We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lanta Mermaid Boutique House
Ranked #1 of 175 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We were four friends who stayed in a familyroom at Lanta Mermaid. The staff was very nice and accommodating and could answer any questions we had. The rooms were fresh and in very good condition. The breakfast was very good, all we wanted was included in the menu. We only have positive things to say about this hotel, and would recommend it. We were pleased to have checked on the reviews and not stars when we chose the hotel for Lanta Mermaid is really a top hotel, despite its 3.5 stars.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

It was our first visit to Thailand and we chose Lanta Mermaid based on reviews here and it highly exceeded our expectations. We spent two weeks in an ocean view room on the top floor of the Mermaid and it was the best of our 2-1/2 month visit to SE Asia. A bit noisey when sitting on the balcony as the hotel is situated on the main road but the ocean view was so worth it and once the patio doors were closed,you couldn't hear anything inside and the curtains kept the light out when sleeping. The beds were comfy and the rooms are very spacious as is the bathroom - the whole hotel was absolutely immaculate and there was a very good selection for breakfast which was cooked fresh for each guest. Mr Chai and his staff were wonderful. Mr. Chai's recommendation for tours were spot on and the little tips he gave us were greatly appreciated and made everything perfect.
We didn't visit any of the other beaches in the area but Klong Dao which was directly across the road was a beautiful beach and almost desserted It is shallow and at times you have to walk out further but the water is warm and absolutely wonderful. Couldn't wish for anything better.
Easy tuk tuk ride into Saladan - we did walk in a couple of times and it's a nice walk if it's not too hot out. We also rented a scooter from Mr Chai and toured the island.
Stay at the Mermaid - we guaranteee you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Top floor - ocean view room - beautiful sunset....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We love this hotel! It is super-clean, the location is great and the staff is very friendly, especially Mr Chai. Rent a motorbike, to see the best places and beaches, it will cost you 250 baht/24 hours. I will return the next time I visit Lanta!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ann_SofieM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We visited Thailand in march 2014 and stayed in different 4 star hotels. Arriving in Ko Lanta and the Mermaid hotel we met the most sincere kindliness from the staff and enjoyed the tasty breakfast. 5 star staff!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tero R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We booked this hotel for six nights based on positive reviews on tripadvisor. And we were not disappointed, the hotel and especially the staff exceed our expectations!

The hotel is conveniently located on Klong Dao Beach close to Saladan (10 minutes drive) and there are also a lot of small shops, pharmacies and great restaurants at a walking distance. The beach is also just across the road (3 minutes walk).

Our room like the rest of the hotel was very clean and in excellent condition. The room spacious, the bed comfortable and the AC was working great. There was a small fridge, TV (which we did not watch, who goes to Thailand to watch television? :) ) and a safety deposit box big enough to easily fit DSLR camera along some lenses, passports and a tablet computer.

But the thing that makes this hotel stand out from others is the staff. The service is exceptional, the kind that you would expect in a 5 star hotel. Mr. Chai, the head of the service staff, along with the other staff really care about their guests. Mr. Chai (and the other staff) would always greet as with a smile and give recommendations about good restaurants and things to do in Lanta. He also arranged for a scooter (a must, if you know how to drive!), a snorkeling trip to Koh Rok (best snorkeling in Thailand so far) and the transportation to our next destination, Krabi Town.

The breakfast included in our room rate was excellent and was made to order from a menu (all you can eat) and was served to tables fresh. They also had decent coffee unlike many other hotels in Thailand. The hotel does not have a restaurant but there is an excellent restaurant just next door, we ate there almost every night and would highly recommend it (locals seemed to also like it).

The only negative thing worth mentioning was a rooster that roamed free on the backyard of a house next door. He would consistently start making noise at sunrise so if you want to sleep longer, consider using ear plugs. We did and slept great.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are facing the road and thus may be a bit noisy. We had top floor jungle view room, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hewepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

From arrival to departure our stay at Mermaid was the height of efficiency and service. They booked all of our necessary tours on Lanta and out travel to the next island.

The room was beautifully clean and very comfortable. The staff were warm and very friendly.

Overall this place had a 5 star standard with a family feel. Great stay!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TravellingBudgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful time in koh lanta and our stay at Lanta Mermaid was great!

We had a family room (301&302) with interconnecting doors for the 2 rooms (one with a king bed and they separated the bed in the other room into 2 twins for the kids). This was very convenient and also gave privacy .

Staff were super friendly and the owner Mr Chai helped us with restaurant recommendations (all good!), our bookings for snorkelling, elephant trekking, scooter rental and transportation back to Ao Nang.

We had breakfast (all you can eat prepared off the menu) included in our room and this was wonderful too.

It is located across the street from the beach , but the beach is only a 5 min walk.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank 2010Olympics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
1.2 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#18 of 85 in Ko Lanta
458 reviews
2.2 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#16 of 85 in Ko Lanta
214 reviews
1 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#15 of 85 in Ko Lanta
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Lanta A&J Klong Khong Beach
Lanta A&J Klong Khong Beach
#3 of 175 in Ko Lanta
53 reviews
5.5 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
4.6 mi away
Lanta Thip House
Lanta Thip House
#4 of 175 in Ko Lanta
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Mermaid Boutique House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Mermaid Boutique House

Address: 333 Moo 3, Klong Dao Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £18 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanta Mermaid Boutique House 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lanta Mermaid Boutique House is an alternative choice for your relaxation. You will be welcomed with the luxurious rooms, comparable to five stars hotels, yet having lower price and impressive environments and surroundings. Here! The place where you will learn that ‘Heaven is really on earth.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lanta Mermaid Boutique House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Mermaid Boutique House Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing