiet and laid back. We booked ahead and went by the reviews on Trip Advisor. We risked booking multiple nights and spending a little bit out of our budget to come away from the traditional Guest House. Wow, were we surprised when we were welcomed by first name by Chai the hotel owner. The Lanta Mermaid is everything that you could ever want or need. You really do come as a guest and leave as a friend as their slogan suggests.

Chai helped us make our stay in Ko Lanta exactly what we wanted. We rented very new and maintained scooters from him for an excellent price. I felt like he had our safety as a priority as he carefully helped suit us for our ride and give us his contact if we ran into trouble. I really felt as though he looked after us as being his own family.

The rooms are incredibly clean and maintained. The rooms are also very spacious. I still to this day crave the breakfast that was served each morning...it was to die for! Individual white china plates brought by the minute...first came the tea, then the half mango and banana (changed daily), and then the multi grain bread with marmalade, and then the eggs(your choice of style), and then the meat, and even yogurt and cereal if you wished...and fresh juice! It was amazing!! A great way to start the day!

You will not only leave as a friend, you will leave feelig like royalty!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoleAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
There are newer reviews for Lanta Mermaid Boutique House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

387 - 393 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2011

We stayed at this hotel for three days in April 2011. General impression is very good, the hotel is clean, cozy and comfortable. Staff very attentive and friendly. Breakfast at the hotel are beautiful. Nearby is a market with fruit, mini-market. Beach nearby. Highly recommend this hotel for everyone to stop to Koh Lanta!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergey_Kr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We stayed at the Mermaid for 3 nights in March and really enjoyed it. The hotel is close to Lanta town so easy to get to the Pier to leave, and it is right across the road from a nice beach. This place is amazingly clean and free from sand inside, thanks to the shower outside and everyone keeps their shoes outside the front door. The rooms are spacious enough and quiet, and the breafast is quite substantial--best bacon ever! The staff was polite and professional.

They say that they are converting the palce into apartments so stay here while you can! This isn't right on the beach, but just across the road so that wasn't a problem.

As for Lanta itself, I wish we stayed longer and skipped Phi Phi and the drunken younger crowd we found there. Lanta is peacful, full of secluded beaeches, good food, and very friendly people.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasbopolecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

We could not fault Lanta Mermaid. The service was excellent, very friendly and professional. The room was extremely comfortable (I liked the big bathroom and heavy curtains to keep the room cool and dark for holiday sleeping in!), breakfast was delicious and the hotel dog was gorgeous. Because the hotel is on a main road it can be a little bit noisy at times with traffic, but the location makes up for it as it is very convenient to the lovely Klong Dao beach and to the main town area. The hotel was very well equipped with beach mats and toys, books and magazines, and you can hire a motorbike directly from the hotel and the staff can book day trips for you.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACRtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel and found it to be the cleanest one we have stayed in thailand (we visited 6 different hotels on our round-trip). The staff is very friendly and courteous. The rooms are well equiped and furnished quite taseful. Good breakfast. The hotel lies near the main road, so if you are sensitive to noise, you better choose rooms with mountain view.
If we go back to Koh Lanta again, we surely will choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThaiFan0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

From the moment you arrive you know that you will get nothing but service to the highest standard. Chai and his well organised team run an excellent hotel and its obvious they all know to keep up his very high standards.
The hotel is only a short walk from the beach and restaurants.
The rooms are spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Breakfast is top notch, served to you at table and changes day to day. Wifi available as is the use of a public computer in the reception area. A small but absolutely fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PCRUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

We specifically avoid big hotels and try, where possible to stay in boutique/ smaller hotels. Lanta Mermaid is a perfect example of what we are looking for. We had interleading rooms, each with a bathroom which catered exactly for our requirements.

Family run (or it appears that way anyway), organised, spotless, efficent and friendly. On the main road (but not noisy) means that transport is available on your doorstep in minutes. They have a tour/ hire facility so any tours/ ferries can booked at the hotel.

The hotel is a 2 minute stroll from the beach (which one can view from the balcony).

The staff are incredible, helpful, friendly and always with a smile. They can not do enough for you and nothing is too much trouble.

A "no shoes" policy in the hotel is fun as everyone is walking around barefoot.

If I go back to Koh Lanta, Lanta Mermaid will definately see me again.

Room Tip: All are good it seems.
Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
Thank MadandyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
1.6 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
560 reviews
1.4 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,474 reviews
0.8 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
426 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Mermaid Boutique House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Mermaid Boutique House

Address: 333 Moo 3, Klong Dao Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £14 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanta Mermaid Boutique House 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lanta Mermaid Boutique House is an alternative choice for your relaxation. You will be welcomed with the luxurious rooms, comparable to five stars hotels, yet having lower price and impressive environments and surroundings. Here! The place where you will learn that ‘Heaven is really on earth.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lanta Mermaid Boutique House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Mermaid Boutique House Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing