We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If I could give more than five stars I would”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lanta Mermaid Boutique House
Ranked #2 of 144 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“If I could give more than five stars I would”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Yes I could go on about how clean the place is,but I won't( it was immaculate).

It is on a main road but I am a light sleeper and it did not affect me.
There is no pool, but the beach, which is vast is just across the road.
What really was nice was we never got bit once in this place, the staff are tops and you really felt welcome.
I even had an issue with my drivers licence and the owner went out of his way to recover it and is sending it to me in the uk.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank palace68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    89
    17
    9
    4
See reviews for
54
383
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel based upon a recommendation from a friend and based upon the reviews. No, it is not beach front - you cross the road and walk a couple minutes down to the water - but that does not matter. For the low price, location, perfect cleanliness, and service it was worth it. Chai and the hotel guest service people were incredibly helpful and welcoming. He helped arrange rides when we needed them and gave advice for restaurants. Breakfast was everything you need (eggs, toast, fresh fruit, coffee and more). The beach in Klong Dao is wide and long and has few people. Perfect for a long walk and a relaxing time. Just know that this beach is quiet, if you're coming for the party you'll have to take a tuk tuk south to the other beaches (approx 20-30 baht per person). We had rooms 301 and 302 which connected in the center, perfect for us. The AC worked amazingly, perfect when you're coming in from a hot day. We had nothing but good things to report, come here and you won't be disappointed! Also, Hire a car to take you to Noon for a sunset dinner, take a yoga class at Oasis Yoga, get a cheap dinner and beers at Irie, and enjoy many cheap hour long Thai massages directly on the beach. Ko Lanta heaven!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jgriffing87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We were four friends who stayed in a familyroom at Lanta Mermaid. The staff was very nice and accommodating and could answer any questions we had. The rooms were fresh and in very good condition. The breakfast was very good, all we wanted was included in the menu. We only have positive things to say about this hotel, and would recommend it. We were pleased to have checked on the reviews and not stars when we chose the hotel for Lanta Mermaid is really a top hotel, despite its 3.5 stars.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary AB Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

It was our first visit to Thailand and we chose Lanta Mermaid based on reviews here and it highly exceeded our expectations. We spent two weeks in an ocean view room on the top floor of the Mermaid and it was the best of our 2-1/2 month visit to SE Asia. A bit noisey when sitting on the balcony as the hotel is situated on the main road but the ocean view was so worth it and once the patio doors were closed,you couldn't hear anything inside and the curtains kept the light out when sleeping. The beds were comfy and the rooms are very spacious as is the bathroom - the whole hotel was absolutely immaculate and there was a very good selection for breakfast which was cooked fresh for each guest. Mr Chai and his staff were wonderful. Mr. Chai's recommendation for tours were spot on and the little tips he gave us were greatly appreciated and made everything perfect.
We didn't visit any of the other beaches in the area but Klong Dao which was directly across the road was a beautiful beach and almost desserted It is shallow and at times you have to walk out further but the water is warm and absolutely wonderful. Couldn't wish for anything better.
Easy tuk tuk ride into Saladan - we did walk in a couple of times and it's a nice walk if it's not too hot out. We also rented a scooter from Mr Chai and toured the island.
Stay at the Mermaid - we guaranteee you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Top floor - ocean view room - beautiful sunset....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nykvarn, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We love this hotel! It is super-clean, the location is great and the staff is very friendly, especially Mr Chai. Rent a motorbike, to see the best places and beaches, it will cost you 250 baht/24 hours. I will return the next time I visit Lanta!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ann_SofieM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We visited Thailand in march 2014 and stayed in different 4 star hotels. Arriving in Ko Lanta and the Mermaid hotel we met the most sincere kindliness from the staff and enjoyed the tasty breakfast. 5 star staff!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tero R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We booked this hotel for six nights based on positive reviews on tripadvisor. And we were not disappointed, the hotel and especially the staff exceed our expectations!

The hotel is conveniently located on Klong Dao Beach close to Saladan (10 minutes drive) and there are also a lot of small shops, pharmacies and great restaurants at a walking distance. The beach is also just across the road (3 minutes walk).

Our room like the rest of the hotel was very clean and in excellent condition. The room spacious, the bed comfortable and the AC was working great. There was a small fridge, TV (which we did not watch, who goes to Thailand to watch television? :) ) and a safety deposit box big enough to easily fit DSLR camera along some lenses, passports and a tablet computer.

But the thing that makes this hotel stand out from others is the staff. The service is exceptional, the kind that you would expect in a 5 star hotel. Mr. Chai, the head of the service staff, along with the other staff really care about their guests. Mr. Chai (and the other staff) would always greet as with a smile and give recommendations about good restaurants and things to do in Lanta. He also arranged for a scooter (a must, if you know how to drive!), a snorkeling trip to Koh Rok (best snorkeling in Thailand so far) and the transportation to our next destination, Krabi Town.

The breakfast included in our room rate was excellent and was made to order from a menu (all you can eat) and was served to tables fresh. They also had decent coffee unlike many other hotels in Thailand. The hotel does not have a restaurant but there is an excellent restaurant just next door, we ate there almost every night and would highly recommend it (locals seemed to also like it).

The only negative thing worth mentioning was a rooster that roamed free on the backyard of a house next door. He would consistently start making noise at sunrise so if you want to sleep longer, consider using ear plugs. We did and slept great.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are facing the road and thus may be a bit noisy. We had top floor jungle view room, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank hewepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
1.6 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#31 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
1.4 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
1.2 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
5.5 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Mermaid Boutique House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Mermaid Boutique House

Property: Lanta Mermaid Boutique House
Address: 333 Moo 3, Klong Dao Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanta Mermaid Boutique House 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lanta Mermaid Boutique House is an alternative choice for your relaxation. You will be welcomed with the luxurious rooms, comparable to five stars hotels, yet having lower price and impressive environments and surroundings. Here! The place where you will learn that ‘Heaven is really on earth.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lanta Mermaid Boutique House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Mermaid Boutique House Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing